5/31 Tommy+3 281,+5 324,+8.5 388~.5R

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lauren&Tommy (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday
ONE MORE DAY UNTIL DENTAL TIME!!
Late start this Morning LL Fam, but with ~O) ~O) In my hand, here I am.. My husband didn't have to be at work until later this morning so we spent it having coffee, catching up on Break Out Kings and just chatting.. It was nice :-D
Last night was fun @-) :shock: nailbite_smile ohmygod_smile .. There really is nothing else to say about that. Disaster averted and he is looking very nice in yellow this morning, much to the pleasure of his bean :-D .

Ann, I read your post this morning from last nights fun. Thank you for the kudos on the good job. I was a bit nervous there for a while. Please feel free to continue to call me Squirrel if you'd like. Like I said I've answered to that name for so many years that it really does feel like my second given name ;-)

Julie, no way did you mess up anything. I always look to see if any one has posted from the night before since there are quite a few of you that live out west.. It was a night indeed. I don't think i strung 2hrs of sleep together even when i wasn't testing, I was still nervous. I hope that you find out soon about your tests so you can go on doing what you need to do for your boy also. Punkin is a pretty lucky little man to have you Julie! Time is all we ask for isn't it! And if what we're doing for our babies can help them have a bit longer, healthier and happier life while their here, then we just keep on keeping on doing the best we can for them and just love them like there's no tomorrow because you never know. :-D :-D

I hope all of you have wonderful Tuesday
Big Hugs :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/31 Tommy AMPS 225, +2 257~.25R,+4 241,+5 202

Hi guys .. wow, what a night indeed .. you handled it great but I'm glad to see you had company hanging in there with you .. Glad you got to spend the morning with your DH .. will be keeping you in our thoughts tomorrow on D day .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/31 Tommy AMPS 225, +2 257~.25R,+4 241,+5 202,+6 215

Well, Tommy is at least for the time being staying nice and level. The lantus should be starting to do it's thing now.. Wait, Wait, Wait..
Tomorrow is the first Dental for Tommy! would you please keep him in your prayers for me! I'm trying really hard not to be nervous about this, but it just isn't working.. I'm going to try and keep busy today so I don't have time to think about it so much..
My husband will be home early tonight and he's off Tomorrow so at least i won't be here alone to take care of Tommy when he comes home and all of our other babies. So that is a blessing..
We haven't sung karaoke in quite some time and that's what he wants to do tonight.. He has a beautiful voice and we love to harmonize.

Could some one try and explain to me why you would give a half dose the night before a Dental and not a full dose?
As far as meds go, I have on my check list.. NO METACAM (that has already been written down on Tommy's folder), No Convenia!

What I should be sent home with is Buprenix and Clindamycin correct? I think Buprenix is what they wrote down for me when i asked about pain meds..
I'm pretty sure I read in a post yesterday that Clindamycin is a bit more rough on the tummy but is better for the mouth than clavamox.. Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong.

Tommy needs to be at the Vet between 8-9 a.m. Dental scheduled for 10am.. With Tommy only having 15 or so teeth left, the vet said is shouldn't take too terribly long. I now give Tommy his shots at 6-6 so he won't have had any insulin left in him by the time he gets to the vet.. I was told not to give him anything the morning of his Dental.
I will be picking up and food and water right at midnight!
 
Re: 5/31 Tommy AMPS 225,+5 202,+6 215

hmmm, no bounce after green last night? :mrgreen: That seems like progress for Mr. Tommy.

Good work last night. See, you DO know what to do!

About the dental, I believe the logic behind a partial shot the night before is that if they are used to nibbling at night and you can't feed, they might go lower than usual. Also, if he *does* go low overnight, you would have to feed and might end up cancelling the appointment. We have also seen a couple of cats who decided to have a very low AM reading the day of the dental and the vet wouldn't take them. He might be ok with Lantus and no R, though, just to be sure he runs a little higher than usual tonight.
 
Re: 5/31 Tommy AMPS 225,+5 202,+6 215

I couldn't believe I hadn't posted in Tommy's condo yet today, but when I saw you had opened it later than usual, I realized why. I tend to take time around 6 a.m. my time to write in as many as possible before I have to get back to work and I didn't realize yours wasn't there this morning. I'm glad you had quality time with the DH, though. I certainly can understand how that takes precedence!! :-D I do believe I need to go back to your condo from yesterday and see what happened. Because Champ was so high, I didn't bother testing much and didn't log on very often.

Good luck tomorrow with Tommy's dental. Prayers will be said!!! :-D
 
Re: 5/31 Tommy AMPS 225,+5 202,+6 215

Hi Squirrel, I will be thinking of you and Tommy tomorrow for the dental and will be sending good Vetty vines and prayers for a good dental. It's normal to be nervous for the dentals, but then we tend to be worry worts when it comes to our kitties. I'm glad to see Tommy staying nice and level with some nice numbers. I'll be checking in to see how Tommy is doing. Scritches to Tommy and hugs and calming vines for you.
 
Re: 5/31 Tommy AMPS 225,+5 202,+6 215

I'm glad your DH will be "waiting" w/you tomorrow and there to help out w/the furbabies. And of course all of us here will be "with" you as well. Lots of calming prayers for you and healing vines for Tommy.

Guardian Angel Al will be watching over Tommy starting tonight making sure he gets a good night's sleep. Then he will be holding Tommy's paw during the procedure and until he wakens. Finally, GA Al will fade into the background otherwise Tommy who will be high on drugs will think he is going crazy cuz he's seeing angels. :razz:

You definitely have to keep us posted every step of the way, k?
 
Re: 5/31 Tommy AMPS 225,+5 202, PMPS 201

ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile. Leave it up to the king of drama to drop instead of rise at preshot.
I hope I didn't mess up just now. I gave him his full dose this evening. What would be ideal if for him just to hang out here the rest of night, maybe find the blue floor for a while and not give me a heart attack the evening before his dental. nailbite_smile

Libby, thank you for the advice. With the 201 preshot number, no worries of giving R, but i did shoot a full dose of Lantus.

Patty, No worries at all. Sleep is a delicacy in your house too, I know. I sure am grateful for the prayers for Tommy tomorrow.. I don't get much time with my husband these days so I figured a little late would be fine posting. Last night was a bit scary i have to admit. No one was on when it was happening and the plummit did take me by surprise.

Ann, Everything you said is exactly what i'm feeling, and yes please if you could get me the whole orchard of calming vines, I'll take them thank you! I appreciate that you'll be checking up on us.

Tena, Having my husband hear will help tremendously tomorrow, although with the nerves i'm feeling right now, he might not feel the same way :-D .
I'm glad that all of you will be with us too. I can't even begin to tell you how much that means to me!
You tell GA Al that i'm gonna hold him to all of that. It sounds wonderful and Tommy will love that he is there with him helping him come through this just fine..
I will keep you all posted probably with more updates than you'll care to get ;-)
 
Re: 5/31 Tommy AMPS 225,+5 202, PMPS 201

WOW - look at that - one flat yellow kitty. I think Gracie has passed on the Flat Cat 2011 title to Tommy. :-D Looks nice - and I bet you get some more action sometime soon. They always say flat yellow cycles mean drops are coming..... Very nice job last night - you did great, and I know how nervous you were. Well done. The first few times you have greens like that can be a little unsettling. You handled it great. AWESOME!

Good luck with the dental tomorrow. I am sure that Tommy will be fine. You'll want to keep tabs on his numbers afterwards, sometime anesthesia and lingering effects can lower them. Mannie say to tell Tommy not to worry, that he and the gang will come and visit when he gets home.

have a great night!
 
Re: 5/31 Tommy AMPS 225,+5 202, PMPS 201

sorry i've been off all day and am just coming around! my mother-in-law dropped by for 3 hours on her way through her, the oven repairman was here, i've got food going for a potluck tonight, and now my foster daughter is here working to earn money for her rent. so . . .

you've made a great decision on the shooting! he's starting nice and low and that's a great way to run in to tomorrow. i don't think i'd worry about what happens at the vet's because they will be testing him. i think punkin was 356 right before they started his dental. i've seen some people say their vet recommended taking the insulin along - might be a thought to take along your R in case they just need to bring him down a tad . . . the thing about the insulin & the eating is they go together - that's why they tell you not to shoot when you aren't feeding him. i think he's going to be just fine, and probably happy to have those clean toofs!

perhaps you and your husband should go out for lunch to celebrate your birthdays tomorrow. no responsibilities, no testing, tommy will be safe in the vet's care . . . it seems like a perfect opportunity. might distract you a bit too. consider it!
 
Re: 5/31 Tommy AMPS 225,+5 202, PMPS 201

Hi Squirrel,
I answered your question in my condo, but not sure if you saw it, so I'm posting here, too:

Hi Squirrel, that's okay, you're not hijacking my condo at all; I'm glad to help. I just checked and Maggie was only on a drop at the time, so I did a half dose, but called it a BCS. It was such a microdose, that it was hard to judge if I even got any in her, but yes, it was half a dose.
 
Re: 5/31 Tommy AMPS 225,+5 202, PMPS 201

Squirrel, I'm keeping you and Tommy in my prayers and hope all goes well with his dental. I'm sure it will and then Tommy can get down to some real steady, lower numbers.
 
Re: 5/31 Tommy PMPS 201, +1 239,+2 234

Oh my goodness Squirrel I had no idea about the night you and Tommy had last night. Great numbers outta him.....hooray! And pretty darned good numbers today too.

I wish Mr. Handsome Tommy a great visit with the dentist tomorrow, and hopefully the toof fairy will come to leave treats for Tommy too ;-)

Update us while you can, and Leo wishes Tommy good luck!
 
Re: 5/31 Tommy PMPS 201, +1 239,+2 234, +3 281

I might place some money on the +3 being from Daddy bringing the droolers down stairs a few minutes ago and getting Tommy all in a fuss.. He's kind of a quiet boy and well, Ryleigh is not! :-D

Michelle, Yeah, i'll take flat yellow any time.. That was very nice to see after the night last night. I sure appreciate the good luck wishes. I will definitely keep tabs on his numbers and I would love if Mannie and the gang would come and visit..
Big Hugs :YMHUG:

Oh Julie that's quite all right, I know you were having some things going on that needed your attention today, but thank you for dropping in on us.
What concerns me a number in the 400's when i wake up and not being able to do anything about it. I don't think I would trust them to give R in the amt needed. I would the lantus, so maybe i'll bring that. What made you decide to feed and shoot Punkin the morning of his Dental.. Did your vet say it was all right or did you make that decision on your own. I'm just curious.
I think I might just ask my husband to breakfast tomorrow after we drop off Tommy, that's a wonderful idea Julie.
I hope you have a great evening too!

Ann, Hello again and thanks for posting so fast after i asked the question..

Hi Bev, thank you again for the prayers for us.. Keep em coming ok! Lower numbers for Tommy and Gus, sound good?

Tracy, yeah last night was fun to say the least.. @-) . some nice numbers but much too fast of a drop and a little lower than i would like to keep him..I sure hope the toof fairy visits Tommy and I will surely update as soon as i can.. You guys will get tired of hearing from me!!
 
Re: 5/31 Tommy PMPS 201, +1 239,+2 234, +3 281

Hey Squirrel/Lauren and Tommy,
I just finished reading your yesterday's condo. Wow! Great job! Rusty and I want to wish Tommy a good dental visit tomorrow.

And a good evening to you both,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/31 Tommy PMPS 201, +1 239,+2 234,+3 281,+5 324

my vet told me to feed 1/2 the usual breakfast as early as possible and give whole dose of insulin on time. i consulted with folks here and opted to give him 1/2 dose of insulin. i adore my vet, but i get it that he doesn't know diabetes in cats.

the rationale for giving him some insulin was that i still gave him some food. he ate 1/2 can of FF at 5:30am, i think, and i gave him his insulin with just a drop of food so i could get it in - i think maybe 7:30 or so. they scheduled him last for the dental, so there was at least 5 hours in between him eating and the procedure.

i have no idea if that was the best thing or not, but it worked out ok.

tommy will be ok! i hope you sleep well tonight and enjoy your few hours of no responsibility with your husband.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top