5/3 Willy PMPS 165, +2~352

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stephanie&Willy

Member Since 2011
Hi everyone! I apologize that I have not been able to update on Willy's numbers, especially since we increased his dose, we had a very stressful and hectic weekend. I am trying not to get too excited, but his numbers have never looked to good before! I am a little concerned at the drop (compared to yesterday) and I am going to keep a close eye on him, but I hope this is indicative of things to come!

Unfortunately my DH had a family emergency on Thursday and we had to pack up and go out of state very quickly. We had to take Willy with us. In the rushing and confusion to get on the road, we left Willy's insulin in the fridge. After a minor freak out, we decided on a plan to monitor his BG and call our vet to have a script called in in the morning--- figuring he has probably gone a night without his shot in the past. Willy was such a trooper, but he knew something was missing. The good news is, the place we stayed is completely tiled and he was able to walk on the floor without any trouble! In the past it took him a day or two to adjust to walking and he still had issues. I would like to thank FDMB for the information on neuropathy for this, otherwise we would have never gotten him on B12.

Willy handled the weekend (and the car rides) like a champ, other than a bout of very abrupt carsickness both direction. We rented a car for the drive, and in his defense, I also was car sick. We were concerned about his high numbers once we got home, but figured it was a rebound from all the stress and did my best to get everything back to normal as quickly as possible. We also just had just done an increase, so that might be a factor in the jumping around too. I was expecting 5 days for things to return to normal (it has been 3). I am hopeful that his numbers will stay this nice, but I'm not sure if I should get my hopes up since stress can do strange things. We have always predicted he would probably settle at a dose between 5u and 6u.

I plan to keep a close eye on him because I don't know how low he will dip. Thank you everyone for your support!

AMPS 151
+4 89
+6 61
+7 96
+8 138
 
Re: 5/3 Willy AMPS 151, +4~89, +6~61, +7~96

What a great day for Willie!!

Don't be upset if you see a bounce -- Willie's liver may overreact to the low numbers. The bounce will clear!
 
booooooooooo!!!!! I feel like I jinxed us! I think he might be bouncing? It's nice to see that he can hit green numbers though, when he hit blue for the first time I never thought it was going to be possible. Hitting green could mean he might be able to get off insulin eventually someday maybe, right? Trying to keep it positive!

Willy was stuck in close proximity to the dog when we went out of state (he doesn't much care for the dog either way) so they have a brief bond going on. Willy will be over it in a week or so but it's so cute, the dog came over sniffed then licked his pad (repeated a few times til Willy whapped him on the top of the head) after I did his stick.

Sienne, I read your response to Tracy (and Leo) about the bouncing and it was very helpful to me too. I really appreciate all the help you have been giving us.
 
You didn't jinx a thing! It just takes a while for a cat's body to re-learn what normal BG is. Some cat's do this quickly and some (who shall go nameless), ride the short bus to Liver Training School.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top