5/14 Guinness +1R 324|+2R 334|+3R 265|+4R 332|PMPS 344

Status
Not open for further replies.

linda and guinness

Member Since 2009
Good Morning,

I think I am planning on trying the Humulin R on Guinness today at his +6. I have to wait and see what his +6 holds. Last night he dropped into the high 200's at his +5, so he may do the same today. If that happens, I may hold off. I can only do the Humulin R on the weekends when I am here to test frequently.

I understand that the Humulin R is a fast acting/quick shedding insulin that is suppose to give his BG readings a little nudge, but what is it doing for him in the long run? Is it supposedly jump-starting his pancreas? is it suppose to shock him out of insulin resistance if he is that? Is it a short-term fix or a long term fix?

Lastly, any thoughts about how I can properly measure out .10u on my syringe would be helpful. I do have syringes with the 1/2 until marks, but it won't seem to matter at this amount. is there some number of drops I should squeeze out from 1.0u that equal .10u? It's been so long since I measure such minute amounts that I've forgotten how.

Thank you all for your help. I'm a little nervous proceeding with this for some reason. :?
 
Re: 5/14 Guinness AMPS 358|+3 353 How do I measure .10u?

Hi Linda....Don't have a clue on the R.....I know that there have been some posts that showed the micro dosing....but I can't seem to find them right now.
 
Re: 5/14 Guinness AMPS 358|+3 353 How do I measure .10u?

There's a picture guide in the Sticky Note. Yemala's going through an OTJ trial and her SS shows that she's getting a drop. I'll see if she can stop by your condo and provide some insight.
 
Re: 5/14 Guinness AMPS 358|+3 353|+5 300

Thank you for the links re: micro dosing. I found the sticky and feel comfortable that .10u is the plunger touching the bottom of the 0 line.

Unsure whether to proceed today with the R. His +5 is at 300 so it really is just a matter of seeing where his +6 is. His M.O. is to respond initially to the dose increase and then readjust and keep the numbers high as the dose settles in. I'm nervous to shoot the additional R, but since he starts to climb back up at +6, it should be ok. Plus I'm here to monitor and have my handy dandy Hypo kit ready.

My +6 will probably look like this:

Test (over 300, shoot 0.1u of R)
Feed (his normal 10:30am meal is at this point)

Test (+1), (+2), (+3) & (+4) to see how he is responding to the R. The poor cat is going to have sore paws and a lot of chicken in his belly.
 
Re: 5/14 Guinness AMPS 358|+3 353|+5 300

Linda - I'm the bean for Yemala, who got a drop shot the last week or so she was on Lantus. I don't know what other advice you've gotten, but the photo stickies showing microdoses really helped us a lot. Should you have to go down to a single drop, this is what we did.

I pulled a full unit of insulin into the syringe. Standing over the sink, I squeezed out one drop at a time, while counting, until the syringe was entirely empty and nothing else came out. I pulled another full unit in, then counted down until one drop remained according to my count from before. You can check out Mala's SS to see our numbers while we did that.

Good luck to you, and feel free to drop me a note if you have questions. I'm not hugely experienced, but I've been where you are.
 
Re: 5/14 Guinness AMPS 358|+3 353|+5 300|+6 298 (R)

Leave it to Guinness to test 298 at +6 when I am being told to shoot him with the R if he's still in the pink. I went ahead and shot him with the R anyways. I will be here to monitor for the +1,+2,+3 & +4 and I am prepared for any sudden drop.

Thank you Yemala's bean for the information about dosing, that drop counting idea is very helpful. I compared my syringe to the up close shot of one that had 0.1u and felt pretty good about the dose. I decided to shoot him in the scruff this time since I've been shooting the Lantus in his side near his belly. It was such a low dose, I wanted to be sure it went in and feel more confident with the scruff/shoulder blade shot.

I'm going to post the first half of the day's numbers here, so that I can clear his status line and start fresh with the R readings:

AMPS 358
+3 353
+5 300
+6 298 (R)
 
Re: 5/14 Guinness AMPS 358|+3 353|+5 300|+6 298(R)

Linda, good luck with R for Guinness.. It really has helped out Tommy when he's needed it.. And just from my experience with the dosing, You're doing terrific.. :-D I hope you see some good numbers come of it..
I know you were worried about the paws being sore, From what i was told, you only need to test at +4 if the +3 is lower than +2.. Just to keep an eye if he keeps going down..
Very nice steady drop with numbers.. :-D :-D
 
Re: 5/14 Guinness AMPS 358|+3 353|+5 300|+6 298(R)

linda and guinness said:
I understand that the Humulin R is a fast acting/quick shedding insulin that is suppose to give his BG readings a little nudge, but what is it doing for him in the long run? Is it supposedly jump-starting his pancreas? is it suppose to shock him out of insulin resistance if he is that? Is it a short-term fix or a long term fix?
my favorite R analogy from jojo:

"picture R as the scout, it goes forth into the BG jungle with it's little machete and cuts a path for the lev to ease on down. so the lev can go further cause it is not getting hung up on the pesky BG undergrowth"

she was talking about levemir, but the same applies with lantus.
 
Re: 5/14 Guinness AMPS 358|+3 353|+5 300|+6 298(R)

Good Luck Linda. I'm rootin for you and hoping Guinness comes down nicely for you!
 
Re: 5/14 Guinness +1R 324

AMPS 358
+3 353
+5 300
+6 298 (R)
+7 (+1R) 324

324 at +1R, not exactly what I expected. Guess we will see what is happening at +2.
 
Re: 5/14 Guinness +1R 324

linda don't be discouraged if you don't see the R pulling down numbers. first of all, it's too soon in the R cycle (+1) and second, 0.1u of R may not touch his numbers. we start everyone at 0.1u of R and work up the dosing scale if needed. because R is powerful it's safer to start out with such a tiny dose. collect the data. i'm sure libby will be around to comment later.
 
Re: 5/14 Guinness +1R 324|+2R 334

AMPS 358
+3 353
+5 300
+6 298 (R)
+7 (+1R) 324
+8 (+2R) 334

Again, not what I expected, but I understand that the 0.1u might be too small for him to make a difference.
 
Re: 5/14 Guinness +1R 324|+2R 334

good luck today! i was just going to add that you can always practice the measurement with colored water and an old syringe to not have to waste your insulin.
 
Re: 5/14 Guinness +1R 324|+2R 334|+3R 265

AMPS 358
+3 353
+5 300
+6 298 (R)
+7 (+1R) 324
+8 (+2R) 334
+9 (+3R) 265

Since his +3 is lower than his +2, we will be back for a +4. He's fat and happy today (except for the sore paw), since he's getting so many testing treats.
 
Re: 5/14 Guinness +1R 324|+2R 334|+3R 265

there's the drop... glad you'll be getting that R+4!

eta: if the R+4 is lower than the R+3, you'll want to get an R+5.
 
Re: 5/14 Guinness +1R 324|+2R 334|+3R 265

Thanks Jill. I assumed that's how is was going to go. Good thing I've got plenty of laundry to do today!
 
Re: 5/14 Guinness +1R 324|+2R 334|+3R 265

ha! you and me both! figure i'd hang around here today and get some of this stuff done.
 
Re: 5/14 Guinness +1R 324|+2R 334|+3R 265

Nice Job Linda!

That, "R" scares me too and I'm not yet comfortable using it but may need to in the future! I will keep an eye on your boy's SS!
Your such a good mommy!

Good Luck!
 
Re: 5/14 Guinness +1R 324|+2R 334|+3R 265|+4 332

AMPS 358
+3 353
+5 300
+6 298 (R)
+7 (+1R) 324
+8 (+2R) 334
+9 (+3R) 265
+10 (+4R) 332

And now, I will give his paw a rest until PMPS in a couple of hours.
 
Re: 5/14 Guinness +1R 324|+2R 334|+3R 265|+4R 332

Denne,

How are you doing? I haven't seen a condo for Smokey lately and was wondering how he was doing with the Hyper-T meds. Keep us posted!
 
Re: 5/14 Guinness +1R 324|+2R 334|+3R 265|+4R 332

Way to go, Linda!!! First cycle of R under your belt! whewww. I'm going to be following Guinness' numbers closely because I want to see how this works for him. I'm rooting for your both!! :-D
 
AMPS 358
+3 353
+5 300
+6 298 (R)
+7 (+1R) 324
+8 (+2R) 334
+9 (+3R) 265
+10 (+4R) 332
PMPS 344

I have to assume that his PMPS would be higher today if he hadn't of had that little shot of R. Where do we go next. Do we do it again (I can't monitor as closely this PM). Do I wait and see if he bounces off of that 265? Libby, when you have time to comment on today's events, I would greatly appreciate it!
 
If I have to give him the 0.1 at +6 and then test up until the R +4, I can't. But if I can give him the R now (it's 30 minutes since his PM shot) or at his Lantus +1, then I probably could. Isn't that risky to give it to him with the Lantus shot in case they both bring him down together?
 
it's fine to give R at PS (numbers permitting) because it will nadir and be gone before the Lantus nadirs. To start with, I usually suggest not giving any R between about +2 and +7 of the cycle. Once you have more data, you might find that it is ok to give Guinness R at different times, but not yet. For today, giving 0.1 at PMPS should be safe, as long as you can monitor. I wouldn't give any at +6 tonight because you'll want to sleep!
 
you can do it now, if you want to. If not now, then I would probably wait until tomorrow. If Guinness's onset for R is around +3, as it looked on today's first cycle, then giving R at +1 might start to run into his Lantus onset.

If you want to take a break from it tonight, that's fine too. You did a lot of tests today, which is GREAT and very helpful! But it might be hard to keep going at that pace for 4 more hours.
 
I think I will hold off tonight and think about giving it to him tomorrow. Do you think I should piggy back it on his AMPS or should I wait until the +6 again and go from there? If I do his AMPS, I will not be around for the +4, but could get a +4.5 potentially. Hopefully, this will be the last question out of me tonight!
 
AMPS tomorrow should be ok, if he is pink. If he's lower than pink, then I wouldn't give R at the beginning of the cycle until we have more data.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top