4/9 Java AMPS 103

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steph and Java(GA)

Member Since 2011
last condo

Hi All! Hope you are all well, sorry we haven't been around but it has been a crazy week. Java is still doing well, all 5 p's and he ate a great breffis, although he gets hungry about an hour before we feed and he drives me crazy buggin for food! Civvie is well also although I think he may have had a little stroke or TIA yesterday. But he seems better today and is back to normal so who knows.

Anyway my question is how do you know when it is time to try and do a trial? I know Java is not there yet but I can't seem to find any info on going OTJ. He seems to be heading that direction although I realize we are not there yet. Any info?
 
Re: 4/9 Java AMPS 103 question about protocol

Hi, Steph & Java.. here is the part of the protocol that discusses it..
In Java's case.. she is on .50 right now.. if she drops below 50 or stays green for 7 days then you would try reducing the dose to .25, then if she drops below 50 or stays green for 7 days on that you would again try reducing the dose to .10 or a drop & if she drops below 50 on that dose or stays green for 7 days then you are at a point where you cannot give any less insulin, so you try removing the insulin & see how kitty does in his/her OTJ trial.
Some people drop from .25 to a trial.. but most try the .10 or drop first to keep kitty healing as long as possible. (dependant upon the #s)

Phase 4: Reducing the dose
When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately! The reduction is done very slowly in a step-by-step manner (0.25 or 0.5 IU increments). At each newly reduced dose, try to make sure the cat is still stable in the normal range before reducing the dose further.

If the cat will not stay in the normal range after a reduction, immediately increase the dose again to the last good dose. Sometimes, a cat can even manage to keep its BGs low for a day or two, but then the BGs begin to rise again because the beta-cells haven't recovered enough yet. Try to go from 0.25 IU to a drop before stopping the insulin completely. Reducing the dose too quickly generally does not work: most cats do not go into remission with fast reductions.
 
Re: 4/9 Java AMPS 103 question about protocol

Nicole & Baby said:
Hi, Steph & Java.. here is the part of the protocol that discusses it..
In Java's case.. she is on .50 right now.. if she drops below 50 or stays green for 7 days then you would try reducing the dose to .25, then if she drops below 50 or stays green for 7 days on that you would again try reducing the dose to .10 or a drop & if she drops below 50 on that dose or stays green for 7 days then you are at a point where you cannot give any less insulin, so you try removing the insulin & see how kitty does in his/her OTJ trial.
Some people drop from .25 to a trial.. but most try the .10 or drop first to keep kitty healing as long as possible. (dependant upon the #s)

Phase 4: Reducing the dose
When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately! The reduction is done very slowly in a step-by-step manner (0.25 or 0.5 IU increments). At each newly reduced dose, try to make sure the cat is still stable in the normal range before reducing the dose further.

If the cat will not stay in the normal range after a reduction, immediately increase the dose again to the last good dose. Sometimes, a cat can even manage to keep its BGs low for a day or two, but then the BGs begin to rise again because the beta-cells haven't recovered enough yet. Try to go from 0.25 IU to a drop before stopping the insulin completely. Reducing the dose too quickly generally does not work: most cats do not go into remission with fast reductions.


thanks Nicole!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top