5/10 Junior AMPS 189 +6 103 PMPS 144 +4 98 +6 95 +7 91

Status
Not open for further replies.

MauiGuppy

Member Since 2011
Good morning everyone!

Missed you guys! I had a family emergency and was MIA last week but things have stabilized a bit. During this time Junior was kept at 1.5u. This morning he first tested at 133; I was a little suspect and tested him again. He was a little stressed the second time so he's probably somewhere in between. Today I'll be testing him more frequently before I increase his dosage tomorrow.

In other good news, last week I also got a tentative offer for a contractor job. We're nailing down the contract this week so hopefully I can get back to work soon! And hopefully this temp position will turn into a full time position!

Crossing our paws and fingers!
Bonnie
 
Re: 5/10 Junior AMPS 189 +2 233 +4 123 +6 103

Hi guys .. lovely numbers today! I will keep fingers and paws crossed that you get the job! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/10 Junior AMPS 189 +2 233 +6 103 PMPS 144

Thank you Peter!

New question - Should I increase his dose to 1.75 tomorrow morning? He's been at 1.5 forever but his numbers seem to be improving slowly at this level. Thoughts?
 
Re: 5/10 Junior AMPS 189 +2 233 +6 103 PMPS 144 New Question

:lol: :lol: :lol: Binks thinks Junior is a handsome devil!!

best of luck on the job!

celi & binks
 
Re: 5/10 Junior AMPS 189 +2 233 +6 103 PMPS 144 New Question

I'd be curious to see how the PM cycle looks. It's possible that Junior will bounce (that 103 on the AlphaTrack is a 73 on a human glucometer). In which case, you don't want to raise the dose on a bounce. You really need to get some numbers tonight.
 
Re: 5/10 Junior AMPS 189 +2 233 +6 103 PMPS 144 +2 174

Thank you Sienne and Celi! Will be keeping an eye on my little rubber ball Junior!
 
Re: 5/10 Junior AMPS 189 +6 103 PMPS 144 +4 98 Hmmm. Questio

Junior's +4 is 98 on Alphatrak (10pm CST). He's acting like his normal self. Should I be worried that he might hypo tonight? And for tomorrow morning's dosage, how will I know not to give him his 1.5u?

Yikes, this is new territory for me.
 
Re: 5/10 Junior AMPS 189 +6 103 PMPS 144 +4 98 Hmmm. Questio

you should keep testing him tonight until he's had 2 rising numbers and is past the nadir, at least for a couple more hours. if you have to sleep you can set an alarm and get up - but yes, you should keep testing. or i should say that i would . . .

what you can do in the morning is to check him at +11 and +11.5 and post those, asking for advice. with him getting into green numbers tonight it might change things. just post and wait for advice before you shoot.
 
Re: 5/10 Junior AMPS 189 +6 103 PMPS 144 +4 98 Hmmm. Questio

Thanks Julie! Yes, I'll continue to test him tonight.

Also I'm rereading How to treat hypoglycemia and it sounds like Junior falls into Low Numbers/Without Symptoms. If his next reading is lower, should I give him the tablespoon of corn syrup? It sounds like alot of sugar.
 
Re: 5/10 Junior AMPS 189 +6 103 PMPS 144 +4 98 Hmmm. Questio

is he still at 98? because that's 68 on a human meter and that's not low. you don't have to treat until 50's (80's on A track) and I don't give punkin anything in the 50's, only if he gets in the 40's. look at my sig line and it has the link to treating low numbers. it's not hypoglycemic yet, not at all.

basically your process is to test, if junior's under 50 give him a little bit of high carb food (like 1 tsp of the gravy, not the food part) and then wait 15-20 minutes and test again. you repeat that until he's past the nadir and has 2 rising numbers.

i can keep checking with you and help you through it. the first time is a little nerve wracking but i've done it a bunch of times now.

tell me what time you're going to recheck him and i'll check back with you.
 
Re: 5/10 Junior AMPS 189 +6 103 PMPS 144 +4 98 Hmmm. Questio

and a tablespoon of karo syrup is a LOT. you can use that instead of higher carb gravy if you want, but just start with a small dab, like a dime amount. again, not until you have low numbers - which is defined as under 50 on a human meter (80 on a-track).
 
Re: 5/10 Junior AMPS 189 +6 103 PMPS 144 +4 98 Hmmm. Questio

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=33862#p353329

by Sienne and Gabby » Fri Jan 07, 2011 7:52 pm

First, try to not panic. Post to the Lantus Insulin Support Group or on the Health Board. Make sure your subject line indicates you are concerned about a possible hypo and/or add the 911 icon to the first post in your condo. People who are experienced in dealing with low numbers will be there to help. After posting, remember to refresh your browser periodically to see if people have replied.

It’s important to recognize that just because your cat may be experiencing low BG numbers doesn’t mean that your kitty is critically hypoglycemic. Many cats will have low numbers and never have symptoms. It’s important, though, to bring those numbers up into a safe range. ALWAYS make sure you have a stock of test strips, high carb (HC) canned food that contains gravy and is over 15% carb such as Fancy Feast grilled, marinated, or Gravy Lovers varieties (see Janet & Binky's Food Chart for a full list of options), and/or a simple sugar solution such as Karo/corn syrup, honey, maple syrup, etc.

If your cat is experiencing symptoms, especially if those symptoms are severe, you need to rub Karo syrup, honey, or maple syrup on the gums or, if symptoms are very severe, administer rectally and get your cat to the nearest 24-hour emergency facility. Take the bottle of syrup with you to administer on the way if necessary. (Note that it is rare that we see episodes of symptomatic hypoglycemia with Lantus and even rarer to see severe symptoms. But, you need to know what to do should they occur.)

The symptoms to be concerned about include but are not limited to:
staggering, uncoordinated movements, 'drunken' walk, wobbling, balance problems
ataxia - usually lack of muscular coordination, but maybe changes in head and neck movements
disorientation (yowling, walking in circles, etc.)
twitching
stupor
convulsions or seizures
coma
If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)

Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of food with high carb (HC) gravy or HC food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using syrup plus LC food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

In the case of an accidental overdose or should there be symptoms of hypoglycemia, even if you have caught this in the early stages, you may need to monitor for literally 16 or more hours. Lantus and Levemir are long acting types of insulin. This means if your cat is over dose, you will need to stay alert for hours in order to closely monitor and to keep your cat safe.

Please post your numbers. Those people who are helping you will not abandon you. In fact, they are staying up with you. The experienced people will even work in shifts to make sure your cat is safe and you have the support you need. Remember to refresh your browser to see new posts and keep posting so we know all is well.

TREATING HYPOGLYCEMIA – more detailed information on this topic
HYPO TOOLBOX– what to have on hand in case of an emergency
LIST OF HYPO SYMPTOMS – a more complete list of symptoms.
Sienne, Gabby, & Gizmo (& George, GA)
 
Re: 5/10 Junior AMPS 189 +6 103 PMPS 144 +4 98 Hmmm. Questio

Thanks Julie! I love that first part -- DO NOT PANIC! LOL! I got out my hypo kit and have it ready just in case. Karo syrup, FF Gravy Lovers (2 flavors in case he doesn't like one of them), directions printed out to the ER...

I'm testing him at 12:30 CST, in about 10 minutes. He's sleeping like a baby, dreaming sweet kitty dreams. He has no idea what he's putting his bean through!
 
Re: 5/10 Junior AMPS 189 +6 103 PMPS 144 +4 98 Hmmm. Questio

i'm still hanging out for when you get it . . . i just remember how much i wanted someone else to reaffirm what i kinda knew i needed to do. it really does get easier once you've done it a couple of times.

the more often they get down in the undiabetic kitty numbers (50-100 human meter numbers) the more their bodies heal and the better they feel.

heehee, and you do get it right, that i attached that page to my sig line so i could find it when i needed it. it's a bit like sewing mittens onto the end of your sleeves, just in case! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 5/10 Junior AMPS 189 +6 103 PMPS 144 +4 98 +6 95

Julie, thank you for being there for me! What an immense relief to know you're there to hold my hand. Junior tested at 95 so I'm hoping he's leveling off. I'm setting my alarm for the rest of the night to test him (sorry for the pokeys Junior!).

I love this line you wrote: "he more often they get down in the undiabetic kitty numbers (50-100 human meter numbers) the more their bodies heal and the better they feel." Thought being in the green would be exciting --- this is exciting all right!

Hoping for an uneventful night!

THANK YOU JULIE!!!!!
 
Re: 5/10 Junior AMPS 189 +6 103 PMPS 144 +4 98 +6 95

so he's flattening out and surfing in the 90's. awesome. that's great news!

i suspect you could go ahead and just sleep through the night, but it might be nice to check him again in another 1/2 hour. if he's still holding or going up then, i would guess you're good to go.

btw, someone said that most kitties on lantus don't have symptoms when they drop really low. punkin got down to 32, i think, and showed no symptoms. hence we test!

good job handling it all! others held my hand the first time - you'll be helping someone else in another few weeks! ;-) sleep well!
 
Re: 5/10 Junior AMPS 189 +6 103 PMPS 144 +4 98 +6 95

Wow -- 32? I think I'd keel over from a heart attack! I think I'll test him one more time in 20 min (his +7) just to make sure.

Really Julie, thank you so much for all your help. You freaking rock!!!!
 
:lol: :-D well my head is just gonna explode if you keep that up! i'm just paying it back - others sat up with me too. always seems to happen at night, you know!

you're really very welcome - i'm up testing punkin one more time. i thought he was gonna go low tonight, but he hasn't. i gotta wait one more hour though.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top