5/19 Guinness 413(.25uR)|+2.5R 402|PMPS 376(6u Lantus/+.25)

Status
Not open for further replies.

linda and guinness

Member Since 2009
Good Morning all Lantus Vampires! I'm starting to feel like a vampire these days...I wonder if Guinness feels like Sookie?

Well, this morning started off with an unattractive 413 at AMPS. Based on what I understood of my discussion with Libby yesterday in my condo, I shot him with .25u R. I can only get a +2.5 before I head off to work, but I'm really sure he's not going to fall green anytime soon.

I plan to up his dose to 6u this pm and will decide or ask about adding more R at that time. So be prepared experts! :-D

Here's my link to yesterday's condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=43594

Thank you all who stopped by and gave such nice, encouraging words and support. There are several reasons why I stay positive with this situation. #1, Guinness was lucky to wander into our lives and we have pulled him and his brother, Harp from the brink of death many times. I cherish every minute I have left with him and have finally accepted that they won't be here one day, so I'm trying to enjoy NOW as much as I can and that involves staying upbeat about his care. If this is what is going to do him in, then so be it, but I won't give up on him without a fight! #2, Everyone here has so much going on with their kitties and lives too. I'm trying to remember that I'm not the only one struggling with this, there are real people on the other side of this magical light box trying to cope and survive just as I am, some have even more going on. Lastly, you all are so nice, you make it easy to stay positive.
 
Re: 5/19 Guinness 413 (.25uR)

Hi guys ... yeah that 413 isn't looking to hot this morning .. but you never know! He's got all day to surprise you .. That is so true we only have our furbabies for a little while and we must enjoy them and love on them as much as we can in that time .. you really are doing great, even though I know this is very frustrating .. hang in there guys!
 
Re: 5/19 Guinness 413 (.25uR)

Good morning Linda & Guinness! Not to great of a start, but I'm sure he will turn it around for you today.

Thank you for writing what you did. I too sometimes forget that there are a lot of us going through this. It is so easy to get discouraged, but, since finding this group, I have been much more hopeful than before. We only have them for a short time, but they mean the world to us and will really be with us forever.

Hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 5/19 Guinness 413 (.25uR)

You put my thoughts into the perfect words. You've also been a source of great support for many others, not just me. Fight on!!
 
Re: 5/19 Guinness 413 (.25uR)|+2.5R 402

I can only hope he is on his way down for the day since this is his +2.5. I won't be home until his PMPS to test again, so I will just have to hope for the best.

Libby: I will be giving him a dose increase to 6.0u tonight at PMPS (4:30pm PST)Should I still follow the R sliding scale you gave me last night in conjunction with his dose increase tonight or should I skip the R? I will be able to test a +1, no +2, no +3 and then a +4.5 (I work on Thursday nights).
 
Re: 5/19 Guinness 413 (.25uR)|+2.5R 402 Libby Question

i don't want to chatter up your condo, but do want to second what you said. great attitude, and it's the only way to go. why worry about tomorrow's troubles before they are here? all we can do is cherish the days we have with those we love. let tomorrow's troubles wait for tomorrow. woot. :-D
 
Re: 5/19 Guinness 413 (.25uR)|+2.5R 402 Libby Question

I also second that emotion. It's like a mantra in my head..."Don't worry about what hasn't happened yet." I think we've all surprised ourselves with how strong we are and how able to cope with adverse situations. And you do make me laugh, Linda. Love your sense of humor! :-D
 
Re: 5/19 Guinness 413 (.25uR)|+2.5R 402 Libby Question

I also want to thank you for your great attitude. :smile:

I agree with increasing Guinness's dose tonight. Depending on the number, some R should be ok. He'll be filling his shed tonight anyway. For most cats it's the 2nd or 3rd cycle of a dose increase when you see the action, if there is going to be any action. Sometimes for higher dose cats it takes longer (bigger shed to fill).
 
Re: 5/19 Guinness 413(.25uR)|+2.5R 402|PMPS 376(6u Lantus/+.

Increased his dose to 6u of Lantus this evening and added .25uR to it. I will take a +4 if I can.

Received an email back from my vet who wanted to take some more time to think about my questions, but just wanted to back to me. She did want to remind me that Guinness' ultra-sound showed a slightly inflamed pancreas, so he could be dealing with pancreatitis. He just doesn't have any symptoms of that, so I'm not convinced (I know they mask their symptoms, but I can read my cats pretty well I know when they are "off" and he doesn't seem to be off in that type of way). She mentioned she could do a PIL test for his pancreas, but they sometimes result in a false negative (isn't anything definitive with these creatures?). I have been reading that sometimes infections in the body can make the pancreas inflamed, but I don't know what could be infected in him. I think she mis-read my question about his post dental x-rays, saying that yes he had full mouth x-rays, but she didn't say "post" so I have to confirm about that.

Anyone out there dealing with a pancreatic cat that doesn't show any symptoms? What's the plan of action with a cat like this? Will his BG's ever get under control? We are still moving forward with the Insulin resistance test and the acro test just to rule those out, but I really don't know when that will happen.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top