5/10 Guinness AMPS 396|+2.5 374|PMPS 373|+4 318

Status
Not open for further replies.

linda and guinness

Member Since 2009
Good morning Lantus Land friends!

Still struggling with Guinness not responding. I have an email out to my vet to see if we need to test for insulin resistance at this point. He's very meow-y and hungry this am. Ate his food in less then 30 seconds and was meowing for more. The limiting his food intake is really hard at this point. I really just want to feed him all he wants to eat right now. It's the only thing, aside from scratches from me, that he is getting joy out of...or maybe I am projecting.

Here is our link to yesterday's condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42964
 
Re: 5/10 Guinness AMPS 396

I'm sorry you're having a tough time with Guiness...I hope you get some answers soon.
 
Re: 5/10 Guinness AMPS 396

Oh Linda, don't get discouraged (easy for me to say). Sometimes it just takes more to break through (and it's been said here that the 2nd time on the juice is harder).

It's just my opinion, but if Guinness was here and he was high and unregulated, I would let him eat as much as he wants.

Hugs to you and Guinness
 
Re: 5/10 Guinness AMPS 396

Linda, I really do know what you're going through because I have a cat who seems to think when I give him insulin it's supposed to make his numbers increase. At least one cycle every day that seems to happen. Unfortunately, with male cats especially, being overweight is what contributed to them getting here in the first place. If you feed him too much, it will just compound the problem. I have the same trouble. Champ always wants to eat...he's always been that way and he continues to be that way. When I deny him food, I feel like I'm denying my child and it's very hard. There are times I'll open a can of tuna, fix the tuna for myself, and save the tuna water to give Champ as a snack. I pour a little bit in his food bowl and he thinks its food...laps it up like it's candy...but it doesn't have any calories. You might try that. Also, I notice some people here feed bonito flakes as a snack. I've seen those used on the Food Network on cooking shows, but have never used them myself, and certainly not as a cat snack, but apparently cats love them. I bet they don't have many calories either and would be a good snack to try with Guinness. A lot of times, its the act of eating they want, not so much the actual food, just like overweight people. His numbers aren't so high that he should be ravenous, though when he's in the 400's I'm sure he is hungrier than normal so maybe try the extra low calorie treats then. I hope you find something that works for you because I know this takes an extreme emotional and mental toll on you. Just remember that you're doing everything you can for Guinness and it would be impossible for you to do more. He knows you love him...and he loves you right back!! :-D
 
Re: 5/10 Guinness AMPS 396

Hi guys .. I'm sorry you are feeling discouraged with guinness's numbers .. I hope that you find that break through dose soon, or that maybe the vet can give you some answers .. I hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 5/10 Guinness AMPS 396

Hey Linda,

Let us know what the vet says! I'm also curious why giving so much insulin hasn't brought Guinness down a bit!
 
Re: 5/10 Guinness AMPS 396|+2.5 374|PMPS 373

Increased his dose to 4.5u tonight. This is against normal protocol, so don't copy me. I will be working this pm, but my dh will be home to monitor reaction (which I'm guessing won't be any different then every other day). I will be home at the +4 to test.

No email back from vet yet, I plan to email again and maybe call tomorrow.
 
Re: 5/10 Guinness AMPS 396|+2.5 374|PMPS 373

Believe it or not, Linda, I don't think you're going against the protocol by raising his dose to 4.5u. Because his nadirs are always over 300 (except on a couple rare instances), you should be raising his dose by 0.5u each time you increase. You should wait six cycles (3 days), though, but definitely increase by 0.5u. If you get to the point where his nadirs are greater than 200 but less than 300, then you increase by 0.25u. Looking at his spreadsheet really does make you scratch your head and say "hmmm." Nothing is happening at all with his numbers. They are just consistently yucky. I know you've already spent a fortune having all the tests run so you know it's not an infection or disease process. Ask Sienne, Libby, or Jill what they would do if their cat's spreadsheet looked like Guinness' and they had already ruled out x, y, and z with testing. You might need to change insulins or find out if he is insulin resistant (I know you've talked about this). There are other cats on high doses of insulin, and I'm taking 10 units, so it's possible he just hasn't gotten to the point where the insulin is helping him yet. I have heard that when a cat comes back from the falls that it can be harder to control the second time around. I just wanted to give you my thoughts. I hope something gives pretty soon!!!
 
Re: 5/10 Guinness AMPS 396|+2.5 374|PMPS 373

oh, Guinness, my man...would love to see you hit that breakthrough dose!!

celi & binks
 
Re: 5/10 Guinness AMPS 396|+2.5 374|PMPS 373

Thanks for all the thoughts folks! I've been talking with Libby, Jill and Sienne via PM and we are trying to figure out what might be happening with him. My email to my vet asks about having an insulin resistant test done (1AA I think it's called). I'm not quite ready to take him in for another round of extensive tests (my bank account isn't ready for that either). I haven't heard back from my vet today, so I will probably call her tomorrow. Thanks again everyone!
 
Re: 5/10 Guinness AMPS 396|+2.5 374|PMPS 373

linda and guinness said:
Increased his dose to 4.5u tonight. This is against normal protocol, so don't copy me.
on the contrary, linda. increasing the dose by 0.5u after 4 cycles when nadirs are greater than 300 at the current dose is an option provided in the TR protocol:

Hold each dose for 5-7 days. However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU.
http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm

good luck with the increase!
 
Hey, look-y there...a low 300. Gotta take the positives where I can find them. Calling the vet tomorrow since she hasn't found time to email me back.
 
just cheering you on - i hope you find that breakthrough dose and Guinness comes around soon! i'm sure this is very frustrating for you. hang in there!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top