4/29 Tommy +12 93, 12.5 94,PMPS 134,+1 179, +2 217,+3 310

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lauren&Tommy (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo
Hello LL ~O) ~O)
I'm seeing a little into the future today :lol: for Tommy and he's wearing yellow(antijinx, antijinx)
So far a little better start to the morning, We'll see what Tommy thinks about his new dose!
Have a great day all ;-)
Squirrel & Tommy
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy +11 334

I'm hoping there's yellow in Tommy's day today, as well -- on his SS, not just a sunny sky.

Here's a link to the cubes. They came highly recommended by several members here (Cyn/Cosmo, Libby/Lucy). Gabby loves them. Giz will play in them but Gabby really loves them.
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy AMPS 375, +2 344

Hi guys ... Tommy, you need to come down .. you don't want to mess up your bean's vision for the future do you?? Plus, pink really isn't your color silly!! Have a great weekend guys!
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy AMPS 375, +2 344, +5 159

Apparently Tommy didn't get the memo about what i was seeing for the future today ( at least not on paper.) :lol:
He is choosing to forgo the sunshine and swim in the blue waters for now. Which of course is just fine with his bean.
Go figure!! @-)
Well back out to continue mowing our property... The sun is shining here in the mid west today.
I hope all of you that have been without power are no longer in the dark..
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy AMPS 375, +2 344, +5 159 Go Figure!

the kitties lead the dance, don't they? the beans trot along behind them trying to play catch up! go tommy go!

enjoy your sunshine - how fabulous!
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy AMPS 375, +2 344, +5 159 Go Figure!

Tommy's looking gooood!! Blue looks good on a man cat :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy AMPS 375, +2 344, +5 159 Go Figure!

You guys crack me up.. :lol: :lol: :lol: . Just getting ready to go test.. Lets hope he's at least somewhere in the lower floors this time..
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy +2 344, +5 159, +7 128, +8 112 Go Figure!

112??? :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Love it!
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy +2 344, +5 159, +7 128, +8 112 Go Figure!

Yeah, that's the right number, i'm trying not to get too excited because i'm sure he's trying to find a way to throw me that Bouncey thingy that i hate so much... :lol: :lol:
For now, the bean is a very happy bean :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy +2 344, +8 112, +10 102

102? and I wasted my wowser on a 334? I want my wowser back to use it now on the little blue 102!

WOWSER!​
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy +2 344,+8 112,+10 102, +11 112

Julie, have you given any thought to becoming a comedian? I have some serious :lol: :lol: going on right now.. Yes you may take back your first Wowser and use it for the 102..I'm trying real hard to enjoy these numbers, wasn't it you that said earlier today you were waiting for the other shoe to fall?
I say how about everybody just keeps their dang shoes on and we all just enjoy what our kitties are doing for us today.. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy +2 344,+8 112,+10 102, +11 112

:lol: :lol: :lol:

check out loose lips today for a pic of punkin and his nanner . . . you want one for tommy, even if you and he don't know it yet! mannie is The Nanner King and he told punkin about the nanners. they have super strong catnip in them. punkin loves them. i called our local independent pet store and, feeling stupid, said "i'm looking for catnip bananas that are apparently really strong catnip." the guy knew all about the bananas. they cost around $7.
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy +2 344,+8 112,+10 102, +11 112

dancing_cat Oh yea! Look at Tommy go. You must be so happy. He's responding very well. Isn't it cool how when one of the 'difficult' cats does something positive, everybody cheers for him/her? It makes me feel so good. I know you must too. Keep up the good work. Gus is giving me another hard time. @-)
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy +2 344,+8 112,+10 102, +11 112

interesting...

do you have lots of high carb food and test strips on hand?
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy +2 344,+8 112,+10 102, +11 112

Libby, yes it is and yes i do..
I wasn't sure if you were over in this neck of the woods. I sent you a short p.m on my thoughts.. let me know what you think if you get time.
Good interesting? Or......
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy +10 102, +11 112,PMPS 93

hmmm, inconvenient time to do the double dip, Tommy... Probably this is shootable (for most cats it's fine to shoot a surf, but it somehow just seems different at 11 units!), but I would rather wait for him to go up a bit. Can you stall without feeding? Sorry Tommy. We just need to wait until he starts to go upward.
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy +10 102, +11 112,PMPS 93 Stall, no food?

He was kinda fidgety on the first pm test which was 73, so i tested again, 93, decided to go with that one.. Question being again, I can't feed him when his numbers are going down and i'm stalling right? Just want to make sure. He hasn't eaten since +5..
I would like to know can i give him a little bit of his pure bites chicken treats? should i give him some HC (and how much if i can) so i can get his number up a little ( My goodness I never thought i would ever, ever say that)..
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy +10 102, +11 112,PMPS 93 Stall, no food?

Julie, no he hasn't had those tests yet.. Have you had them done on Punkin, Just curious to know what you found out if you did..
And Yeah,, Libby is here..
Thanks julie for coming by.
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy +10 102, +11 112,PMPS 93 Stall, no food?

Sure i can stall, remember i just did this the other day. :-D Advisable, probably not if i want to keep my limbs.. :lol: :lol: But i will resist for Tommy's sake. Can he have any of the pure bites chicken treats. When is the right time to give a little help with HC to bring numbers up so you can shoot..
I've heard that done here but i don't know the circumstances behind it.
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy +10 102, +11 112,PMPS 93 Stall, no food?

I was just making sure, I know you and i went through this just the other day and he couldn't eat.. Thought maybe the rules had changed.. :lol:
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy +10 102, +11 112,PMPS 93 Stall, no food?

chicken treats should be fine, just a little as a testing treat. No, don't feed HC now. You don't want to artificially inflate the number with food. If you feed HC and that bumps him up and you shoot, then he might drop when the HC wears off (and then when the insulin kicks in you might be in trouble). It's better to wait until the number starts to rise naturally, without food.
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy +10 102, +11 112,PMPS 93 Stall?

Cool then, I will wait and give Treats only when testing. Test every 30min like the other day until i feel comfortable with a number to shoot at right.?
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy +10 102, +11 112,PMPS 93 Stall?

sounds like a plan. Hopefully it won't take long.

I guess the green the other day wasn't a fluke!
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy PMPS 93, 12.5 94

I just have to know, (anti jinx) what happens if he stays here for most of the night, or is there no chance of that happening. Is there a cutoff time where you just don't give the Pm shot or you shoot a drastically reduced amt just to have some in him?
He seems to be very happy on this floor. We were just playing for a bit after he had his test.
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy +12 93, 12.5 94

We usually only stall until +14. So by then, you should decide what to shoot....either his regular dose, a BCS (.25u less) or skip if he drops. You have to decide if you feel comfortable in shooting this surfing number. If he's still around this at +13, see what you think...can you monitor closely tonight? Last time he shot up but it was in the morning and who knows what else was going on :-D You just don't want to shoot a number that drops from this one.
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy PMPS 93, 12.5 94

With a high dose cat, deciding to shoot or skip is usually kind of a gut-check decision. For most cats, if they surf for very long then you can just go ahead and shoot and monitor. Usually Tommy goes up after he eats, so most likely he would maintain that pattern. However, because we don't know for sure whether he is acro or not, I'm just a little hesitant about having you shoot green late at night. If you get stuck and need help, there might not be anybody here to be with you.

FYI, since the "acro" question mark is there, if you ever do have trouble controlling low numbers, don't hesitate to reach for the high carb food and even syrup if you have to. All cats are different - Jazzy responds well to low carb food, but I've seen other acros who need a whole can of gravy to stop a drop. Just keep that in mind, for future reference.
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy +12 93, 12.5 94, +13 134

I think i feel comfy giving a full dose now. I hope that was a true reading. I'll feed, shoot, get a +1, +2 and go from there. Sound good.. Am I learning Libby?
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy +12 93, 12.5 94, +13 134

I'm not Libby but you're doing great. And....I've never gotten to say this so forgive me, Libby because no one says it like you, but..... Squirrel....SHHHHOOOOOOTTTTT!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
I'll be around for quite a long time so will keep checking in so Libby can go to bed.
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy +12 93, 12.5 94, +13 134

you're doing great - SHOOOOOOOT! That's a good rise, and +1 will tell you for sure which way he's going.
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy +12 93, 12.5 94

Marjorie and Gracie said:
We usually only stall until +14. So by then, you should decide what to shoot....either his regular dose, a BCS (.25u less) or skip if he drops. You have to decide if you feel comfortable in shooting this surfing number. If he's still around this at +13, see what you think...can you monitor closely tonight? Last time he shot up but it was in the morning and who knows what else was going on :-D You just don't want to shoot a number that drops from this one.

Just a clarification, the +14 thing is mostly for the bean's convenience more than the cat's. By +14 the shed is usually starting to deplete, plus you still have a couple more hours until onset, so +14 is about as long as you want to wait before shooting. Obviously if they are still very low or dropping at +14 then skipping can be a good option, mostly because most of us can't afford to get off our schedules more than that. Otherwise most of the time +14 is time to shoot.

Another clarification, BCS isn't necessarily 0.25 less. It is whatever dose makes you feel comfortable. For a cat with an 11 unit dose, reducing by 0.25u likely wouldn't even be noticed. Actually I have learned that Jazzy's 11 unit shed takes more than one cycle to respond to changes, so BCS doses aren't a great option for her at all (and honestly I don't believe in BCS doses for most cats anyway, but that is a topic for another day!). Reducing the dose would have very little effect, if any, so if you're not comfortable shooting full dose then the best option might be to skip and force the shed to start draining. Before taking my word for it, try it sometime because Tommy might be different. I did some experiments with Jazzy and learned that shooting a BCS gave me the same results as shooting full dose. Skipping gives me almost the same results too sometimes. Crazy stuff.
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy +12 93, 12.5 94, +13 134

You guys, I can't tell you how much it means to have you here with me tonight. You know you don't have to. You all need to sleep too.
Marjorie, thanks for the :lol: :lol: :lol:. You did Libby justice..
And yes, Libby go to bed. Thank you for your guidance and staying up while we went through this again..
I hope i didn't wait too long to dose to where he gets up there again.. Staying on the blue floor would be nice.
Julie, Moral support would be cool, thank you.
Marjorie please do check in, that would be nice.
I'll try not to have many more questions tonight.. I will ask though, if the numbers behave, it will be safe to go to bed after +3 maybe..? I-)
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy +12 93, 12.5 94, +13 134

what? you wanna know now about something in 3 hours from now? just teasing . . . but probably you gotta wait and see where he is at +3.

all this week i've been getting up in the middle of the night to test. it sucks, but it's not every night forever and ever.

i set my phone alarm - but when i thought i slept through it night before last, in fact, i had it set for 12:30pm instead of am. it went off yesterday at lunch! if you set an alarm, check that am/pm thing!
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy +12 93, 12.5 94,PMPS 134

i set my phone alarm - but when i thought i slept through it night before last, in fact, i had it set for 12:30pm instead of am. it went off yesterday at lunch! (did you instinctively grab the monitor and the test strips :-D)
if you set an alarm, check that am/pm thing! :lol: :lol: :lol:

I know having the future told to me was kind of a long shot. I was hoping maybe to get an answer so you can go to bed. I-)
I've slept through some alarms the past couple of weeks, not by forgetting the am/pm thingy but i'm guessing not loud enough ringtones.
You know you don't want a ringtone that puts your heart into CA but you also don't want to play mozart and not wake up at all. I can't seem to find one that accomplishes this task.
I think we have some good numbers with Tommy right now. I'm going to go test here in about a half and hour.
Goodnight Julie!
Smooches to Punkin! (Happy mouseeee dreams sweet baby)
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy +12 93, 12.5 94,PMPS 134, +1 179

majorie and i are both in the pac time zone - it's only 9:30 here. i know i'll be up for at least 2 more hours and will see if you post. sounds like tommy's on his way back up and is fine.
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy +12 93, 12.5 94,PMPS 134, +1 179

Libby: thanks for clarification on stuff. I had seen on several other condos that a BCS was typically .25u less so I'm glad you corrected me on that. It may be another one of those things that kind of gets stated on one condo and then carried forth to others but it was only for that cat in that instance. Thanks!!

Looks like his +1 has a nice food spike....that's great!! I'll definitely keep checking in. Julie is right...we are both pacific time and I'll be up at least until 11:30 PDT....watching the wedding on TIVO! Keep in mind that +1 can show a food spike and then onset, depending on the kitty, can be between +2 and +3 so that's when you also need to be testing and watching. I'll check back in at about 10:30 PDT or so....as it looks like your +1 was about at 9:30 our time.

Good shooting!!
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy +12 93, 12.5 94,PMPS 134,+1 179, +2 217

Julie, your up in GOD'S country, Oregon is a beautiful State.. The scenery is breathtaking, I wish it wasn't so far away.
Marjorie,parts of AZ as well are amazing. They have that small attraction that millions of tourists come to every year, what's it called, oh yeah, THE GRAND CANYON!! :lol: :lol: well you must be enjoying some heat already huh? At least it's a dry heat. Awesome golf courses in parts of Az.
Well it's still nice that you guys are keeping an eye on us. I do hope that i didn't shoot too late that he's gonna jump up there again.
He's rising pretty slow. That's good thing yes?
JSYK: I was only an hour off with dosing tonight, which put it at 10pm CST.. +1~11pm, +2~12am.. etc..You may have thought it was closer to the half hour mark as i did not post for about 15 min after i dosed. Sorry about that. I think i'll be safe to go night night if the +3 is still on the rise a bit..We'll see..I'm pretty tired right now but i don't know if i can sleep, my brain is going but my body says, Please, no more tonight ;-) and i just might be getting slap happy, my husband thought i was on something right before he went to bed.. @-)
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy +12 93, 12.5 94,PMPS 134,+1 179, +2 217

it looks like he is on a nice little curve upwards - usually by +3, I would know if punkin was headed up or down. i just don't want to advise you because of the whole acro question - don't want to give you bad advice.

if you aren't certain, you could set an alarm to get up at +5 and test him, or you could leave out some food for him. i guess this is just a little bit different because tommy hasn't been that low before. i just looked through tommy's ss and, well, if i were you i'd get up and test him again. but i'm the paranoid type!

either way, whatever you decide, i hope you sleep well. tommy did good today!
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy +12 93, 12.5 94,PMPS 134,+1 179, +2 217

I think if he is still rising by +3, you are very ok to go to bed. Bummer when they do that!! I know you must be tired. Always hard when you stall. It is good that he's rising slowly but it would have been nice to see him have a great surf......you both deserve it.

Yes...it is beautiful here; not so warm yet...80s. Incredible golf courses....until Gracie was dx with FD, we played 2-3 times a week.

No problem on the shot time. I'll check back in before I go to bed to see your +3 but looks like it will be a quiet night for you! If you go on and go to bed, sleep tight!

BTW, my dad was from Washington, MO...near St. Louis.
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy +12 93, 12.5 94,PMPS 134,+1 179, +2 217

:-D my dad lived in st louis for a while, my half-sister was born there. he was from kingman, kansas, grew up in winfield. it's a small world!
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy +12 93, 12.5 94,PMPS 134,+1 179, +2 217,+3 31

Oh Tommy....310??? Really???? Guess you just want to get some rest tonight.

Good night Squirrel....maybe he'll come back down again tomorrow.

Night Julie!
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy +12 93, 12.5 94,PMPS 134,+1 179, +2 217,+3 31

My Winfield or is there a winfield Kansas..? Marjorie, Washington, not too terribly far from me at all. My husband and I like to ride our Harleys out that direction sometimes, side roads of course when we can.
Hi you guys.. Tested 15min late.. Julie, there's that example of sleeping right through the alarm.. I had a good one picked out too..
Guess you both can take a break and catch up on some sleep yourselves.
Is that terribly bad that he jumped up almost 100pts in an hour.. He should start to come down in just a little bit. I was really hoping not to visit the pink floor this evening..Julie, if i am awake again before morning i will probably test.. I'm a bit curious to see what he does.
Goodnight to both of you and give your kitties big hugs from me.. :YMHUG: I hope you both have a wonderful weekend. Thank you again
for everything tonight!
Squirrel & Tommy ;-)
 
Re: 4/29 Tommy +12 93, 12.5 94,PMPS 134,+1 179, +2 217,+3 31

i wonder if this is the liver panicking thing that people talk about - when a cat gets lower than they are accustomed to the liver produces hormones that send the Bg higher.

winfield, kansas was where my dad was from.

have a great night's sleep. i've still got another hour. time to go retest.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top