4/4 Atlas PMPS 191 Fructo and meter comparison???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beth & Atlas

Member Since 2010
Good Morning Lantus Land, ~O) ~O) ~O)

Very nice cycle last night for Attie... http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=40354&p=429499#p429499

Polydactly Smudge gets a HIGH FIVE from Sasquatch Attie! If they gonna call you names, make it an asset says I ! ~~Attie

Big windy morninng here. Attie slept almost all night on the bed with me. At one point he tried getting under the covers, but didn't really want to settle down there. He senses the bad weather. Big guy is afraid of storms.

MudCat snoozed the night away too. No up at the race track all night for her!

And Gary got a bit of boiled chicken and rice that was left over from a sick pet sit cat. Seems it may have set his tummy right too. So since Attie won't eat the raw chicken from Nature's Variety...insists on my chicken...I think I may have a wonderful gift from Gary. Another raw food convert!

So all is good in our little world today. We have The Awesome Adventures of Scamp(poodle) today, those dear sweet Girl Scout cookie loving puggles and two samoyeds to visit, for a nice total of only 5 visits on the line today. spring break is done so some hay was made to pay for those vettie bills. I like being busy, but there is something very nice about not needing to constantly glance at the clock on the slow days.
 
Re: 4/4 Atlas AMPS 202

I so enjoyed hearing about your furbaby family. I can almost picture them with your descriptions. Have a nice day. I have a cousin in OH.
 
Re: 4/4 Atlas AMPS 202

YEah!!!! We beat the severe thunderstorm for Scamp and made it back to be with Attie through the first of the spring storms....

Lots of lightening and they just said on the radio lots of straightline winds hit in my service area. 60mph winds and the warnings are going up as I type! This is supposed to go on all day as these bad boys move through....

Trees, limbs, and power outages now coming through too.

gotta find my rain gear I guess.

Attie's BG will be high all day today from the storm stress.
 
Re: 4/4 Atlas AMPS 202

Love reading about your clients and Attie/Mudcat/Gary.

Sorry Attie is afraid of the bad weather. Give him a hug.
 
Re: 4/4 Atlas AMPS 202

Good morning guys ... that's a pretty nice start to the day atlas .. so close to blue! I'm sorry you guys are dealing with storms today, hope they are not to bad and that you don't lose power .. have a great day!
 
Re: 4/4 Atlas AMPS 202, +4 270

Yep...

Thunderstorms are worse than a vetty trip.

Ahhh...well....Poor Attie is going to have a long day...
 
Re: 4/4 Atlas AMPS 202, +4 270

Attie's insulin just arrived from Canada!!!! Wow. Express Post!


Little things can make us just so happy...
 
Re: 4/4 Atlas AMPS 202, +4 270

Morning guys!

Well nice amps, sorry for the +4. amazing what stress will do to our furkids. It does sound like quite the weather moving through there WOW - and stay safe....

Nice on the insulin! I have to check this out.... I wonder how it would work for us on the west coast.... and would it make any difference where one lives ...

Attie??? Dude... You want some company? I will come and stay with you if you want - two can tackle any kind of weather. It's ok man, those storms can't get you...See you! Or.... better yet! Let me picks you up and we will go to a sunny warm calm place. See you! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 4/4 Atlas AMPS 202, +4 270
 

Attachments

  • weatherforcast.jpg
    weatherforcast.jpg
    243.3 KB · Views: 1,195
Re: 4/4 Atlas AMPS 202, +4 270

ATTIE!!! :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: dude - that is scary!! I will comes and gets you - we will go to CA where it is sunny and stuff. uhhhhhh, do I need to put the flotation devices on the roadster? ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 4/4 Atlas PMPS 191 Vetty Update

Just hung up the phone with Dr. Love the other vet in the office.

Very, very happy with our conversation regarding Attie's numbers and bloodwork. He was even asking to "plagiarize" the Queensland Protocol!!!

Attie is a little high on the fructosamine levels (520?). We do have about 100 pt. difference in my meter to their tests? But, we both acknowledged the limitations of home meters vs. alpha traks. and the pro's and cons!

I did check Attie against the old Relion vs. the Freestyle lite too... :?:

So their saying he's at 330 over the last few weeks...where my meters says around 200?
 
Re: 4/4 Atlas PMPS 191 Vetty Update

Just compared meters again....

FreeStyle lite====243

Relion=========328


Hmmm....
 
Re: 4/4 Atlas PMPS 191 Vetty Update

Thank goodness Walgreen's is on the corner....

New Freestyle meter...same issue ...reads low

252 vs. 285

So this leaves me in a conundrum...

Go with the old meter and 3-5 pokes to get enough blood

or

Use the Freestyle with less blood, but keep in mind the meter reads naturally low.
 
Re: 4/4 Atlas PMPS 191 Vetty Update

Hi Beth and Attie,
Good vetty report about the protocol and everything. Which ReliOn are you using? I did several comparisons of the FreeStyle Lite and the ReliOn Micro over the last few weeks and they were always very close to each other (the other day they gave identical readings on the same drop of blood). The older ReliOn Ultima (which uses different strips and requires a larger drop of blood) may not be as accurate, but I think that both the Micro and the Confirm (which use the same strips) are fine.

I hope your weather has calmed down by this evening. Those winds must be fierce.

See you tomorrow,
Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/4 Atlas PMPS 191 Vetty Update Good, but ???

very nice on the blood work, etc for Attie. The fructosamine was interesting... and what to make of that. Very nice on the protocol.

FWIW: Personally I'd go with the meter that reads a little low. Personal preference I think. After having gone through 3 months of a meter that read 20% higher than any other I used I just won't go there again - it was depressing. I hear that the freestyle is a great meter. I'd stick with that. but that's MHO.

I too hope your weather has calmed down - crazy stuff there. Hope Attie is handling it OK. Nice pmps tonight! :-D
 
Re: 4/4 Atlas PMPS 191 Vetty Update Good, but ???

Well there is a large variance between my old FreeStyle Lite, the Relion Ultima, and the Fructosamine average.

I just bought a new FreeStyle Lite at the corner Walgreens' 30 minutes ago and it is still low?

520 Fructosamine result is considered "poor control." And corresponds to a BG over 330?

All of Attie's other test were really great! "So they say..." except for the BG?
 
Re: 4/4 Atlas PMPS 191 Vetty Update Good, but ???

Michelle and Mannie said:
very nice on the blood work, etc for Attie. The fructosamine was interesting... and what to make of that. Very nice on the protocol.


Vet mentioned for low numbers to use honey instead of Karo. His reason was because honey was closer to regular glucose, was quickly absorbed in the mouth and didn't have to be digested. He was impressed when I said we use Karo and test 15 minutes later for a rise in numbers, but he feels since we're running a tight protocol the use of honey would be better suited.

Overall he seemed very respectful of our situation. He understood why I wanted some baseline numbers on Attie. And is pushing for us to get a urine sample, but Attie had, had enough on Sat. and wasn't going to let them do a cyto. So, he said if I could "catch" a clean sample it would be fine too. The female vet Attie saw was a "sub," but they are looking to bring her on as soon as they have enough growth. Which he indicated was very close at hand.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top