5/23 Curry Post Dental DOSE ??? for tomorrow

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tena and Curry(GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday

Well today is D-Day. And Guardian Angel Al (my Day who was an oral surgeon and deceased 17 years) will be watching over Curry's dental today. I do have to say that Dad was great at sugery. I remember he took my wisdom teeth out when I was in college. Now that I look back it was in the month of May. He took them out, I took some tylenol and went to coach a swim team that afternoon. No problems. He had a gift.

All is very well in CurryLand. OMGoodness. I was expecting to awaken to a very high number this morning given the fact that she didn't get her shot last night. Curry gave me an 86 this morning. Ummmm.

She's been "nicer" these last few days....Doesn't seem as cranky. Her numbers have been great since Thursday. What ever caused her WBC to be elevated seems to be resolving itself or just not impacting her numbers. I think something was brewing w/her the last fews months and had began last Feb 2 when I had taken her in after the intercat aggression issue. Her WBC was elevated then but her neutrophil count was elevated and her lymphocytes were trending down.

So she got a little tuna juice w/water this morning. Gonna try and be first in line at the Vetty door this morning so Curry can go first. First come, first serve.

Will give an update later on.
 
Re: 5/23 Curry Dental Day +24-86

Hi Tena, good luck today with Curry's dental, and I know Guardian Angel Al will be watching over Curry. If Curry could be first with the dental, the sooner the better and the faster she can be back home with you. Maggie's lymphocytes were very low, and I've been meaning to ask the Vet about it. What a great AMPS for Curry and with no shot last night. If this is how good she's looking before dental, maybe then... you know what! Hugs.
 
Re: 5/23 Curry Dental Day +24-86

Best of luck on the dental. Your Curry will do well. Sending prayers for an easy day with fast recovery.
 
Re: 5/23 Curry Dental Day +24-86

What a great number for Curry this morning without the insulin! Good luck at the vet and it is nice to know Curry will have a guardian angel watching over her.
 
Re: 5/23 Curry Dental Day +24-86

Good luck with the dental today!
I love your story about your dad taking out your wisdom teeth. I wish I had had such a good experience, but mine were impacted. :sad: And there were only 2, but I ate mush for a week! :lol:

Keep us posted!
 
Re: 5/23 Curry Dental Day +24-86

Good luck Curry! You have a great dental today. It is nice that you have a guardian angel watching over you, he will take good care of you.

What a nice surprise that 86 was this morning. WOW! I can't wait to see what she tests at when she gets home. I hope Curry is first in line, then maybe she can come home sooner. Paws crossed for a fast recovery. :-D
 
Re: 5/23 Curry Dental Update...Good

The Vet called. Dental done. She's beginning to wake up. No extractions. Did X-rays . No other problems. They gave her glucose to raise her numbers for the anesthesia. ohmygod_smile Vet sd her numbers will prob. be elevated this evening. I can pick her up at 5:00. Get home around 5:30.

I'll be home tomorrow until 12:00pm before going back to work.
 
Re: 5/23 Curry Dental Update...Good

YAY!!!! a successful dental - good for Curry! and I know ( :roll: ) on the glucose line - my vet does that too. precautionary she says for diabetic kitties... I hope it doesn't elevate Curry too much.
 
Re: 5/23 Curry Dental Update...Good

Hey that is awesome Tena, and my that was fast. She must have been the first one! I wonder if her glucose was running low for the Vet to give her insulin before the anesthesia? So glad there was no need for extractions. Now you can breathe easy.

Edit: Oops! I meant "running high" for the Vet...
 
Re: 5/23 Curry Dental Update...Good

Hi guys .. so glad the dental went well with no extractions! Looks like her guardian angel did his job :-D I hope that her number's aren't to high this evening and that she continues feeling well .. have a great day!
 
Re: 5/23 Curry Dental Update...Good

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: WHOOO HOOOO Curry has beautiful toofes!!!
So glad it was an easy dental :-D
 
Re: 5/23 Curry Dental Update...Good

I'm so glad everything went well and she's all done!!!! I know you'll get her numbers back on track really fast!

Great report....WHEW!!! Now have a nice day!
 
Re: 5/23 Curry Dental Update...Good

Good luck on the dental! It is so nice to hear that Curry has been in a good mood. Have a great Monday!
 
Re: 5/23 Curry Dental Update...Good

Question: When your kitties have their dental, do they typically get glucose in their IV's? I bet Mr. P got a huge shock when all that glucose came rushing at him this morning.

I might have to skip the shot tonight if I don't get home at a decent time w/Curry tonight. I usually shoot her at 5:oopm and that's when I'll be picking her up. :(
 
Re: 5/23 Curry Dental Update...Good Report

happy to hear the dental went well.....prayers going your way for a speedy recovery Curry!
 
Re: 5/23 Curry Dental Update...Good

Tena and Curry said:
Question: When your kitties have their dental, do they typically get glucose in their IV's? I bet Mr. P got a huge shock when all that glucose came rushing at him this morning.

I might have to skip the shot tonight if I don't get home at a decent time w/Curry tonight. I usually shoot her at 5:oopm and that's when I'll be picking her up. :(

Hi, Maggie has had a couple of dentals, and the Vet has never added glucose thru an IV, to my knowledge. I may be wrong but I understood that anesthesia lowers their bg. Last time the Vet Tech asked me to bring insulin for some reason. Let's see what others have to say. Don't worry as I'm sure they are monitoring her. Let's see what other Beans say that have had dentals done (I mean their kitties having the dental)!
 
Re: 5/23 Curry Dental Update...Good Report

So happy to hear that the dental went well and Curry didn't have to have any extractions!! Yeah for her and yeah for your wallet!! Simon's vet did not add glucose by IV during his dental. He asked me to bring Simon's insulin just in case he needed it. They monitored his bg throughout the procedure and everything was fine and he didn't need the insulin and he didn't go low either. I'm sure Curry will bounce back without a problem and if his numbers are high for a couple of cycles, at least you will know why.
 
Re: 5/23 Curry +36 163 Post Dental Shot Question

Thanks for all support today. It means alot. Whew. Done. We are home.

Curry....what BIG EYES you have!!!

So its her normal shot time is now as we speak......But was told not to feed Curry for another hour. The vet did give Curry glucose. Then I need to give her a little food and see if it stays down. Might just skip the shot tonight since it will be more than an hour past her regular shot time. Ummmmm.

Could shoot 1/2 dose 1.5 hours later....Somehow shooting her full dose right now is a bit intimidating after today and after her numbers were so good this morning w/o any insulin...

Thoughts????
 
Bump

If u shoot late can u make up the time alright tuesday morning?

Scratch that, no shot this morning, so the preshot time change doesnt factor in.
Glad to hear dental went well!
 
Re: 5/23 Curry +36-163 Post Dental Shot Question

is curry eating? because that's important for the whole insulin shot question.

so glad it went well! yay especially on no extractions! what was her BG when you brought her home?
 
Re: 5/23 Curry +36-163 Post Dental Shot Question

It would be 1.5 hours late. Vet wanted me to feed her at 6:00pm tonight...Usually feed her at 5:00pm.

In 25 minutes I'm gonna give her a small amount of food.....thought to see how she does w/that...let it sit in her tummy for 30 minutes....that would be a total of 1.5 hours late.....

I typically try to stay home in the morning for the first 3 hours after I shoot her to see where she goes w/her numbers...had been an early dropper.....If I shoot late tonight.....It would be OK for tomorrow but Wed and Thursday I wouldn't be able to stay at home later.....

Shooting would look like this if I shot......Which would work.....I will be home tomorrow morning.....Just not sure of the dose.....Was giving her a F1.0 but she was at 86 this morning and had not had insulin in 24 hours.

Monday night shoot at 6:30pm...1.5 hours late
Tuesday Shoot at 6:00am
Wednesday Shoot at 5:30am
Thursday at 5:00am
 
Re: 5/23 Curry +36-163 DOSING ???? POST DENTAL

If you're going to shoot late, test and see where Curry's numbers are going. If they are trending down, I'd give a BCS dose -- either 0.75u or 0.5u. If they are heading up, you're probably OK to give the full shot. This is all contingent on Curry eating.
 
Re: 5/23 Curry +36-163 DOSING ???? POST DENTAL

Sienne and Gabby said:
If you're going to shoot late, test and see where Curry's numbers are going. If they are trending down, I'd give a BCS dose -- either 0.75u or 0.5u. If they are heading up, you're probably OK to give the full shot. This is all contingent on Curry eating.


Thank you Sienne. She ate a little 20 minutes ago. Gave her 1/2 what I usually feed her for pre-shot.

I was going to wait 30 minutes to see if she kept the food down. Is that enough time to see if it will stay down? If I have to wait any longer to shoot, I'll need to skip tonight. But definitely want to make sure it stays down.
 
Re: 5/23 Curry Post Dental Skipping shot tonight

She has gone down from 163 to 114 in 1.5 hours. Gave her food 1/2 hour ago....

I'm just gonna skip tonight....her numbers are coming down w/out insulin tonight and I want to make sure these two little meals stay in her. I can't wait any longer to shoot now as it will really screw me up this week.
 
Re: 5/23 Curry Post Dental Skipping shot tonight

I don't blame you, Tena. I would be concerned with the IV glucose they gave her raising her bg. I'll be watching.
 
Re: 5/23 Curry Post Dental Skipping shot tonight

That sounds good. It's no fun fighting to keep numbers up after anesthesia. Been there. Done that. Don't recommend it.
 
Re: 5/23 Curry Post Dental Skipping shot tonight

Hi guys - wise decision I think to skip the shot. She seems to be coming down well on her own. I know ECID, but we had such issues with Mannie when he had his last dental, and his ability/desire to eat, shots, BG - there was alot going on with him post dental, anyways --- if Curry is dropping wise not to shoot. she needs to keep the food down too. At least this way your schedule won't be messed up either. Good luck - I hope she is recovering well.

On the glucose line - I know I mentioned it above - my vet does run a line, with a "token" amount of glucose IF the kitty has had his insulin shot (whether full dose or half). In her opinion it helps keep them stable when insulin is on board. She does not run the line if the shot has been skipped.
 
Re: 5/23 Curry Post Dental Skipping shot tonight

Ok....I have ANOTHER question....

What dose for tomorrow?

It will have been 48 hours since her last shot in the morning.

If she is below...say 100....no shot?

If she is above 100....at what range should I shoot 1/2 her normal dose and what range her regular F1.0?
 
Tena, I'm so so happy that Curry's Dental went well today and YEAHHHHHH!!!, :-D :-D no extractions.. Very interesting topic tonight too about the Glucose in the IV and whether to shoot or not and making sure the food stays down..
I hope that all goes well tonight with Curry and she has a quick recovery!!
 
Hi Tena, Sorry I can't answer your question about dose or no dose. But I'm very glad that Curry's dental went well and that she didn't have to lose any teeth. That's wonderful. Have a good evening and I hope you'll figure out what to do tomorrow. Perhaps this is one of those occasions when you have to play it by ear.

Ella & Rusty
 
Does Curry seem to be okay since the dental? If the two mini meals you fed stay in her, hopefully her numbers will go up or remain stable. It's good you posted for help now, as you have time until tomorrow's shot or no shot. What time do you shoot in the mornings?
 
Ann & Maggie11 said:
Does Curry seem to be okay since the dental? If the two mini meals you fed stay in her, hopefully her numbers will go up or remain stable. It's good you posted for help now, as you have time until tomorrow's shot or no shot. What time do you shoot in the mornings?


Yes, she seems fine. A little hoarse and really big eyes...She looks like a little alien with fur.

I've given her 3 mini-meals in the last 3 hours. Her BG is 115 right now. And I shoot bright and early in the morning...5:00am CST.
 
Why would you skip the shot? I'd be concerned about the shed emptying. You've been shooting a F1.0u. You're not going to know if Curry needs less insulin unless she earns a reduction. Otherwise, you're going to be playing catch up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top