5/25 punkin amps 274 +3/210 +6/230 pmps 261 +2/276 +3/226

Status
Not open for further replies.

julie & punkin (ga)

Member Since 2011
yesterday

punkin's off to his usual happy day. breakfast done & anya's plate cleaned up too, nap in progress. i think there was a bath in there but i was looking at FB and not paying attention! oops.

have a good day everyone!
 
Re: 5/25 punkin amps 274

Hi guys .. sunny yellow for punkin ... I'm sure he got his bath in there, he's always gotta be lookin' his best! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/25 punkin amps 274

Of course he probably had a bath, when your that handsome you always want to look your best ;-)

Can Leo keep Punkin company on those nasty high floors?

Are you still using the so-called "questionable" insulin?
 
Re: 5/25 punkin amps 274 +3/210

i am - there's at least a bit of a curve to see. i'm going to get the vial today.

the thing with this pen - it's got so much suction now (although there are still bubbles in it) that when i fill up the syringe and get rid of the air in it, then insert it back into the pen to add enough to get to the right dose, the suction is so strong that it pulls the insulin back out of the syringe. it's driving me nuts. i think it must be contaminated - and twice i haven't remembered in advance to hang onto the plunger so it won't do that, so strings of insulin have gone back into the pen. i'm not happy with it at all.

and when i withdraw the first time i take out what looks like 10u or so, but by the time i've got the air out of the syringe it's only maybe 5, so i HAVE to go back and get more. it's not the syringe either - i've got 2 different boxes, different brands, and it's the same with both.

i'm a little concerned that when i shift to the new vial tonight if it's a lot more potent he might react . . . but i'll just test and see what happens. maybe his numbers are unrelated to the insulin.
 
Re: 5/25 punkin amps 274 +3/210

Good afternoon Julie, pen frustration... I know that you will win in the end and the pen will rue the day it messed with you. ;-) So you are going to use the new vial this evening?
That sure is a pretty +3 anywho!
There's a kitty named nuisance at our new vets office that reminded me a little of Punkin. I should be able to upload the photo I took of him later.. He's not near as handsome of course!
I sure hope you have better luck with the vial.
I'll talk with you later. Have a good day yourself :-D
 
Re: 5/25 punkin amps 274 +3/210

Oh Julie, I'm so sorry about the pen frustration! If the suction pulled insulin back into the pen from the syringe, then the pen is contaminated....they use a lubricant in the syringes. :sad: That's why the sticky says not to inject excess insulin back into the container....I know it was accidental, just FYI. I think starting a new vial is a good plan. I was going to post and suggest you raise the dose tonight....I wouldn't do that until you give a dose or two with the new insulin though.
 
Re: 5/25 punkin amps 274 +3/210 +6/230

it only sucked the insulin back in yesterday and today. i think it was after we'd been to the pharmacist and tried to expel the air using the pen needles that attach on the pen. hard to explain it, but trying to get the bubbles out made too much of a vacuum inside. something is just wrong with the mechanism of this pen.

the pharmacy has the vial ready so i'll have new tonight.

i do appreciate you coming by with advice. it's been kinda ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 5/25 punkin amps 274 +3/210 +6/230

I have seen a couple of other people with defective pens like this in the past. The plunger in the pen doesn't move down like it should when you draw the insulin, so it creates a vacuum in the cartridge. It absolutely is a defective pen....you should be able to get them to replace it if you call the manufacturer (if the pharmacy is unwilling to take care of it for you.) It stinks though...sorry you've had so much trouble with it!
 
Re: 5/25 punkin amps 274 +3/210 +6/230 pmps 261 new insulin

i wonder what will happen, if anything, from this dose. picked up the new vial of lantus today and shot him with it tonight. i don't know if these flat numbers have been just from the bad pen that we've been using for 8 days, or if it's punkin, or ? in those 8 days his dose has gone from 7.25 to 8.0u.

he's also on day 3 of the clindamycin for his mouth again.

all i know is i'll be testing him to keep watch and make sure he's safe.
 
Re: 5/25 punkin amps 274 +3/210 +6/230 pmps 261 new insulin

Hi Julie,
Good luck with the new vial. You deserve a break!! I would call the manufacturer and see if they will replace the pen. Offer to send it to them for inspection. You don't have to tell them that you are using a syringe with it. Just say that it has these terrible bubbles, that the pressurized plunger doesn't move correctly, and that you can't get a precise dose.

Have a good evening, guys,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/25 punkin amps 274 +3/210 +6/230 pmps 261 new insulin

wow on all the pen issues. I too would try and call the manufacturer and see if you can get it replaced. I like Ella's plan.

I'd test too if you're unsure of the pen and the potency of the new vial. Good luck, and have a good evening!
 
Re: 5/25 punkin amps 274 +3/210 +6/230 pmps 261 new insulin

Sorry about the pen issues... i've had problems at times too, but have managed to work around them *knock on wood*. Fingers and paws crossed that new juice does the trick!!!
 
Re: 5/25 punkin amps 274 +3/210 +6/230 pmps 261 +2/276 +3/22

I'm with the others--send it back for a refund. This stuff is too expensive to just let it go! I have to go get a new box of 5 this week. Tessie is on her last one. I always have bubbles, but not to the extent you're having.

Looks like punkin's keeping his yellow streak going so far. You should see a change with the new pen pretty quickly tonight, I would think, if it's going to. I just changed pens and Tessie got a GREEN number yesterday, for the first time in quite awhile, so I think it was the new fresh insulin.

Good luck and I hope the meds help his numbers come down some more!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top