Re: 5/13 Willy AMPS 132
I was really worried/anxious I was going to get scolded for increasing Willy's dose without telling my vet, but once I explained the protocol I was following (with printouts!) she actually seemed eager to learn about it. I pointed out some stuff on his chart such as his bouncing and I explained my goals clearly and she seemed very supportive. I worked myself up over nothing, GAH!!!
I got a copy of his blood tests from February (Feb. 4) but I don't know what they mean. All the tests are normal but he has high eosinophils, absolute eosinophils, high albumin, and low platelet. High BG was 374 on this test and his fructosamine was 603. He's doing so much better now than he was then thanks to the help of all the wonderful people here!!!
She doesn't suspect hypothyroidism because it came back normal when he was first diagnosed and it would be unlikely to change. His teeth are also fine (according to her notes). They have some staining but she noted they were actually pretty clean. She recommended some sort of food, its prescription and low carb/calorie but it is dry (Hills prescription T/D). I told her I'm not comfortable giving him *any* dry and I might just need to find a spray or toothpaste to use. The dental was a good thing, we just loaned someone a substantial amount of money so we would have had to scrape together to get it done (until they pay us back).
I asked for a pen prescription. She gave me a prescription for 3 of them (lol). Assuming I can get a pharmacy to sell one at a time, can they be kept unopened in the fridge? If so, for how long? Once I begin using the pen do I keep it out or in the fridge?
My interview went great! I was basically told over and over that because I am a woman and I have a college education, I can expect to be hired at a higher level and if I don't suck at basic things (like showing up to work) expect to be promoted in 3 months or less because there is a DIRE need for "intelligent" women in supervisory roles if they don't hire me at a higher level in the first place. The guy that interviewed me was pretty awesome and told me what to say when I meet with the hiring manager.
My DH is done with school! Yay!! We get to spend the weekend together!! We haven't had time together in over a month because of how busy he has been with school. He came into finals week with a slightly lower grade than he had wanted in 2 classes because of a family emergency putting him behind, and rather than giving up (like he used to do) he worked his tail off to get everything done/turned in/etc. and he knows he didn't do well on 2 of his exams but he actually tried rather than giving up. I am SO PROUD OF HIM!
EDIT- Googling all his blood test results, it seems like he was most likely dehydrated when this test was done. Since this test I have been adding lots of water to his food so hopefully that is helping. The high Eosinophils seem to be indicative of an infection. The low quantitative platelet is scary!... he has platelet clumps though, so most likely it's nothing.