5/22 Guinness +11(+2R)296|PMPS (+3R) 278|+3 367|+6 309(.1uR)

Status
Not open for further replies.

linda and guinness

Member Since 2009
Good Morning Lantus Friends!

Guinness seems to be doing well this morning. I'm happy to see him in the mid-300's rather than the 400's. It's not much, I know, but it's something. I'm going to be trying to get a ketone test today and do some "R" experiments. Wish me luck!

Planning on taking a long day trip next week and found out my pet sitter can shoot insulin, but doesn't know how to test. I figured with Guinness at this level of BGs, it would probably be better to have him shot blind, then skip the shot. Unless something dramatic happens between now and then, that's the plan.

Well, have a great day all!
 
Re: 5/22 Guinness AMPS 348 (.1uR)|+2R 359

It is so nice to see Guinness is on the middle of the third floor. We take our victories wherever we can!!!

I hope you have a nice relaxing Sunday!!!
 
Re: 5/22 Guinness AMPS 348 (.1uR)|+2R 359|+3 348

Linda you are so right, baby steps are better than no steps at all.. You're doing great, it will just take some time.. Is there any way you can teach your sitter how to test before you leave on your day trip next week?

Good luck with the R today :-D
 
Re: 5/22 Guinness AMPS 348 (.1uR)|+2R 359|+3 348

i think the mental factor of shooting insulin is a lot bigger than testing - i'd sure try to teach her to test. you just never know if they are going to throw you a surprise in there.
 
Re: 5/22 Guinness AMPS 348 (.1uR)|+2R 359|+3 348|+6 284 (.1u

AMPS 348 (.1uR)
+2R 359
+3R 348
+6 284 (.1uR)

I'm really not sure my pet sitter will be able to test Guinness. I will ask her when she comes to pick up our key, but I'm not going to pressure her. I would be greatly surprised if Guinness threw in some fantastic number after a PM shot with no R, but a lot can happen in a week, so I will play it by ear. My husband has a heck of a time testing him because Guinness trusts no one but me. He's not a very social cat and has decided that I am the only one who can poke his paw, sneak up behind him while he is peeing, stick a needle in the side of his belly. We will see.

Liking his +6 number today. Planning to get a +1, +2, +3 and possibly +4 R reading after shooting .1u at +6. I may shoot another .1u of R at +9 to try a little experiment (per Libby's thoughts yesterday). Unfortunately, I will be shooting PMPS and running out again this evening, but will be home by +3, so that should work.

Hope everyone is having a fabulous Sunday. Just got back from our local Farmer's Market with a bounty of fruits and veggies and am drinking a fresh-squeezed mimosa as I type this. It's my 45th Bday tomorrow, so I've decided to celebrate early! I hope Guinness will give me a fantastic present of low (but not too low) BGs and negative ketones. What more could a diabetic cat owner wish for?
 
Re: 5/22 Guinness AMPS 348 (.1uR)|+2R 359|+3 348|+6 284 (.1u

I'd love to be drinking mimosas with you celebrating your birthday!!!! I'm glad Guinness is being a good boy today. Give you a bit of a break :-D
 
Re: 5/22 Guinness AMPS 348 (.1uR)|+2R 359|+3 348|+6 284 (.1u

Can we just make it a party and all have Mimosas together.. My birthday is next Friday... We've got Geminis all over the place...of course Lucy's a cat, but hey still a gemini..
Linda, what exactly entails a fresh squeezed mimosa? I know i've had one or 3 but do they come in diff flavors, do you spice them up a bit?
I say we all toast to progress, which we've all seen over the past month and to the kitties who endure the endless pokies all for the sake of getting better.. drinking24
Not bad numbers today Guinness.. Keep on coming down for your bean ok!
One more thing, do i recall you mentioning a while back that Guinness absolutely will not allow you to poke his ears? I forget..
 
Re: 5/22 Guinness +6 284 (.1uR)|+7 (+1R) 307

AMPS 348 (.1uR)
+2R 359
+3R 348
+6 284 (.1uR)
+7 (+1R) 307

Yes, mimosa's all around! Happy early birthday to you Squirrel! Gemini's rule, but sometimes they don't, now they do, now they don't ...it's like we have a split personality or something :lol:

The OJ (not OTJ, but orange juice) in the Mimosa is fresh squeezed from oranges I got from the farmer's market today. Makes for a MUCH better Mimosa. I also add a splash of POM Pomegranate juice which makes it this lovely pinkish orange color and is good for me too! If I could share with you all, I would. There's nothing I like better than sitting around on a sunny day, drinking a cocktail and hanging out with friends!

As far as the ear poking goes. He's just not on board. I have been trying to touch, hold and massage his ears while we prepare for the paw poke to get him used to it, but he always pulls away and shakes his head. We have such a set routine with the paws, it would be really hard to change. Lately, he's only presenting me with one paw, so it's starting to get calloused and harder to get the lancet through. I've started using the smaller pads, which seem a little more sensitive, but actually bleed better. I know if we keep this up for long term, we are going to have to come to some sort of agreement in regards to the ears. I'm guessing if there is enough chicken involved, he'll submit. For now though, this works for us, and I'm sticking to it (no pun intended)!

Here's virtual Mimosa for you all! Happy birthday all the May birthdays out there!
Mimosa-recipe.jpg
 
Re: 5/22 Guinness +6 284 (.1uR)|+7 (+1R) 307|+8 (+2R) 273

AMPS 348 (.1uR)
+2R 359
+3R 348
+6 284 (.1uR)
+7 (+1R) 307
+8 (+2R) 273

Maybe, maybe I will re-shoot R at +9 depending on his # and then test up until PMPS.
 
Re: 5/22 Guinness +6 284 (.1uR)|+7 (+1R) 307|+8 (+2R) 273

Linda: nice to see he's coming down!!! I'm excited for you to be able to take a trip and hope your petsitter is comfy shooting for you.

Tomorrow is a work day which is always crazy for me so if I don't make it on tomorrow, then I wish you a VERY HAPPY BIRTHDAY, you youngster!!!

Farmer's market sounds wonderful and so does the mimosa....just wondering where the champagne was in your recipe? Oh...missing! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Have a great day!
 
Re: 5/22 Guinness +7(+1R)307|+8(+2R)273|+9(+3R)318(.1uR)

AMPS 348 (.1uR)
+2R 359
+3R 348
+6 284 (.1uR)
+7 (+1R) 307
+8 (+2R) 273
+9 (+3R) 318 (.1uR)

Piggy backed new R on top of old waning R at +9 to see if we could keep his numbers from climbing too high for PMPS. Will get +10, +11 and then PMPS, shoot 6.5u (probably no R) and then test again at +3. Have to run out to the grocery store now and get back before +10!!
 
Re: 5/22 Guinness +7(+1R)307|+8(+2R)273|+9(+3R)318(.1uR)

AMPS 348 (.1uR)
+2R 359
+3R 348
+6 284 (.1uR)
+7 (+1R) 307
+8 (+2R) 273
+9 (+3R) 318 (.1uR)
+10 (+4R/+1R) 306

Bought some raw chicken livers at Henry's today for testing treats, but am rethinking it. They are Foster Farms brand and I think they give their chickens a lot of antibiotics and stuff and since I think that stuff is processed by the liver, they might not be that great for Guinness...although, I did give him one after his +10 and he nearly bit my fingers off trying to get at it.
 
Re: 5/22 Guinness +7(+1R)307|+8(+2R)273|+9(+3R)318(.1uR)

AMPS 348 (.1uR)
+2R 359
+3R 348
+6 284 (.1uR)
+7 (+1R) 307
+8 (+2R) 273
+9 (+3R) 318 (.1uR)
+10 (+4R/+1R) 306
+11 (+2R) 296

Just one more poke and his paws get a little rest for a few hours. The plan is to just shoot the 6.5u Lantus and no R at PMPS. If at +6 he is high, I may shoot some more R.
 
Re: 5/22 Guinness+10 (+4/+1R) 306|+11(+2R)296|PMPS (+3R) 278

AMPS 348 (.1uR)
+2R 359
+3R 348
+6 284 (.1uR)
+7 (+1R) 307
+8 (+2R) 273
+9 (+3R) 318 (.1uR)
+10 (+4R/+1R) 306
+11 (+2R) 296
PMPS (+3R) 278

Shot 6.5u Lantus at PMPS, plan to get a +3 and +6 before letting the poor cat take a paw poking rest.
 
Re: 5/22 Guinness+10 (+4/+1R) 306|+11(+2R)296|PMPS (+3R) 278

linda and guinness said:
Gemini's rule, but sometimes they don't, now they do, now they don't ...it's like we have a split personality or something
:lol: :lol: :lol: So true. My husbands birthday is on June 5th and some times i swear there are 6 of us living in this house when there's really only 2!!

Linda, been away from the board for a while today.. I want a real mimosa.. not a virtual mimosa, but thank you for the thought and for sharing. That sounds just delicious. I must try that. I like pomegranate very much. and thanks for the early Birthday wishes. You as well :-D
You did much better than i today, I messed up and didn't give R to tommy at his +6 of 298 and now he's paying for it. 516@+9. I really thought he would come down from that bounce on his own. Last night green and now black.. I must have some consistency here :lol: :lol:

Nice job today handling the R and the pokies.. Goodness it would be so much easier on you both if he would just offer up an ear for you.. Poor baby!
 
Re: 5/22 Guinness +11(+2R)296|PMPS (+3R) 278|+3 367

AMPS 348 (.1uR)
+2R 359
+3R 348
+6 284 (.1uR)
+7 (+1R) 307
+8 (+2R) 273
+9 (+3R) 318 (.1uR)
+10 (+4R/+1R) 306
+11 (+2R) 296
PMPS (+3R) 278 6.5u Lantus (No R)
+3 367

Hopefully, I won't fall asleep before his +6, I'd like to see where he's at and possibly give more R for the night.
 
Re: 5/22 Guinness +11(+2R)296|PMPS (+3R) 278|+3 367|+6 309(.

AMPS 348 (.1uR)
+2R 359
+3R 348
+6 284 (.1uR)
+7 (+1R) 307
+8 (+2R) 273
+9 (+3R) 318 (.1uR)
+10 (+4R/+1R) 306
+11 (+2R) 296
PMPS (+3R) 278 6.5u Lantus (No R)
+3 367
+6 309 (.1uR)

Hopefully, that last little drop of R will keep him low tonight. See you at AMPS
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top