Re: 06/08 Cheekyface AMPS 421, PMPS 560? gimme a break!
Lesley --
You have to do what's comfortable for you. My vet pretty much let's me handle Gabby's dosing on my own. She knows that I follow the Rand/Queensland protocol and that I understand what I'm doing. She's my partner in this adventure. I tend to think this is the case for many of the people here. If you and your vet are using the Queensland protocol, I doubt you want to be checking in with your vet every 3 days or so about a dose change. Maybe your vet is different in this regard.
That said, Dyana is right -- having a spot check or two during the PM cycle will be helpful. At the minimum, if you can get a check in before you go to bed each night, you'll help to flesh out Cheeky's numbers. Remember, Lantus dosing is based on the nadir, not on the pre-shot test values. It's likely that Cheeky needs a dose increase. However, without some mid-cycle tests, there's no way to know if numbers are dropping in the middle of the cycle and the high pre-shots are reflecting a bounce off of those low numbers.