3/29 Punkin amps 238 +10/268 PMPS/326 +3/211 +5/241

Status
Not open for further replies.

julie & punkin (ga)

Member Since 2011
+10.25 = 227 (hmmm, which was identical to his PM+3)
woo-hoo, up at 5:40am and have fed him just under 1/2 can of FF chicken feast. I held back maybe a tsp so i have something to occupy him in an hour+ when i have to give him his shot. He's giving me The Look.

"where is the rest of my food, mom? did you eat it?"

I'm going to move his shot just a few minutes earlier this morning - take advantage of the change to get him closer back towards 7am-7pm instead of 7:30ish.

yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=39981&p=425705#p425705

good morning all you eastern peeps! hope everyone's having a great day. It's cold and dark here at the moment!

haha Karrie! I know they'll ask me the dose, and I am The Worst Liar ever - I won't be able to come up with anything except the truth. But it's ok. I'll just do it "you blatant DisRegarder Of The Vet's Instructions, you" and survive.

Thanks, Sienne, for the encouragement! I'll repost before I give his shot and when we get back. They said they'd do him last so his stomach can empty, but yesterday they also said that he was the only one on the "surgery" schedule.
 
Re: 3/29 Punkin dental today

We know that LOOK too. How do they do that, so expressive with just a wrinkle of an eye brow...

Good luck with the dental too. Let us know how it goes.
 
Re: 3/29 Punkin dental today

Wishing Punkin good luck with his dental today. (KB is having his done this morning. He was very patient while he waited for me to "remember" to give him his breakfast - much more so than when I'm actually preparing it.)
 
Re: 3/29 Punkin amps 238

i'm gonna give him the 1/2 dose, 3.5u, with his last bite of breakfast.

Not sure why he's hanging out in the 200's, but it's also making me think about how he got to this dose in the first place. if he takes a long time to adjust to a dose increase, it's no wonder when he was just getting checked once a week at random times that it might have appeared that he wasn't getting enough insulin.
 
Re: 3/29 Punkin amps 238

I'm a horrible liar also. I used to have anxiety that if I lied bad things would happen too ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile But I fear confrontation more than I fear lying :lol: :lol: :lol: I admire people who can just be honest, and then deal with the discussion that may follow. You guys are my heroes.

Good luck today!
 
Re: 3/29 Punkin amps 238

Morning guys!

Good luck with the dental. I am sure that Punkin will do just fine. I was glad to read that he received half his dose. I thinks it's safer - you just never know how hey will react to the anesthesia. Better safe than sorry, and having to deal with plummeting BG's. I look forward to your update to hear how Punkin did.

:lol: on "that look" - ever so familiar.

Have a great one today!
 
Re: 3/29 Punkin amps 238

I think the half dose is the way to go, Julie....for safety's sake. Good luck with the dental, keep us posted!

I think his numbers are generally good....he doesn't appear to be getting too much insulin. Some cats just need a higher dose....for whatever reason. There are also cats at the other end of the spectrum...they only need a microdose. The important thing is to give them what they need....
 
Re: 3/29 Punkin amps 238

"how much insulin did he have this morning?" there's never any fudging on direct questions! They're going to keep him about 9 hours.

Now i feel like I should do something really special today. 9 hours with no testing? not sure what is the best way to use that valuable time!
 
Re: 3/29 Punkin amps 238

Good luck on the dental today. I know Punkin will do just fine. I just had to make up a story at my civvie's vet for the reason why I switched to a new vet for Simon instead of continuing to see her. I don't do well with confrontation and made up something that I thought sounded ok to me. My DH was there and he also thought my little fib was convincing. Glad that you can be honest with the vet -- I don't know why I always worry about what the other person will think.

I will be thinking of you and Punkin today and will be looking for the update.
 
Re: 3/29 Punkin amps 238

good luck with the dental I'm sure Punkin will do well. I'm lucky that my vet is very open to learning things and is easy to talk to. However he's been on vacation lately and the replacement vet is not so open, I just ignore her and do my thing. We know our kitties best.
 
Re: 3/29 Punkin amps 238 2 teeth to come out

they just called - 2 teeth need to come out, severe gum erosion and some sores. hmmm, no wonder he swallowed the crunchies whole back when he was getting them and now wouldn't eat the freeze dried treats.

the tech said his BG was 366 before the procedure. poor little guy, he must've known what was coming.
 
Re: 3/29 Punkin amps 238 2 teeth to come out

gotta admit i'm feeling
a) like a scum fur mom for not taking care of this earlier and
b) like maybe getting this resolved will help with the whole insulin/BG thing

sigh. it's reminding me of the time when i slammed my 18mo old daughter's foot in the sliding door of the van. I was holding her on my hip. the van was locked and her foot was in the door. I had to hang onto her while i got my key back out of my jean pocket and unlock the door to get it free.

we both cried the whole way to the doctor's office. :lol: thank God she doesn't even remember it now!
 
Re: 3/29 Punkin amps 238 2 teeth to come out

Glad to see Punkin getting the help he needs! I'm sure in a week, he'll be feeling a million times better! Keep a close eye on his numbers in the near future. If those teeth had any infection to them, or even if the pain was creating too much stress for him, it may have been driving up Punkin's BG#s. With the pain and any other possible problems gone, you may see his numbers recover quickly.

Enjoy your nine hours!
 
Re: 3/29 Punkin amps 238 2 teeth to come out

Hi, Julie (((Punkin)))
Happy to hear an update on the dental & that he is getting the plan of care he needs ;-)
Don't beat yourself up about what you have or have not done to date, the point is he is there now.
He should feel tons better & I suspect you will see an overall improvement in his diabetes, eating & activity.
Is this his first dental?
 
Re: 3/29 Punkin amps 238 2 teeth to come out

he had one several years ago - not sure when. maybe 5 years or so ago. he's 12ish now. he had horrible breath, and the cleaning made it better but within a month it was as stinky as ever. i meant to do it again the next year, but life happened and i didn't get it done.

not to make excuses, but in the past not quite 5 years, my mom fell, had a stroke & died, my dad moved in with us, got married, moved out and then died, my son had a gender identity crisis and spent a year dressing as a girl & wanting a gender change operation, we got custody of a troubled teen away from her abusive family, i cleaned out and sold the house i grew up in an hour away, my eldest daughter moved to Alabama (traumatic 2 years) and back again, and i gained a bully boss and ended up having anxiety attacks so i quit the job i loved . . . anyway, punkin hasn't been the top of my priority list until now.

they just called again - he's doing fine - they gave him Bupr-something that you all recommended for pain. She said he had maybe mild inflammation in the gums, not what she'd call infection and that the problem was in the teeth, not in the gums so much. they're still going to keep him til 4pm - 4.5 hours from now.

thanks for all the "you're not such a sucky fur mom" thoughts! :lol:
 
Re: 3/29 Punkin amps 238 2 teeth out, doing fine, home in 4

Julie, you're doing great. Period. No beating yourself up, you hear? ;-)

If the vet suspects the inflammation may continue for a bit, you may want to consider adding a high quality, pharmaceutical grade fish oil to Punkin's diet. (Willie and I both use OmegaVia. Can really help inflammation and is just all other kinds of good regardless.

I'm sure Punkin will be feeling fantastic in no time!!
 
Re: 3/29 Punkin amps 238 2 teeth out, doing fine, home in 4

Wow thats a lot to happen in five years! I'd have anxiety attacks for sure. Sending lots of hugs.

Can't wait until Punkin is home with his mom. I have to get Maverick in for a dental - I can smell his breath. Haven't found a vet yet.
 
Re: 3/29 Punkin amps 238 2 teeth out, doing fine, home in 4

wow that's quite alot for you to handle in 5years. You should be proud you've pulled through all that.

I'm sure Punkin will be fine and happy to see you later tonight
 
Re: 3/29 Punkin amps 238 2 teeth out, doing fine, home in 4

Glad to hear Punkin is doing well...you must be relieved!

Trix needs a dental too. The vet, of course, wants to wait until she's regulated. However, now that we're settled into a solid routine, I'm going to push for it sooner rather than later - it can only help. Of course, though, I'm also dreading that day...the worry and all that. I so wish it was easier (for both us and the kitties!) to do kitty dentals!
 
Re: 3/29 Punkin amps 238 2 teeth out, doing fine, home in 4

Hi Julie - I am so glad everything went well. I can imagine that punkin will feel a whole lot better. Be sure to watch his numbers - I'd test when you get home, no doubt it will be higher than normal, and then do spots checks as often as seems necessary, Mannie had a rough time last time with his - many reasons. He was fine, but I did struggle to get his numbers under control. Before dental he was at 3.0u, after dental we went with 2.25u: big difference. This all started on 1/11 this year, if you are interested to reviewing what can happen, I can send you the condo links if you want. I only mention this just so you'll be aware that dentals can really change BG and insulin requirements.

amazing all that has happened to you i a span of 5 years. I am glad that you have survived it all.

Hey Punkin - you need the KTSS to come and pay you a visit? We give kitty massages and help you get rid of the vetty smell. see you later, if you want. ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 3/29 Punkin amps 238 2 teeth out, doing fine, home in 4

I don't think you're such a sucky fur mom either.
 
Re: 3/29 Punkin amps 238 2 teeth out, doing fine, home in 4

Wow what a story Julie!!--Sorry for those challenges you have faced & came out of so well..You are very strong.
You are indeed a survivor! Guess Punkin is your peaceful child!

Moonie has had 2 dentals, civvie one, both had several extractions...They came home just fine, but definitely give a BCS dose tonite after you Check his bg for pmps--In some cats, the anesthesia eats the BG and they have lower numbers later in the evening...He may be just fine...Moonie came home the first time(4 teeth out) and ate all evening :lol: :lol: :lol:
You have been doing great here in LL..Big Hugs to you Punkin--I'll be watching when you post
that he is home!!
 
Re: 3/29 Punkin amps 238 2 teeth out, doing fine, home in 4

Binks sez he'd take you for a bean any old day!!

so glad the Punky Catster is doing well...and give yourself due credit for all that you have endured and continued to be a great person!
 
Re: 3/29 Punkin amps 238 2 teeth out, doing fine, home in 4

one thing i have learned in my old age :lol: is that everybody gets some stuff. you know? some people get it early in life, some later and it's all different kind of things. some people get physical problems, some have trouble relating to others, some have family issues - but EVERYBODY gets something at some point. i've had a pretty easy life and it was just the last few years that were kinda too much. But we are all stronger than we think and you rise up to do what you need to do. after all, what's the choice - crawl in a hole? jettison those you love when they need help? you just get up and keep putting one foot in front of the other, and hope that your "turn" for the hard stuff gets over soon! ;-)

and i would say everybody here is doing that very thing for your own kitters. lots of people wouldn't - but everyone here is obviously strong and doing the best they can for their needy cat.

so i wasn't sharing all that for any reason other than to just say, poor punkin, who is now at the top of my list, didn't get his teeth taken care of sooner like he should've. But today is his day!

one of my online friends has a great quote in her sig line -

For a long time it had seemed to me that life was about to begin — real life. But there was always some obstacle in the way, something to be gotten through first, some unfinished business, time still to be served, a debt to be paid. Then life would begin. At last it dawned on me that these obstacles were my life.
— Alfred D. Souza


how will i know what to shoot him with tonight? i'll post his numbers when i get him home, but am just thinking ahead.
 
Re: 3/29 Punkin amps 238 2 teeth out, doing fine, home in 4

Julie, sometimes we just have bigger things on our minds. It happens.
Punkin is going to feel so much better with the nasty teeth gone. After extractions, Checkers was back to eating, and playing like nothing happened.
Judging from his behavior afterward, I'm pretty sure the pain from the dental was not as bad as the pain from bad teeth.
 
Re: 3/29 Punkin amps 238 2 teeth out, doing fine, home in 4

Julie, glad Punkin got through the dental ok and hope he does well tonight. I loved the quote about life's obstacles. So true! It sounds like you are a very strong, amazing woman and Punkin is very lucky to have you as a bean.
 
Re: 3/29 Punkin amps 238 2 teeth out, doing fine, home in 4

Hi Julie - I answered your question in Mannie's condo, but i thought I'd post it here too in case you don't get back there. You may want to put eh question in your subject line if you want the opinion of the dose people. You vet may have an opinion too.

anyways - here's what I wrote: "Hi Julie - oh i know - it was crazy.... on the dose for that night: a guess: half the norm - and i hoped it wasn't too much. the problem we had was that Mannie's BG was so high that he was having trouble metabolizing the drugs out of his system. I brought home a very doped up kitty, who would not eat, and could barely stand up. I went with a half dose because I just couldn't get enough food in him - and we were delayed at that point too. The next morning, though a little better he still was a little loopy. We were two hours behind at that point, so I was able to feed a little in the morning before ps, all of which he vomited up. so.... went with 1/3 dose, just cuz there was no food in his system and I had to get those numbers down. gradually through finger feed and syringes of water etc, he came around. By pmps that night he was hungry - so went back to the original dose. which was fine for two cycles as it brought his hi readings back down. and the down some more.... we were in the 30's, anyways - it became known at that point that the original dose was now too much for him - the dental cleaning made that much of a difference. anyways - to long answer to your question - dose was decided upon at half - just a guess, as eating was way off. It sounds like Punkin is alert etc so you won't have the doped up kitty i had....
 
Re: 3/29 Punkin amps 238 2 teeth out, doing fine, home in 4

So, test when you get home. Depending on where you are in relation to shot time, Punkin may want something to eat.

I'd suggest getting some baby food. Punkin may not be enthusiastic about regular food since his mouth hurts. Baby food goes down easy. (Beechnut Stage 1 or Gerber Stage 2 -- the Gerber has cornstarch in it and is higher carb -- about 7%) Whatever food you get, you want only meat and broth -- no onions, etc.

You'll know what to shoot based on Punkin's numbers -- are they dropping is the big question.

As for the other stuff, I look at it from the perspective that everyone has baggage. Some people own a matched set of Louis Vuitton, right up to the big steamer trunk. Other carry a small valise. No matter -- everyone has baggage.
 
Re: 3/29 Punkin amps 238 2 teeth out, doing fine, home in 4

love the luggage thought - it's so true! and while i would love to think i'm strong and amazing, the truth is i'm ordinary, just like all of you. we do what we need to do.

just got him home - so his +9.45 = 268. not bad for a day like today.

he's acting totally normal. blood tests were all good - some more detailed ones were sent out and we'll get them in a day or 2. normal on everything except glucose. They tested ALKP, ALT, BUN, TP, Creatinine and Glucose, so basic liver, kidney and glucose tests. His BG was 352 (they must've told me wrong earlier) and the papers they gave show a normal range as being 71-159, so adding in stress, perhaps that's not too bad.

They used isoflurane for the anesthetic and Buprenorphine for pain.

i've given him maybe a TB of food diluted & mashed in a couple of TB of water (i guess i need to get some baby food) and he scarfed it down and gave me The Look.

"am i on a diet? are you eating my food again?"

His weight was 14.3, just as usual.
 
Re: 3/29 Punkin amps 238 dental +10/268 seems good

Sounds like Punkin did really well and is feeling better :mrgreen: --It is really amazing to see how much better they feel with their dentals done! Plus they have clean shiny toofs!! :lol:
Glad he came through it with flying colors!

My fave saying is Man Plans and God Laughs--So true--But I have revised it since being here to:
Man Plans and Cats Laugh! :lol: :lol: :lol: I'm sure you can get that one!! :lol: :lol:

Anyway, the dental is behind you & all is good tonite! Big Hugs from us & Moonie says she cant wait to see Punkin's toofs, she says he's cute!! Have a good evening! Relax! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/29 Punkin amps 238 dental +10/268 seems good

Great news for Punkin! I hope you guys are able to relax tonight!!!
 
Re: 3/29 Punkin amps 238 +10/268 PMPS/326

I just decreased his dose a tiny bit, only because he's getting so much less food today and tonight - he'll end up having about 1/2 the food for the day, all watered down. gave him 7.0 instead of 7.25. we'll see what happens - at least it's early enough i'll be able to check him quite a bit tonight.

thanks everyone, for all your encouragement today. punkin is wondering what the big deal is - he's his usual self, hoping to finish up Anya's dish!
 
Re: 3/29 Punkin amps 238 +10/268 PMPS/326

Oh dear Julie....so sorry I haven't been here today checking in on Punkin...WORK yuckus. I'm so glad he did incredibly well and is home with you. I read your posts and I think you are an amazing, strong person and I love your philosophy and so glad you shared it with us. It says alot about you. I KNEW I really liked you from the beginning. I remember from the movie "Parenthood" with Steve Martin how he talked about life being like a ride on a roller coaster and you couldn't have the delirious highs without also having the lows. Mike and I joke about this..."been there, done that"..... now we're ready for the flat kiddie train around the park :lol: :lol: :lol: It all comes down to attitude.

Hope your boy has a pain free night ...they are so resilient. (((Julie and Punkin))).
 
Re: 3/29 Punkin amps 238 +10/268 PMPS/326

Figured I'd share this here since there was mention of baby food.

I had a partially consumed jar of turkey baby food in the fridge. Donovan was exceptionally fussy this morning, so I decided to entice him with that. Since it was cold, I wanted to warm it up a bit. I put some in a little dish for him, and some for Butthead too, and put it in the microwave for a few seconds. I heard a *pop*, and opened the door. One of the dishes was now empty. It exploded EVERYWHERE.

Note to self: don't do that again.
 
Re: 3/29 Punkin amps 238 +10/268 PMPS/326

:lol: :lol: :lol:

we hate it when food explodes in the microwave! and exploded baby food meat? ewwww :shock:

i just want to say how incredibly nice everyone is here. seriously. i am overwhelmed by everyone's generosity and kindness.

i always knew that cat people were special people. and here's the proof.

thanks everyone! i feel all warm and fuzzy tonight. now i have to go suck blood from my feline. ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top