1/26 Moses PMPS 160 +3~79 +3.5~62 +4~53 +4.5~63

Status
Not open for further replies.

Erica & Moses

Active Member
Yesterday's Condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=3975

Hello, I just recently got home so a +9 is the earliest I could get for today. I'm very fortunate to live w/my parents still, in the sense that Moses isn't all alone when I'm gone at work. For that I'm thankful.

Sienne & Gabby asked this yesterday:
"That's a good sized drop. Are you able to get any other spot checks in tonight?"

Answer: I was unable to last night. But I'm off of work tomorrow, so I'm willing to get a couple extra numbers tonight, to uncover the nightly mystery of Moses' Dance of the Sugars. dancing_cat

*Question: Any suggestions for the best time for a nightly spot check? I now know bedtime means bedtime. But my bedtime's at 8pm (I get up at 5am). So if Moses' peaks around +6 or +7, then I'd like to aim for that. Which would be 2:20am @-) What do you think?

WCR: Moses is good. Bossy in the morning about his breakfast, singing his high-pitched Breffis Song. He's feeling kinda lazy right now in the sun. I've mentioned before that he has a lump around his right arm pit area. It's continue to grow, which worries me. But it doesn't hurt him. I'll need to include that info in my profile, once I've created the profile of course. Maybe I'll include a photo. Although, it is kinda gross... I like to call it his bubble instead.
 
Re: 1/26 Moses AMPS 164 +9~166

Hi Erica! I like to get a +4 and definitely a +8 cause that's when my Shadow peaks.
(I have been actually getting up for a +8 test and snack for him and his sister Raja for months now. I am used
to staggering out, turning on the light, getting all that stuff done and then going back to bed. I did that cause the +8
snack helped when Raja's pancreas was kicking in and the 4 hours until AMPS meant that her pancreas went into
action and she got a lower AMPS. I just never stopped doing it cause then I can check on Shadow, my problem child now...)
But I don't work so it's not too much of an interruption for me....doubt I could do it if I had to go to work....

Maybe it won't be too bad if you are off tomorrow to catch the above....drink water before sleeping is a trick that works for some of us. :lol:
Are you able to get the same tests in tomorrow after AMPS then too? You could do a +3 and a +6 and +8 tomorrow maybe....
that would help. any data that you can acquire helps fill out how the insulin is working on Moses....and knowledge is so helpful.
You got quite a few the other day during the daytime. but I know that many kitties go lower during the WEE hours.... :-D

Any numbers you can get wold be great!! What time is AMPS and PMPS for you then if you get up at 5am...
it's so dark then....I used to drive a school bus and had to get up at that time too....dark and cold...
Brrrrr.....
 
Re: 1/26 Moses AMPS 164 +9~166

Moses' numbers look good. :smile:

What Sienne was suggesting, with a drop like last night's, is that another test is almost necessary. Usually insulin onset is just getting started at +3, so he could have continued to drop quite a bit. What I would do if I had to go to sleep would be to feed a little bit of low carb food (maybe 1/4 or 1/2 can if I was going to bed) and test again. Even if you only wait 30 minutes before the next test, that at least will tell you if Moses is going to surf in the 80's or keep dropping much lower.

Once you have collected more data on how Moses is responding, you may not have to do that because you'll know whether he is going to drop or surf, but right now you don't know that yet. That's why we keep pestering about nighttime checks (and I'm glad you're getting them now!), they help keep the kitties safe.
 
Re: 1/26 Moses AMPS 164 +9~166

Wow! I checked out your spreadsheets, Pat+Raja+Shadow and Libby + Lucy, and you two know how to stay up and test those kitties! Wow~ :shock:

I think I plan to do a +3 and a +8 tonight... (which would translate to 9:30 and 2:30 for TX time). I know I've gotten some +3 numbers before but 9:30 is late for me. Especially if I'm getting up at 2:30am tonight. Will I be missing out b/c I'm not gaining any spot tests in between? Hopefully that doesn't make my +3 and +8 data worthless if I can only get those two.

Maybe the next day off I can get a +6. I'll try to space them out. My sleeping patterns are really important, as is Moses' diabetes treatment. I had insomnia back in 2008 so I've got to continue to have healthy sleep routines. I'm really not trying to shoo-shoo the night spot checks, but I truly have to evaluate how my sleep fits into the occasion.

If I'm not sleeping, I'm not there! lol. And trust me, Moses does not want me injecting if I'm a zombie. Yikes!
 
Re: 1/26 Moses AMPS 164 +9~166

Erica - Moses' numbers are looking great. Keep up the great work.
 
Re: 1/26 Moses AMPS 164 +9~166

HI Erica,

Moses is responding very very well to this dose. It's great!
It's tough indeed to get up in the middle of the night to test but it's totally worth it. Seeing that our kitties have overgrown their dose is very exciting. I was in the 'drink a lot of water' category. I also got to the point where I'd stay awake and zombie around the next day. Some people, such as Jill/Alex didn't even get out of bed to test... you have to find whatever works for you.... but it's a very very good thing!

best of luck!
 
Re: 1/26 Moses AMPS 164 +9~166

It will be ok if you can just get the two....don't worry....sleeping is a very important thing.
I am sorry you have that trouble but I understand. I am not a happy person if I have not had a good
night's sleep. I do feel draggy and prone to mistakes...not a good thing.
So you do have to take care of yourself too. Erica...can you get some checks during the day again tomorrow too?
You will see the pattern even in the day too. But do what you can for the night checks...You are doing great!!
 
Re: 1/26 Moses PMPS 160

Thank you for the encouragement :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

One size does not fit all, and I'm glad to hear that everybody can do things a little differently.

I plan to get those 2 times in tonight (+3 and +8) and yes, I can get more checks tomorrow on my day off.

Ya'll are wonderful. Thank you! :-D
 
Re: 1/26 Moses PMPS 160 +3~79 Question!

So... I'm thankful Moses has a nice low PMPS night night. But, I can honestly say I'm also a little worried nailbite_smile

He's only halfway to his peak and he sat in my lap as a total limp kitty. He could be typical tired Moses but he was pretty ragdoll limp. Now he's got his dinner out to snack on... which is LC. I don't think I should crack his HC food out right now. Or should I?

I was going to test again at his +8 (in about 5 hours). Is that smart? I was going to bed in 30 minutes and wake up at 2:30am for that test.

Alright, what do ya'll think? :? B/c I really don't want him to crash and be like -20 at midnight.... nailbite_smile (worst case scenario of course)
 
Re: 1/26 Moses PMPS 160 +3~79 Question!

Can you test right before you hit the pillows? So it would be at 30 minutes since the last test when Moses was 79? At least you will know if he is going up or down or sideways. :-D Is that in about 15 minutes?
 
Re: 1/26 Moses PMPS 160 +3~79 Question!

Yes, CD & Big Mac. In about 10 minutes, now :-D Thanks for your speedy reply.

I'll test him and report right back here. Then we'll see what's next.

Thanks for helping me :mrgreen: Still so new to this.
 
Re: 1/26 Moses PMPS 160 +3~79

beautiful. :smile:

I did test Lucy a lot, but I kind of had to (drama kitty). I think it created sleeping problems for me that I still haven't gotten over a year later, so I understand your dilemma. I'm not one who can get up and easily fall back asleep, so I either stayed up, or snoozed on the couch with alarms set. If I got in bed, I was done. And now I still stay up way too late and am always sleep deprived.
 
Re: 1/26 Moses PMPS 160 +3~79

Oooo, I green for Moses. Believe me Erica, Webber got his first green and I freaked out. I will be watching for the next BG. I am new but I wouldn't crack open the HC yet.

ETA - I meant to say "oooo, a green for Moses".

:RAHCAT
 
Re: 1/26 Moses PMPS 160 +3~79 +3.5~62

Okay.... it's 62 half an hour later....is this the danger zone? Since it's still decreasing?

I need to stay up for a little bit anyways for work.... but ya, it's starting to worry me.

Please give me the go ahead to feed the HC if this is getting too dangerous... I'll keep posting...

Definitely can't go to bed like this. Knowing my cat's decreasing and not sure where it ends.... nailbite_smile
 
Re: 1/26 Moses PMPS 160 +3~79 +3.5~62

Erica - test again in 15 minutes. Report back and if it is still dropping try to give him a little gravy from some HC. Is he eating any LC right now?
 
Re: 1/26 Moses PMPS 160 +3~79 +3.5~62

Also - edit your first post subject to something like "eyes please" or "HELP!"
 
Re: 1/26 Moses PMPS 160 +3~79 +3.5~62

Oh good!!! As I submitted my last post I was thinking "Where's Moses?" cuz he was sitting in his testing chair. And I walk to my room thinking "oh please, don't be sick under the bed, hiding" and I heard chomp chomp!

And he appeared in the doorway, licking his chops after a good snack snack of his LC Evo. *sigh* yes!

I'll test again in a bit, ha!
 
Re: 1/26 Moses PMPS 160 +3~79 +3.5~62

Good to hear. From what everyone else has said they know to eat when they BG goes low. Good boy Moses. You are doing great Erica.
 
Re: 1/26 Moses PMPS 160 +3~79 +3.5~62

Thanks for your concern Paige! I was getting super concerned myself. Seeing Moses snacking totally chilled me out. I'll still test.

You're awesome, thank you! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/26 Moses PMPS 160 +3~79 +3.5~62

This is what it is all about.....pay it forward. I am a newbie too. :mrgreen: However, I have seen Nicole go through this quite a few times. SHe is a pro now and I learned from her.

edited to remove my redundant "however's"
 
Re: 1/26 Moses PMPS 160 +3~79 +3.5~62

I think you figured out that you don't need HC in this range. I will go with LC when Gabby is in the 40s and MC in the high 30s BUT, I know how Gabby responds. If you feed HC in the range where Moses' currently is, you will abort the cycle and you'll ever know whether he earned a dose reduction. You are doing great! You're monitoring how his numbers are moving. A few bites (1 - 2 teaspoons) of LC to feed the curve is good.
 
Re: 1/26 Moses PMPS 160 +3~79 +3.5~62

You are really doing terrific!! Moses, did you get jealous of Moonie's green today?? Just go gently green..Yes, since he's eating on his own, when you are ready to go ni ni, leave out lc food for him..Cats will eat when they feel themselves drop..Have good green night! Good work!
 
Re: 1/26 Moses PMPS 160 +3~79 +3.5~62

I about to go ni ni myself. Hope to see you report back that everthing is good.
 
Re: 1/26 Moses PMPS 160 +3~79 +3.5~62

Thank you everyone for your responses. This can be stressful, but I'm glad we can share it together.

So, Moses just ate another snack before this +4 test (53). 53 doesn't feel great to me, but Moses is sure doing great. He ate his snacky and went romping around the upstairs ready to play and chasing his tail! Waking everybody up!

Then he had another snack and is now snug on his spot in the red chair. Taking a bath as a matter of fact... I don't think his last test reflects his snacks, but he seems quite good.

He's got tons of LC leftovers which he can snack on tonight. I think he'll be okay. Whew!

I think it's safe to call it a night. I'll have to wrangle that Moses to bed, now that he's energized :lol: And I'm spent! Bye!
 
Re: 1/26 Moses PMPS 160 +3~79 +3.5~62 +4~53

Happy to hear he is still eating. Would it be possible for you to get one more test in 15 minutes to make sure it is responding and not still dropping?
 
Re: 1/26 Moses PMPS 160 +3~79 +3.5~62 +4~53

I agree with Paige, I would either get another test in 1/2 hour, or if you need to go to bed then feed some HC to bump him up a bit (then test in 1/2 hour to be sure it worked). You want to be sure the drop has slowed.
 
Re: 1/26 Moses PMPS 160 +3~79 +3.5~62 +4~53

Ya, I can. It's so strange! B/c he seems to be feeling better, but his numbers continue to decrease by -10 every half hour. I will try again. Wonder when those snacks will catch up?

He's actually naping on the red chair. Not before I stick him! I'll be back in a flash.
 
And 63 is the final number folks! The final number for the Moses' Dance of the Sugars dancing_cat

The next showing number will be in about three and a half hours! Cue the curtain, we're going to bed.
 
You did a great job Erica!!! See you in the morning. Be a good boy Moses and don't surf any lower to the ground. :mrgreen:
 

Attachments

Thanks Paige! Thanks CD & Big Mac! Sweet dreams and thank you all who helped me tonight!

All these responses will add up to a nice calm peaceful night ahead. I can't thank you enough.

Goodnight! I-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top