5/20Willy AMBG47|14.5~61|15~107|16~149|PMPS399|+2~375

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stephanie&Willy

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's Condo

Yes, 58 is correct. I took it 4 times from 4 different paws. I am really worried about him now because I don't know what he BG was last night... I should've gotten up to check on him but I thought with an almost 300 reading before I went to bed that he would be ok... :oops: :cry: :sad: Trying to get a hold of DH to see if Willy was ok this morning when he left etc.

Holy Cranky Kitty, Batman!

Willy is NOT PLEASED today. He did not come to wake me up today, but he was waiting for me to get up in the hall (where he proceeded to start yelling at me the moment I had sat up).

He was giving me warning meows (gonna bite.... gooooonnna bite) when I was taking his BG. I really don't think animals are resentful but I'm rethinking that after what just happened. Willy knows it's food time, but with his BG I'm trying to stall... he's really upset about it. He's following me around yelling at me. He just walked over to the top entry litter box (homemade, not one of those clever cat ones that are TINY), looked straight at me, and pooped outside it.

Summary of today so far:
12~58
+15~52
+30~54
+45~60
13~61
+15~55
+30~47
FED NO SHOT

DOSING QUESTIONS (taken from below):
Do I give his shot at his normal PM time since I DID NOT give his AM shot? Will the dose tonight be based on his PM numbers or do I shoot his normal dose if his pre-shot numbers are "normal"? Has he earned a reduction?
 
Re: 5/20Willy +12~58 Stalling

Hi Stephanie.....are you comfortable with all that is going on or have any questions? You didn't feed right? Hopefully he'll start up here soon and you can shoot. How long can you stall and be able to work towards getting him back to his normal shot time?

Just as a thought, since you don't know whether he was coming down or going up, if it were me, I'd get a +1 and +2 to see where he's headed. Exciting, eh????!!!

eta: on my paper....one has to subscribe to the NWN to see the articles so I'll see if I can attach it to a PM and send it to you Monday when I'm back in ...if you're interested...but no worries.
 
Re: 5/20Willy +12~58, 12.15~52 Stalling

Have not fed yet. Retested (twice) after waiting 15 min (12hr 15min) and he's 52. :?

I can stall however long is needed... having to adjust his shot times is fine if they get super out of whack, especially since it's a weekend!



And, I would love to read your paper! I
 
Re: 5/20Willy +12~58 Stalling

I'd get another test in 15. These numbers are really the same, could just be meter variation, one more to be sure. Will you be able to monitor if you do shoot?
 
Re: 5/20Willy +12~58 Stalling

I can't give much in advice, but we've done the stalling dance a lot lately- what i can say is keep calm, keep testing regularly, and Willy will let you know what to do. We spend a whole bunch of time trying to control their blood sugar, but times like this, they are in the drivers seat, and we are just here for the ride. As long as you are ready to go for whatever he throws at you, you'll be just fine :)
 
Re: 5/20Willy +12~58 Stalling

Yeah! I'm home all day today. What's a good number to aim for? I was thinking around 80 or is that way too low (I wouldn't shoot that low if I couldn't test him constantly)?
 
Re: 5/20Willy +12~58 Stalling

Stephanie.....what are you comfortable with? The best thing, if you are comfy with it, is to shoot AS SOON as you see the number start up. Keep in mind what Ann said about meter variance.

If you aren't comfy with that, then yes, you can shoot when he gets to 80. Sometimes when they start up, they go up fast...you want to take advantage of carryover and hopefully he'll just keep cruising in nice numbers.
 
Re: 5/20Willy +12~58 Stalling

Willy is at a pretty high dose, so i would want to see a considerable bump up. I'm not an expert though. And, I'm sorry I'm going to have to leave in a few minutes. Marge, will you be around?

Usually you have 3 options:
  • -Stall and retest every 15 minutes without feeding, up to 2 hours
    -BCS, reduced dose
    -Skip the shot
 
Re: 5/20Willy +12~58 Stalling

Hi guys .. no dose advice here but wanted to say go willy! Nice looking numbers, but no biting your beanz ok? I know it's hard not to feed when they know it's time and don't beat yourself up for not getting up last night .. he's ok :-D Have a great day!
 
Re: 5/20Willy +12~58 Stalling

Ann & Tess said:
Willy is at a pretty high dose, so i would want to see a considerable bump up. I'm not an expert though. And, I'm sorry I'm going to have to leave in a few minutes. Marge, will you be around?

Usually you have 3 options:
  • -Stall and retest every 15 minutes without feeding, up to 2 hours
    -BCS, reduced dose
    -Skip the shot

Thank you for sticking around! I really appreciate the support!
 
Re: 5/20Willy +12~58 Stalling

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Stephanie.....what are you comfortable with? The best thing, if you are comfy with it, is to shoot AS SOON as you see the number start up. Keep in mind what Ann said about meter variance.

If you aren't comfy with that, then yes, you can shoot when he gets to 80. Sometimes when they start up, they go up fast...you want to take advantage of carryover and hopefully he'll just keep cruising in nice numbers.

If I knew how long it would be til he was heading up I would be comfortable shooting now because (as you said) they can go up fast (and he does!). I will wait until I see any sort of an increase. Should I continue to test at 15min intervals or would less be better?

Thank you everyone for being here with us right now!


He is SO MAD at me right now!!!
 
Re: 5/20Willy +12~58, +12.5~54 Stalling

Stephanie,

I'm really sorry, I can't stick around to help you...my DD has a doctor's appt, and I'm heading out momentarily.

Tess has given you good info about your choices. The lowest you have shot is 111, and he is on a relatively high dose, so I would suggest waiting for a decent rise before shooting....I would not shoot in the 50s and count on him rising. I would want to see an 80 or so. If/When you do shoot, please get a +1 and +2 to start out.

Keep testing every 15 minutes.

I'll peek in later...
 
Re: 5/20Willy +12~58, +12.5~54 Stalling

Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
Stephanie,

I'm really sorry, I can't stick around to help you...my DD has a doctor's appt, and I'm heading out momentarily.

Tess has given you good info about your choices. The lowest you have shot is 111, and he is on a relatively high dose, so I would suggest waiting for a decent rise before shooting....I would not shoot in the 50s and count on him rising. I would want to see an 80 or so. If/When you do shoot, please get a +1 and +2 to start out.

Keep testing every 15 minutes.

I'll peek in later...

Thank you!
 
Re: 5/20Willy +12~58 Stalling

ann and marge totally have you covered on the good advice.

keep testing keep testing keep testing (yes you will have a cranky kitty).

- We have very different doses and very different bg levels so I'm not saying shot at the #s we did- but you can see the examples of when #s will surf and then dip, it applies in the reverse too, so keep testing. We always stuck with 15 min intervals.:

This was PM 5/4 for us:
@ 12 52,
@ 12.25 56
@ 12.5 55
@ 12.75 57
@ 13 51
@13.25 39
 
Re: 5/20Willy +12~58, +12.5~54 Stalling

I'd test every 15 minutes and you can give him freeze dried or boiled chicken treats when you test. That might make him a little happier. I sent a PM to Sienne to get a set of more experienced eyes on the scene.
 
Re: 5/20Willy +12~58, +12.5~54 Stalling

I'm here...I had to just step off for a minute to test Gracie. I'll be here for another hour or 1-1/2 hours so I can hang with you.

Ann has been around longer than me and she suggested you let him go up some due to his dose. It is your decision but you must have plenty of HC around and lots of test strips. If you want to be uber cautious, once you shoot, you can even do a +.5 to make sure he's still going up but absolutely must get a +1 and +2.
 
Re: 5/20Willy +12~58|12.5~54|12.45~60 Stalling

we have lots of HC and I just opened a new container of (50) strips. My DH is all worried now. He can leave work to come home or bring me stuff if I need him to.

He's so mad at me!! He actually BIT ME! He's never bitten me for real before other than the time I tried to brush him and the time I tried to take his BG from his ear. :lol:

If I can learn how to use the IMG link I will post a picture of him...

Thank you everyone for being here with me. I like.. know.. what to do but it's completely different when you actually have to do it. Having everyone here around is keeping me grounded and I appreciate it.
 
Re: 5/20Willy +12~58|12.5~54|12.45~60 Stalling

I have no advice but wanted to let you know I am thinking about you! Hang in there. You are doing great!!1
 
Re: 5/20Willy +12~58|12.5~54|12.45~60 Stalling

just wishing you luck - i'm running out the door too but you seem to know what to do and have it under control.

willy, stop gnawing on her! :lol:
 
Re: 5/20Willy +12~58|12.5~54|12.45~60 Stalling

226816_10150196114303645_672543644_7284407_6263069_s.jpg


229490_10150196113613645_672543644_7284404_7116035_s.jpg
 
Re: 5/20Willy +12~58, +12.5~54 Stalling

Hi Stephanie,
I'm not an expert and you are the one who knows your kitty, but if I were you, I would not shoot numbers in the 50s and would wait until he is quite a bit higher (100??) to shoot something (maybe a reduced dose). You haven't ever shot anything even remotely close to the 50s. Willy is getting a big dose, and it looks like you might be seeing shed action here. If Willy were my kitty, I would be inclined to skip the shot and feed him. His shed will carry him through.
Please bear in mind that this is opinion, not advice!!
Good luck with whatever you wind up doing!

Ella & Rusty

p.s. In the time that it took me to look at your SS and write this, you have gotten lots of eyes on your dilemma. Consensus seems to be: keep testing and don't do anything drastic! Sorry I can't be of more help. When Laurie gets back she'll have advice, as will Sienne, if Ann was successful in getting in touch with her.
 
Re: 5/20Willy +12~58|12.5~54|12.45~60 Stalling

I am glad Laurie checked in and told you the same thing as Ann so they would like you to let him come up quite a bit before shooting. We all learn something every day!! He seems to like this surf right here. I'll keep checking in....hope his ears are doing ok. Sorry he bit you!! WILLY!!!!
 
Re: 5/20Willy +12~58, +12.5~54 Stalling

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) said:
Hi Stephanie,
I'm not an expert and you are the one who knows your kitty, but if I were you, I would not shoot numbers in the 50s and would wait until he is quite a bit higher (100??) to shoot something (maybe a reduced dose). You haven't ever shot anything even remotely close to the 50s. Willy is getting a big dose, and it looks like you might be seeing shed action here. If Willy were my kitty, I would be inclined to skip the shot and feed him. His shed will carry him through.
Please bear in mind that this is opinion, not advice!!
Good luck with whatever you wind up doing!

Ella & Rusty

p.s. In the time that it took me to look at your SS and write this, you have gotten lots of eyes on your dilemma. Consensus seems to be: keep testing and don't do anything drastic! Sorry I can't be of more help. When Laurie gets back she'll have advice, as will Sienne, if Ann was successful in getting in touch with her.

Thank you for your help, I really appreciate it!!
 
Re: 5/20Willy +12~58|12.5~54|12.45~60|13~61 Stalling

There is no hard and fast rule about how long you stall. It seems many people, by +14, decide to just skip the shot if the kitty isn't up but that is more for the bean and getting so far off schedule then it is for the kitty. It does look like he's got alot of shed action going here.

IF you decide to skip a shot, please be sure and ask Laurie and/or Sienne about his dose. He didn't go below 50 but I don't know if skipping a shot has some bearing on dose.
 
Re: 5/20Willy +12~58|12.5~54|12.45~60|13~61|13.15~55 Stallin

Still @55... :roll:

I don't mind stalling as long as needed or doing whatever would be best in this situation... I just wish I knew what it was! He's seems pretty bent on staying in the 50s! :lol:
 
Re: 5/20Willy +12~58|12.5~54|12.45~60|13~61|13.15~55 Stallin

You can give it until +14 and decide if you want to stall longer or not; if he drops below 50 I would most definitely skip, feed, and then monitor to make sure he is coming up.
 
Re: 5/20Willy +12~58|12.5~54|12.45~60|13~61|13.15~55 Stallin

Marjorie and Gracie said:
You can give it until +14 and decide if you want to stall longer or not; if he drops below 50 I would most definitely skip, feed, and then monitor to make sure he is coming up.

He dropped to 47. I am going to skip and feed.

Thank you everyone. Will keep testing and updating often.

DOSING QUESTIONS TO COME!!
 
Re: 5/20Willy +12~58|12.5~54|12.45~60|13~61|13.15~55 Stallin

Stephanie....you just need to test enough to know he's coming up and staying up. He has a pretty full shed; they can't hypo without the insulin BUT D'Artagnan went into the 20s on a skipped shot so they can keep sliding back down on a full shed...it's probably a good idea to keep him above 50 even without the insulin.

Once you know he's headed up and staying up, you can give him a testing break but be sure you pick back up later in the day so you know what he's doing around +9 or +10 in preparation for his PMPS. I suspect he may come up but maybe not. I always like a little advance notice :lol: :lol:

Great job. Have a super day.
 
Re: 5/20Willy +12~58|12.5~54|12.45~60|13~61|13.15~55 Stallin

The food will help to bring him up. Give him several smaller meals, not one huge meal. You don't want "scarf 'n barf" !
Nice job today , Stephanie! Now, since you skipped the shot, you will be able to get him onto a schedule that will fit in with yours.

Ella
 
Re: 5/20Willy +12~58|12.5~54|12.45~60|13~61|13.15~55 Stallin

THANK YOU EVERYONE FOR YOU HELP, SUPPORT, AND JUST CHECKING IN ON US!!!

We really appreciate it!!!


Marjorie and Gracie said:
Stephanie....you just need to test enough to know he's coming up and staying up. He has a pretty full shed; they can't hypo without the insulin BUT D'Artagnan went into the 20s on a skipped shot so they can keep sliding back down on a full shed...it's probably a good idea to keep him above 50 even without the insulin.

Once you know he's headed up and staying up, you can give him a testing break but be sure you pick back up later in the day so you know what he's doing around +9 or +10 in preparation for his PMPS. I suspect he may come up but maybe not. I always like a little advance notice :lol: :lol:

Great job. Have a super day.

I will make sure to keep testing. I am going to get a +.5, a +1, and a +2 for sure. I may toss in a few more between those numbers depending on the reading (for my own sanity) or after if he's not rising much. If he's good at +2 I will probably check on him at +6 and then later on +9 and possibly +11. He doesn't mind being tested unless he's grumpy because he's hungry.


Now for some dosing questions:
Do I give his shot at his normal PM time since I DID NOT give his AM shot? Will the dose tonight be based on his PM numbers or do I shoot his normal dose if his pre-shot numbers are "normal"? Has he earned a reduction?
 
Re: 5/20Willy +12~58|12.5~54|12.45~60|13~61|13.15~55 Stallin

Stephanie, at this point I would have skipped, too. Poor Willy must be starving :lol: :lol: You should put "Dosing Advice?" or question in your header so one of the experts can give you advice before the next shot. A 47 may mean a reduction. Ann left an hour ago for the studio, but you had lots of good help. Job well done! :thumbup

P.S. You can shoot at the normal PM shot time. Discuss the dose with the experts.

John
 
Re: 5/20Willy +12~58|12.5~54|12.45~60|13~61|13.15~55 Stallin

Well done, Stephanie! Just saw all the excitement.

The other consideration with stalling is that it throws off your shooting schedule. It's a problem if your morning shoot schedule is fixed.

As for testing, I know you need to be sure a rising number isn't food induced. I think I recall two rising tests being a kind of "all clear" sign.

I think you can go back to normal shooting schedule after this, but you'll get expert input before then!
 
Re: 5/20Willy +12~58|12.5~54|12.45~60|13~61|13.15~55 Stallin

Stephanie:

Sorry...my thoughts are so scattered today.

1. You can just put AMBG 47 in your subject line and as John suggested "dosing advice"

2. I believe Willy has earned a dose reduction but it's good to verify with more experienced folks.

Have a great day...I'm on my way out. IF he should fall more that is not accountable by meter variance and not come up with his regular food, give him a little HC to get him above 50....again, don't let him surf below 50....better to get him up some.
I'll do one more check in before I leave.
 
Re: 5/20Willy +12~58|12.5~54|12.45~60|13~61|13.15~55 Stallin

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) said:
The food will help to bring him up. Give him several smaller meals, not one huge meal. You don't want "scarf 'n barf" !
Nice job today , Stephanie! Now, since you skipped the shot, you will be able to get him onto a schedule that will fit in with yours.

Ella

Haha he does this anyways!! Always has... actually taught our youngest cat to scarf like him too. It's really really bad. We added a hard rubber ball to his food so he can't fit his whole face in the bowl now and that cuts down on some of his scarfing.
 
Re: 5/20Willy +12~58|12.5~54|12.45~60|13~61|13.15~55 Stallin

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Stephanie:

Sorry...my thoughts are so scattered today.

1. You can just put AMBG 47 in your subject line and as John suggested "dosing advice"

2. I believe Willy has earned a dose reduction but it's good to verify with more experienced folks.

Have a great day...I'm on my way out. IF he should fall more that is not accountable by meter variance and not come up with his regular food, give him a little HC to get him above 50....again, don't let him surf below 50....better to get him up some.
I'll do one more check in before I leave.

Thank you for being here today Marjorie! I really really appreciate it. I will change my subject (I actually had that as you said and changed it) and I will probably add my questions to my OP so that they are easier to find as well. I figure I would get the dosing questions out now so that they have time to be answered and I'm not panicking later!
 
Re: 5/20Willy AMBG~47 Dosing Questions

don't know if it matters to you or not, but the time i had to skip i shot early in the evening - had been wanting to move it earlier and grabbed the opportunity.

wonder what willy's up to with all of this? i'll be curious to see what he does next.
 
Re: 5/20Willy AMBG~47|+.5~61 Dosing Questions

I know right? Once all the guys settle down and I feed myself I am going to check the house for kitty puke. I haven't seen any thus far and I don't think it's the case but it would be a good thing to know.

I have been considering moving him up an hour... it might be a good opportunity if I'm allowed :lol:
 
Re: 5/20Willy AMBG~47|+.5~61 Dosing Questions

1. Because there was no AM shot, you can shoot your PM shot whenever you like so it suits your schedule.

When I was shooting my kitty in 2008, I had to delay so often and the schedule was so wacky that the day shot eventually became the evening shot, hahaha! But I didn't have to leave the house to go to work so I didn't really care what the schedule was.

2. And the 47 means a decrease for newly diagnosed kitties (less than a year since dx.) Willy still qualifies as newly dx (by the skin of his teeth. :-D )

You are doing great!
 
Re: 5/20Willy AMBG~47|.5~61|1~107 Dose Questions

Oopsie...one more admin:

If you don't shoot and you have an AMBG like you show, then the tests after reflect the amount of time from when you should have shot.

SO instead of +1, it would be +15 if it was three hours after you should have shot. Sorry about that...should have told you...my bad. I suggested you get tests at +9 or +10 because I knew you would know exactly what time that was and didn't want to confuse you by saying get them at +20 or 21. Now did I totally confuse you??

And you're welcome. FD does take a village :-D :-D
 
Re: 5/20Willy AMBG~47|+.5~61 Dosing Questions

CD and BigMac said:
1. Because there was no AM shot, you can shoot your PM shot whenever you like so it suits your schedule.

When I was shooting my kitty in 2008, I had to delay so often and the schedule was so wacky that the day shot eventually became the evening shot, hahaha! But I didn't have to leave the house to go to work so I didn't really care what the schedule was.

2. And the 47 means a decrease for newly diagnosed kitties (less than a year since dx.) Willy still qualifies as newly dx (by the skin of his teeth. :-D )

You are doing great!

Thanks! I'm home a lot of the time so the shot time can be whenever is best for him for the time being. It's been really convenient for working out his dosing and such. :lol: I think I might take this as an opportunity to move his time up, then!
 
Re: 5/20Willy AMBG~47|.5~61|1~107 Dose Questions

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Oopsie...one more admin:

If you don't shoot and you have an AMBG like you show, then the tests after reflect the amount of time from when you should have shot.

SO instead of +1, it would be +15 if it was three hours after you should have shot. Sorry about that...should have told you...my bad. I suggested you get tests at +9 or +10 because I knew you would know exactly what time that was and didn't want to confuse you by saying get them at +20 or 21. Now did I totally confuse you??

And you're welcome. FD does take a village :-D :-D


NUMBERS ARGH!!!!!
 
Re: 5/20Willy AMBG~47|14.5~61|15~107|16~149 Dose Questions

Sorry, Stephanie -- I just picked up your PM.

CD gave you just the info I would have. I'm glad she was around to lend a hand.
 
Re: 5/20Willy AMBG~47|14.5~61|15~107|16~149 Dose Questions

Thank you for responding Sienne!! Willy was very very angry at me but he's doing really well.

Willy has been receiving 5.50u, would the appropriate dose be 5.25u tonight or would it be something else? There was mention of a dose following "no shot" possibly being different.
 
Re: 5/20Willy AMBG~47|14.5~61|15~107|16~149 Dose Questions

The dose for tonight would be 5.25u.

There are occasions, like when a cat is racing down the dose ladder that the decrease may be a bit bigger. For Willy and for tonight, I think the 0.25u reduction, based on the protocol, is the way to go.
 
Re: 5/20Willy AMBG~47|14.5~61|15~107|16~149 Dose Questions

You did a great job today, Stephanie!

I am speaking as someone who gave high-carb food to Kitty's first score of 70. :oops: Okay, NOW it's funny. :lol:
 
Re: 5/20Willy AMBG~47|14.5~61|15~107|16~149 Dose Questions

Willy is less grumpy now... we're going to use this as an opportunity to move his time up a bit :lol:

Thank you for everyone that responded with support, advice, and answers.
 
Re: 5/20Willy AMBG~47|14.5~61|15~107|16~149 Dose Questions

He'll probably love to have the FUD earlier!! Hoping he had a nice surf today, Stephanie.

I'm off to bed soon. Ni ni....great job today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top