4/14 Tommy +7 126 +8 136, +10 162,+11 179 pmps 178 +1 262

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lauren&Tommy (GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday's condo
Good morning all. Profile page with photos and text i believe has been corrected. Thanks to all of you for the kind words about my Family.
Seeing them all together, they are a pretty good looking bunch. I have added text on how they came to be my "kids".
Tommy is being Tommy even though the numbers say otherwise.
Thinking happy wishes that you and your babies are doing well ;-)
 
Re: 4/14 Tommy amps 406, +4 222

Not so sure about these numbers. Maybe a.m. shot reading way off or the +4 off.. I'll keep an eye on that. That's quite a drop for Tommy in 4 hours.
 
Re: 4/14 Tommy amps 406, +4 222, +6 171

Hey Karrie, yeah they were up yesterday, but the text was all funky. I changed a couple of the photos of Abbey and Emma. I've been thinking about you and Maverick lately especially with putting up the photos of my family. My girls look a bit like your big boy huh! Back in the early 90's I had a Maine Coon named Peeper. Mine don't quite talk like yours did in the video, but when they play and chase each other they have much to say to one another. I truly am so happy that you have him back home with you where he belongs.
 
Re: 4/14 Tommy amps 406, +4 222, +6 171

Whoa Tommy: What is going on here? Nice blue. Love the profile. What a wonderful bunch of furbabies. Be looking for the next test. I love Tommy's chubby cheeks.
 
Re: 4/14 Tommy amps 406, +4 222, +6 171

hmmm, what's the little guy got going on today? maybe he wants more attention so more people will look at his cute family . . . i'll be curious what his next reading is too. when are you going to do the next BG?
 
Re: 4/14 Tommy amps 406, +4 222, +6 171, +7 126

Just posted it. I feel really bad though. I can't get excited about the blue given his numbers lately. I'm a bit curious too. Don't misunderstand, I am happy, just being reserved for now. I'll try to get one next hour too so i can find out when he starts going back up. Usually by now that has already happened. So i don't know what's going on with him. Would be really nice if he would hang out down here. Blue is my favorite color, although i would make green my new favorite color if it would make Tommy happy. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/14 Tommy amps 406, +4 222, +6 171, +7 126

Nice numbers, Squirrel, but that's a pretty big drop from +6 to +7. I would suggest you get a +7.5.

When did you feed him last?
 
Re: 4/14 Tommy +4 222, +6 171, +7 126, +8 136

I see the +8...nice number! I know you probably didn't see my post...no problem! :smile:

Sorry I didn't have time to say it before...I LOVE the profile! I'm jealous of the pics...I'm the world's worst photographer!
 
Re: 4/14 Tommy +4 222, +6 171, +7 126, +8 136

Laurie, yeah i saw your post right after i posted Tommy's +8. sorry i didn't respond sooner, i had to finish working out after I tested my boy at +8.
I don't know if you've seen the notes on Tommy's SS, but i post how much food and when i give it to him per wonderful advice from all of you so we can see what food is doing to his numbers. I agree with the confusion with the drop in numbers today, i'll test in just a bit again to keep an eye on how fast he goes up and by how much. I'm glad you enjoyed the photographs. I'm thinking of rotating them periodically or putting an album together like some of you have done. I think your picture of Mr. Tinkles is very very cute.
 
Re: 4/14 Tommy +4 222, +6 171, +7 126, +8 136

I was thinking that too when I saw your Abbey - had a heart tug. I know Maverick was part Maine Coon. Reading up about the breed online they seem to be talkative. I'm glad you are sharing your whole gang. We normally get to know just the FD kitties on here so its neat to see the civvies and droolers.
 
Re: 4/14 Tommy +4 222, +6 171, +7 126, +8 136

Karrie, i hope not a bad heart tug. I wasn't sure if it would be ok to introduce every one to you guys since this is site specific, or even if it was allowed. The response to it has been very humbling. I'm really glad you all like the photos I chose. I would like to put up a short video every now and then of them talking and just being kitties and puppies like you did with Maverick, but i've never uploaded or posted anything like that before on you tube. It's always been just for us. Is it hard?
 
Re: 4/14 Tommy +4 222, +6 171, +7 126, +8 136

I have another question! Should i continue to test till his pm shot or can his poor ear have a break?
Also, in reference to the drop Laurie, given the 20% variance in meter readings there isn't much to get too excited about or concerned with right?
I mean i'm happy he's in the blue right now, very very much, but that could just be 20% talking right?
Time will tell I know~~~~~~~~ (ECID) :-D
 
Re: 4/14 Tommy +4 222, +6 171, +7 126, +8 136

The notes about the food are great....I'm glad you are doing that, it is helpful! I didn't think to look there when I posted...I was sorta in a hurry... ;-)

Speaking of the food....I noticed that you are feeding at +11 sometimes. It's best to not feed within the 2 hours before PS, you want the PS numbers to be "clean" numbers, not influenced by food....so if you can feed by +10, that would be better.

Lovely blues today...I hope he sees more of them!
 
Re: 4/14 Tommy +4 222, +6 171, +7 126, +8 136

Yeah, i haven't done that since the evening of the 9th after speaking with Sienne. I'm guessing the same would apply to not feeding him 2hrs or so before his morning shot as well. Duhhhhhh! didn't put that one together.
Quite all right that you were in a hurry, i just wasn't sure if you had seen the notes. I'm trying really hard to be as detailed as i can be so you guys don't have to ask the same questions over again. You all have other people you help out and Lives outside here so the last thing i want to do is make it harder for you all. ;-)
 
Re: 4/14 Tommy +4 222, +6 171, +7 126, +8 136

If you can get in a couple tests, it would be great to see how he finished out this cycle. You want to be sure to shoot a rising number, so one more test before pmps is a good idea. If Tommy's numbers are still dropping at pmps, hold food and test again at say +12.5. Can you delay his shot schedule at all if needed?

If you look at 4/4, you see what he did on the last string of blues; hopefully he will have less of a bounce on this string.

How's Tommy acting when his numbers are in the 100s? Are you noticing any changes? It's good to note any differences, such as snappy or sleepy, hungry or restless, as you may learn what is specific to Tommy.

I hope Tommy's getting close to his dose now, but time will tell if he has arrived or just taking a breather like 4/4/11.
 
Re: 4/14 Tommy +4 222, +6 171, +7 126, +8 136

Tommy is one of those cats that has a tendency to drop a little bit at pm shot after he has already gone up. are you saying that i should not shoot his normal pm shot which is 9pm cst. I'm a little confused. And sure i can delay if needed.
Also, i've posted over the past couple of days that Tommy has been a bit more playful and to be perfectly honest he's hardly ever been in the 100's so i don't have much to go on but it seems no matter where his numbers are, he's Tommy all the time and almost always hungry, now last time he was in the blues he didn't attack me every time i got near his food bowl. he seemed content and happy and satisfied. today he's a bit hungry still but seems happy and comfortable with me just being around.
 
Re: 4/14 Tommy +4 222, +6 171, +7 126, +8 136

That's correct, you should not feed within 2 hours of the morning shot also. See, the notes are helpful, I wouldn't have caught that otherwise. :smile:

photosquirrel14 said:
I have another question! Should i continue to test till his pm shot or can his poor ear have a break?
Also, in reference to the drop Laurie, given the 20% variance in meter readings there isn't much to get too excited about or concerned with right?
I mean i'm happy he's in the blue right now, very very much, but that could just be 20% talking right?
Time will tell I know~~~~~~~~ (ECID) :-D

Sorry I missed this post! I would get another test, by +10...I understand about the ears, but you do want to see if he is rising.

That was a fairly large drop for one hour, 45 pts from +6 to +7. Looking at how close he was to green, that was my concern. Since we don't know if he is acro, it does make sense to be careful about green numbers.
 
Re: 4/14 Tommy +4 222, +6 171, +7 126, +8 136

Thank you very very much, I planned on getting +10 so i'm catching on huh!
 
Re: 4/14 Tommy +4 222, +6 171, +7 126, +8 136

photosquirrel14 said:
Tommy is one of those cats that has a tendency to drop a little bit at pm shot after he has already gone up. are you saying that i should not shoot his normal pm shot which is 9pm cst. I'm a little confused. And sure i can delay if needed.
Also, i've posted over the past couple of days that Tommy has been a bit more playful and to be perfectly honest he's hardly ever been in the 100's so i don't have much to go on but it seems no matter where his numbers are, he's Tommy all the time and almost always hungry, now last time he was in the blues he didn't attack me every time i got near his food bowl. he seemed content and happy and satisfied. today he's a bit hungry still but seems happy and comfortable with me just being around.

I think you may be seeing just a surf or even a bit of a double dip at the end of his cycles, but you want to see that he is not still dropping lower. Think of a ball bouncing down the stairs, with each drop a bit lower. If he's up in those pink numbers or even yellows, it's ok, but with Tommy in blues, you want to be sure he is done with his dropping.

Delaying his shot would be something to consider if he is close to the 100 mark.

I am glad to hear he's acting better now, so that's why it is good to talk about those 100s now .... he's getting there and you want to know what may be needed.

As he dips his paw into those good blue numbers,he will get more used to them, will stay longer, and bounce less high and less often.
 
Re: 4/14 Tommy+4 222+6 171 +7 126 +8 136, +10 162

Ok, what i need to know and i've read the protocol and i know i still have a couple of hours left, but with Tommy should i still give the 10u if he is under 200 come pm shot time?. With him almost always in pink and red these days i just don't know what path to take when he suddenly hits blue. ECID Indeed Tommy falls under that category.
Thanks for being around tonight you guys.
whatever i should do i have all the necessary contraband if needed.. :lol:
 
Re: 4/14 Tommy+4 222+6 171 +7 126 +8 136, +10 162

:mrgreen: <---is me right now! (((Squirrel))) Wowwwwwwwww! how cool is this? very!
 
Re: 4/14 Tommy+4 222+6 171 +7 126 +8 136, +10 162

Nicole... :lol: Ha ha ha ha ha ha... I'll let you know if it lasts more than one day ! Cool yes, I hope he's not just toying with me again.. ;-)
 
Re: 4/14 Tommy+4 222+6 171 +7 126 +8 136, +10 162

hi squirrel! what a day for tommy!!! nice!
it might not be a bad idea to get a +11 and then post the pmps number BEFORE shooting.
what we're looking for is the rate of the rise. if he's steadily on his way up, you'll be more comfortable shooting a full dose.

are you able to monitor tonight if necessary? have a good supply of hc and test strips on hand?
 
Re: 4/14 Tommy+4 222+6 171 +7 126 +8 136, +10 162

I had planned on the +11, so that's good to know i'm thinking in the right direction. He has been steadily going up since the +7 but not bad.. If i have to be up to watch out for my boy, I'll just set alarms. I don't sleep much right now anyway and we have thunderstorms coming in and that means little if no sleep for mommy because my big Charlie bear is deftly afraid of thunder and lightning even with little pill help.
 
Re: 4/14 Tommy+4 222+6 171 +7 126 +8 136, +10 162

hope the storms aren't too bad. i think that's the same line of storms which will be here tomorrow.
two of mine are scaredy-cats, too. they don't leave my side when there's thunder and lightening!
 
Re: 4/14 Tommy+6 171 +7 126 +8 136, +10 162,+11 179

Squirrel, so long as you know that Tommy is rising, you should be OK with the 10u. Remember that it takes a good 2-3hrs for the insulin to kick in fully.

It is great to see a good string of blues, for sure! In back of mind, it is good to think that blues are nice greens for acros. Let's hope that Tommy has arrived at 'his' dose, and will continue in the nice blue/yellow numbers.
 
Re: 4/14 Tommy+6 171 +7 126 +8 136, +10 162,+11 179 pmps 178

It looks like Tommy's on the rise. You might want to get a +1 just to make sure he doesn't decide to do a fast turn around and surprise you!
 
Re: 4/14 Tommy+6 171 +7 126 +8 136, +10 162,+11 179 pmps 178

surprise me in a good way or a bad way.. and won't the food i give him now send out a false +1 reading? I'm just curious and should i grab a few tests throughout the night if i can?
I'll go ahead and give him 10u then. Thank you everyone for being here..
 
Re: 4/14 Tommy+6 171 +7 126 +8 136, +10 162,+11 179 pmps 178

I think food may influence his +1 as expected, but you would not see a big drop in his BG, yes?
His +11 and pmps look like is surfing nicely, so I would not expect to see much of a change by +1.
That's why a +1 that looks like he is dropping again would be important to see.
 
Re: 4/14 Tommy+6 171 +7 126 +8 136, +10 162,+11 179 pmps 178

No, you are correct, i would not expect to see a drop, what i don't understand is if the food does influence the number, why is it important to get that +1 if it's not a true reading. Please forgive my ignorance, i am still trying to learn about all of this.
And if he does drop at the +1 what does that mean for Us? the exciting evening Sienne was talking about? :-D
I really want to understand everything right now. I'm kind of impatient when it comes to not knowing things, especially when it involves my furbabies. Thank you for taking the time out of your evening to teach. ;-)
 
Re: 4/14 Tommy+6 171 +7 126 +8 136, +10 162,+11 179 pmps 178

Take a look at Gabby's SS the PM cycle of 4/8. She dropped from 197 to 118 at +1. In a perfect cycle, there's a food spike at +1 and numbers are close to your pre-shot at +2. However, on occasion most of our kitties will not follow the rules. If there is a drop at +1 or +2, there's a good chance that it will be a busy cycle.
 
Re: 4/14 Tommy +7 126 +8 136, +10 162,+11 179 pmps 178 +1 26

What makes a kitty have a drop at the +1 or is there no rhyme or reason for that?
Tommy's +1 is 262.. That's not good is it? Is that too much of a spike or again is it the ECID ?
When you say busy cycle does that generally mean the numbers will continue to go lower and you have to monitor for very low readings?
 
Re: 4/14 Tommy +7 126 +8 136, +10 162,+11 179 pmps 178 +1 26

photosquirrel14 said:
What makes a kitty have a drop at the +1 or is there no rhyme or reason for that?
Tommy's +1 is 262.. That's not good is it? Is that too much of a spike or again is it the ECID ?
When you say busy cycle does that generally mean the numbers will continue to go lower and you have to monitor for very low readings?

If you look at Tommy's last few numbers, he is pretty much surfing along, a little up and down, but nothing major.
Even his pmps is 1 less than his +11, so technically he is still dropping if you wanted to be picky. I bet if you took 6 tests at ps, you would have 6 diff numbers, so you can say he's still running on that last cycle. The overlap is nice to have but if the shed gets too full, sometimes it lasts too long and a delay in shot time or a decrease is needed.

If you give his shot and also feed him, you would expect his numbers to rise a bit from the food and from his need for more insulin because the last shot should be running out. That's why if you shoot, and also feed, but see a drop after an hour, be ready to have an active, exciting cycle where you may be needing to pull out the HC foods... seeing a drop at +1 and/or +2 is cause for close watching, and likely some intervention on your part.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top