4/25 Abby PMPS 237

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kristin and Abby (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

Though it didn't look like it initially, last night's 1u must have been a furshot. She just has so much hair! I'm trying to do better. I'm thankful for the support you guys have provided even in the short time we've been back. I'm hopeful the lil girl convinces her neighbor Mr. Pancreas to start cutting his own lawn again; until then I guess she's hired me to help!

I hope everyone has a great day. My work schedule is nuts here for the next couple days so I may end up missing shots but there's not much I can do.

May the blue and green waves be with you all!
 
Re: 4/25 Abby AMPS 250

Hi guys ... sorry to hear about the possible furshot, but this mid yellow isn't such a bad start to the day .. hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 4/25 Abby AMPS 250

So I've alluded to some crazy hours coming up...and I'm looking for suggestions on how to best not fall totally behind with Abby's shots. Assuming I wanted to keep shooting 1u and be conservative, I see 3 different shot timing options (I normally get her @ 7a/7p):

7aM, 7pM, 7pT, 7aW (+12, +24, +12)
7aM, 3aT, 4pT, 7aW (+20, +13, +16)
7aM, 7pM, 4pT, 7aW (+12, +21, +15)
other options?

Basically I'll be at TBP from 3a-4p (at least) Tuesday. I can't do anything less than conservative because there's ZERO way I can stay home to monitor in case she drops out.

Suggestions are welcome!
 
Re: 4/25 Abby AMPS 250 - Shot scheduling question

can't answer your scheduling question . . . but on the fur shot - this sounds really ridiculous, but punkin has orange fluffy long hair and the hair near his skin is the same color as his skin. i was having a terrible time even seeing to shoot him. someone suggested blowing to part the hair - that helps a lot. i also bought a *nerd warning* headlight from REI and it has made 1000% difference in being able to see to shoot him. if you're desperate enough, maybe that would be helpful to you.

after i bought it i mentioned it to friends and 4 of the 7 women in my quilting group OWNED one for camping that i could've borrowed. maybe if you put it out there among your friends you can find one.
 
Re: 4/25 Abby AMPS 250 - Shot scheduling question

Thanks Julie. That's a good suggestion. I usually have the capped needle in my mouth while I'm trying to wrangle a good tent but I'll try this and see how it works. And you're right, better light might help too.
 
Re: 4/25 Abby AMPS 250 - Shot scheduling question

that's a crazy schedule!

Of the options you listed, the first one seems simplest. It's just skipping one shot, right? You could always test when you get home at 4pm and if she is high, just go ahead and shoot. Her shed will probably lend a hand, too, and she might not go as high as you think she will. You never know!
 
Re: 4/25 Abby AMPS 250 - Shot scheduling question

The first thought that comes to mind is there a vet tech or someone who could lend you a hand with shooting?
 
Re: 4/25 Abby AMPS 250 - Shot scheduling question

Tell me about it Libby! If you happen to be up at 4am and turn on The Weather Channel and see a blonde running around in the background desperately trying to stay out of the camera shot while fixing stuff....that'll be me!! The crazy schedule is just temporary while we launch a new system...hopefully :)

Sienne, that's a good idea about the vet tech. Unfortunately (or fortunately) they all know her to be quite the handful though; I'm not sure how easily I'd convince one of them to take her on unassisted. It's too late to make it work this go-round though anyway. She has a regular cat sitter for when I'm out of town but again, she is a handful to medicate.

But yes, the 1st option is simplest and is just missing one shot tomorrow morning. I'm leaning toward that one myself unless anyone else has other suggestions? I'm all ears!!
 
If it's any consolation, Gabby will not let anyone test her except me -- and I mean anyone. My first petsitter was a feline veterinary nurse from the all cat vet practice I use. She was great. She couldn't get near Gabby to test her. In fact, she made it hard for the nurse to give her a shot. One of the vets lived a couple of blocks from me and between the two of them, all Gabby did was hide a poop in a corner she was so upset. She moved and the current vet tech that sits for me has better luck with shots but Gabby has made it very clear that testing is out of the question. Gabby can be a bit of a diva.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top