1/25 Max AMPS 408~+6 266~+9 375~PMPS 351~+6 130

Status
Not open for further replies.

Randi & Max (GA)

Member Since 2009
Good Morning LL
3rd cycle 5.5u

Well it looks like Max's numbers are reflecting the strange weather we are
having here in Montreal.
Very black outside and pouring rain, in January??
I decided to shoot Max's insulin at his flank last night. No idea if this would be why
he would show a 408 when he has not had any red in several days but I did not want to take
the chance. Sorry to be inconsistent but I was too worried. I ent back to the scruff/shoulder blade area.

WCR: I think Max likes being high. As usual all 3 cats were waiting in the kitchen. He was very bright eyed and full of beans. He even got to his chair, sitting like a king, watching and waiting when I would get there. Immediately after testing he was back in the kitchen eating everyones' breakfast.

Tomorrow morning I will be "interviewing" a new vet. I have not been able to work with the 2 that I have seen so far so I hope the third is the charm. They are so anti hometest and it seems that they are blaming his high numbers on my hometesting and more frequent dose changes than they recommend. They are just too closed minded for me. Hope all goes well.
Have a great day. I hope someone out there is having better and sunny weather.

Yesterday's Condo
 
Re: 1/25 Max AMPS 408

Good morning!

Well, we got fog here in Toronto, it's spoooky!!

Good luck with the new shot area, I hope he comes down to sunny yellows soon!

lol, Max full of beans? lol, that's funny! It's a good funny, and sounds positive too. Nice WCR Randi!
 
Re: 1/25 Max AMPS 408

Maybe we jinxed you with mentioning that there had been no red in a few days. I hope that changes quickly for you and Max. Don’t get discouraged just yet.

I too have bounced from the scruff to the flank with the shots. Originally I gave Sami her shots in the scruff, but her skin there seems to be thicker or scared for some reason and I am never sure if I am injecting into the right layer under the skin, whereas the flank seems to have either more skin or is just looser and I can pull it up better to get good placement with the needle. Another reason I switched to the flank is because when I was giving Sami her shots in the scruff she would always flinch or cry out when the needle went in, even though I had been using a 31 gauge needle. With the flank she doesn't even seem to notice that I have poked her.

I hope you find your sweet spot. It is always nice when you can give the shot and not hurt the kitty.
 
Re: 1/25 Max AMPS 408

Can't help with better weather here, Ronnie. It is very windy, rainy and dark.

I was looking at max;s ss and couldn't help wondering--do you think there is any chance he is a lot lower during the night? Basil usually is lower at night than in the day. I wonder if the misery of an all-night curve would provide any information for you?

Meanwhile, have a good one and wish for the sun.
 
Re: 1/25 Max AMPS 408

Oh Lydia,
You had to verbalize what was lurking in my head.
I thought of that as well and wondered if I would have to sleep all day and stay
awake all night to see what his numbers are.

The only possibility for attempting that will be this weekend. I could not even
consider it during the work week. Maybe we will see some better action
soon on this new dose or this will be the first time in a while that I "dread"
the weekend.
 
Re: 1/25 Max AMPS 408

It's the start of the second day of the increase 5.5u dose....so maybe you will see some activity today.
Meanwhile, I have been searching for some notation but couldn't find anything about a dental...have you had
Max's teeth looked at at all? I know you went to 2 other vets but just wondering what they said about his teeth.
(sorry if I am being redundant...)
Glad you will be interviewing your new vet tomorrow. I hope this will be someone you can work with....
You are very enthusiastic about trying new things and experimenting.....I know you have Max's health and best
interests at heart.
I am sure that kind of refreshing attitude will find the right answers soon..... :thumbup
((Randi)) It won't be yesterday, but it will be soon.... :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/25 Max AMPS 408

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Meanwhile, I have been searching for some notation but couldn't find anything about a dental...have you had
Max's teeth looked at at all? I know you went to 2 other vets but just wondering what they said about his teeth.

Hi Pat - Yes Max's teeth have been looked at he could use a dental - although I am not sure what that means exactly. I did ask if it should be done and they said to wait. Sorry my mind is a bit in a fog about that. I was/am concerned that there is an infection lurking somewhere - although I don't know where to look that could cause his numbers to be this way.

I will add these to my interview questions for tomrrow.
 
Re: 1/25 Max AMPS 408

Hey Max,
Your buddy in high numbers, Shadoe, says if you do an all-night curve on this weekend, she'll do one too.

Randi,
I wonder too about overnite numbers because I go to sleep seeing a 300 and get up hours later to almost no change. Weird. Either something happened while I slept, or she just did a usual flat line.
I have tried to get a +10 or +11 in the morn to see which way she is going;what if you tried something like that too?
When I look at the day numbers, Max looks to be lowest more near +6, but in the pm, your testing stops before then cuz of bedtime. If kitties often are lower at night, then Max may be dipping down while you are sleeping and then in the morn, he's all red.
If you can manage to catch a few +11 in the morn, you will see what Max is up to. Is he on his way up or is he coming down? Shadoe does both, just cuz she can and wants to make me confused_cat

Make your list for the new vet and check it twice. Be like Santa so you don't miss anything.
Any vet who is against home testing is no vet I would want to see with my kitties.
Make a little quiz for the vet, like the top 20 points.
1. sooo, what do you think of home testing, and explain why.
2. sooo, what do you know about the tilly protocol, and what is your opin on the approach.
3. sooo, what do you know about pancreatitis IAA and acromegaly and the treatments for each.
4. sooo, dental issues and treatment, what is your approach and handling.
5. sooo, what are your thoughts on convenia and other sorts of meds; which ones do you prefer to use?
6. sooo, how much experience do you have in treating felines with various insulins and what are your findings?

That kinda thing. YOU have the list that matters most to you and you will feel better if you know right up front if this one's a keeper.

Max is important and so are your others, so you want to be sure that you have a vet who can meet your needs.
 
Re: 1/25 Max AMPS 408

Gayle and Shadoe said:
I have tried to get a +10 or +11 in the morn to see which way she is going;what if you tried something like that too?
When I look at the day numbers, Max looks to be lowest more near +6, but in the pm, your testing stops before then cuz of bedtime. If kitties often are lower at night, then Max may be dipping down while you are sleeping and then in the morn, he's all red.
If you can manage to catch a few +11 in the morn, you will see what Max is up to. Is he on his way up or is he coming down?

Good points Gayle. I rarely get a +10 or +11 in the morning. So hard getting myself ready for work and girls off to school all for 7:30. I will make an effort to see what those early mornings are this week and maybe give us some info on his AMPS number.

I love your vet list. Took my notes, going to prepare my file and off we go tomorrow!!
 
Re: 1/25 Max AMPS 408

Diabetes should not deter the dental....if there is an infection, that could be the major reason why the numbers are so high. Well, it would be the simpler of the reasons anyway...
I have heard people say that their vet said to wait till the diabetes is under control which is just so ludicrous.
Glad it will be on your list for tomorrow.... :-D
 
Re: 1/25 Max AMPS 408

Yep, agree with Pat, the dental could very well help the numbers. Infection leads to higher numbers. Took me a bit to get my vet to agree to a dental as he also wanted to wait until she was regulated.

Good luck with the vet search!
 
Re: 1/25 Max AMPS 408~+6 266

I will definiately ask Vet #3 about dental and other possible infections that would have an effect on the effectiveness of the insulin, espceially IAA & Acro.

And here is Max now with 2 yellow boxes on his ss. Maybe he missed his babysitter over the weekend and was stressed where she went? lol
She takes amazing care of him. Hope he keeps slowly surfing.
 
Re: 1/25 Max AMPS 408~+6 266

Good job Max! We LOVE the yellows!

Waiting to do dental till regulated? That's nuts!
I wonder how much they can really see visually because much of any issues would be under the gum line or in the jaw or whatever.
What do they do? Take Xrays to see what's up before starting? I would want that done first, just to know what's going on before moving on, ya know?

Randi,
Make a good list and don't accept any wishy washy answers; be firm and reword the questions if needed until you get an answer in language that YOU can digest. I hate getting medical jibberish that may be awesome, if only I understood what was said.

More yellows or lower, please, Max.
If you're good, Ronnie may bake you a nice cake.
 
Re: 1/25 Max AMPS 408~+6 266

did somebody say get ready to bake a cake?

lol

hey about dental and infection - general question but if kitty is struggling to eat, or eats slowly or slowly stops eating, that can indicate teeth infection no?
if of course u can actually see kitty struggling to chew etc.

Nice yellows Max!! :-D
 
Re: 1/25 Max AMPS 408~+6 266

Max does not have a problem chowing down on his after shot treats and the Ff pate
with water is not too hard to slurp.
Vet #1 mentioned the dental, I don't recall vet #2 saying anything, so I will see what vet #3 says.
I promise to work hard on my list tonight Gayle. You are right in I don't want to switch if I will still get nowhere with these vets.
 
Re: 1/25 Max AMPS 408~+6 266~+9 375~PMPS 351

Randi!!--I had a big list for my new vet too--Went in with Tilly protocol, SS, many writings from the stickys! The whole arsenal :mrgreen:

Jill or Jojo said to me--wait a minute--You dont want to put vet on the defensive or challenge immediately..Yes go with the info from our forum, but first listen to what vet has to say! It is true, they usually dont like hometesting, and thinking that maybe we know more than them..
So just approach it very cooly..and you will get the tone of this vet..I got a new woman vet, who was amazed at the care I give Moonie & the knowledge I have about FD..She is on Preggers leave for 6 mths. now, but I already met one of the others-He only treated civvie...He's not the top vet there..I will meet him soon..

I know you are probably charming, so go there and be your wonderful self...Hope this is the one for you!
 
Re: 1/25 Max AMPS 408~+6 266~+9 375~PMPS 351

Lots of opinions you've received today! Heather/Boo had a letter for a vet at some point. I don't have time to search the board for it, but it was to the point and good.

With respect to Max's numbers.... well... you gotta wait at least another day - but you know that already.

Here's some patience sprinkle for your ice cream tonight! Hang in there Randi!!
 
Re: 1/25 Max AMPS 408~+6 266~+9 375~PMPS 351

Good luck tomorrow Randi with the new vet! Can't wait to hear how it goes!

Wonder if Max will creep into some evening yellows tonite :-D
 
Re: 1/25 Max AMPS 408~+6 266~+9 375~PMPS 351

From what people on the Board post, there are any number of vets who want a cat "regulated" before they want to do a dental. Obviously, the sentiment here is just the opposite since infection/inflammation have an effect on BG. Both the IM vet and my vet thought Gabby's teeth had mild to moderate tartar. It's very hard for them to assess, though, when a cat is awake (unless they really want to lose a finger). When she went in for the dental, the tarter/gingivitis was was worse along the back teeth than anticipated and she needed an extraction so even if a vet thinks the need for a dental is marginal, I'd probably vote in favor of having it done since there's no way to know for sure what's going on in a cat's mouth if the assessment is done when awake. What they do is a periodontal deep scaling. If you've ever had one done, it's not terrible and it gets rid of all of the tartar below the gum line.

Good luck with the new vet. I'll be very curious about what you think!
 
Re: 1/25 Max AMPS 408~+6 266~+9 375~PMPS 351~+6 130 or 88

Thanks for all the supposrt on my vet choice.

So I decided to wake up at 1:00 and test Max
The first reading I had was 88 but had problems with the blood.
I tested and it came back at 130.

Looks like it is possible that Max might be going blue at night, but why so much continued rebound or did I jusy catch the first.
Can I go back to sleep?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top