1/30 Sami PMPS 109; +2 108

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Sammy

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

Was very disappointed when I got up last night to test Sami and found a 311, and I was even more disappointed when I got up this morning and found a 342. I sure hope these numbers are only a rebound from all the green Sami has been having the last few days. And I hope she recovers today and gets back to those greens.

I will check back in a little later when I am more awake. I am going to try to go back to bed, but that doesn't always work.
 
Re: 1/30 Sami AMPS 333

Yeah, we DO get used to those lovely greens and blue! But....it's a sugar dance dancing_cat one step forward, two steps back. And you can do everything right and perfect and still never achieve that perfect balance, but what's the alternative? Just keep looking back at where you were before....and remember, you've only been at this a little while. :RAHCAT
 
Re: 1/30 Sami AMPS 333; +6 56; +7 50

Sami pulled out of her rebound quickly and is back in the green at +6. She is skirting being below 50. I almost wasn’t here to give her more food. We had gone out after her +5 reading to do some errands. I had expected to be gone for 2 hours and thought we would have the time. We had two more stops to make, one being to get cat food, but I forgot to bring my lists so we came back an hour earlier than we expected. When we got back Sami was in the kitchen looking for some food. She had some food out, but she must not have wanted that kind. I prepared some new food and she started chowing down.

I had wanted to wait another 30 minutes to test, but then I decided to get a quick reading. So while she was eating I snuck in to get a quick test and she was at 56. No wonder she wanted food. I gave only LC food and she ate nearly an entire can of FF. I tested again 45 minutes later and she was at 50. I still wasn't quite ready to give MC or HC food so I fed more LC and she ate another 1/3 can of FF. I tested again 20 minutes later and she was still at 50, but then 15 minutes after that she was at 54. I will be testing again in a few more minutes and I hope she is over 60.

My question today is should I really have given her MC food when she was at 50 or was I okay to give her the LC.

And does being at 50 earn a dose decrease or does she need to be at 49 or below?

Hope everyone is having a good day too.
 
Re: 1/30 Sami AMPS 333; +8 46

Well, it looks like Sami just earned a decrease. She was at 46 at +8. I fed her about a ¼ a can of HC FF, she didn't eat it all, but most of it. I will test again in a few minutes.
 
Re: 1/30 Sami AMPS 333; +8 46

She's keeping you on your toes. Looks like she didn't like that pink number at all today.
 
Re: 1/30 Sami AMPS 333; +8 46

For future reference, I would feed the curve the way you were doing but in less quantity. It's probably a bit less of an issue this late in the cycle, but when you have low numbers, particularly numbers below 50, if you give a lot of food and numbers keep dropping, Sami may not be hungry. You want to feed a few bites (about 1-2 teaspoons of food or 1/8 can of FF or thereabouts). With HC, the amount you fed will probably make Sami's numbers zoom. The idea is to keep Sami surfing in the 50-70 range for as long as you can. This will help to 'teach' her liver what the normal numbers are. At a 46, you probably could have bumped her numbers back up to where you wanted them with some MC food.
 
Re: 1/30 Sami AMPS 333; +8 46; +8.5 62

Sienne and Gabby said:
For future reference, I would feed the curve the way you were doing but in less quantity. It's probably a bit less of an issue this late in the cycle, but when you have low numbers, particularly numbers below 50, if you give a lot of food and numbers keep dropping, Sami may not be hungry. You want to feed a few bites (about 1-2 teaspoons of food or 1/8 can of FF or thereabouts). With HC, the amount you fed will probably make Sami's numbers zoom. The idea is to keep Sami surfing in the 50-70 range for as long as you can. This will help to 'teach' her liver what the normal numbers are. At a 46, you probably could have bumped her numbers back up to where you wanted them with some MC food.

I hear you about the amount of food. I will keep this in mind for the future, but this was Sami's typical lunch time and she usually eats ½ to 1 can of FF, and her numbers usually go up without a problem. Today, when she was at 50 instead of giving her more LC I probably should have introduced the MC food, because you are right she wan't really hungry when she got down to 46. I did try to give her MC food at 46, but because she wasn't hungry she showed no interest in it. That is why I gave her the HC food. I was desperate to get her to eat just about anything.

At +8.5 she was up to 62, so that was good. I will be testing again in a few minutes to see where she is, and hopefully she isn't too much higher than that.
 
Re: 1/30 Sami AMPS 333; +8 46; +8.5 62; +10 82

Looks like Sami recovered from her low 46 very well. I probably could have given her less HC food, but so far she isn't spiking up because of the food.

I will be reducing Sami's dose to 1.25 at her PM shot.
 
Re: 1/30 Sami AMPS 333; +8 46; +8.5 62; +10 82

Try to keep the dose the same, and hopefully Sami will have better numbers--A low number will make Sami bounce & rebounds can last 2 days.
You are doing well today.Congrats on the dosecrease you earned today :thumbup --Great green today!
 
Re: 1/30 Sami AMPS 333; +8 46; +8.5 62; +10 82

What an exciting day for your tuxedo kitty! Sooooo handsome!
Like Roni mentioned.. you will see a bounce from the lower numbers..
However, -hang tight- eventually the liver gets accustomed to the lower numbers :-D
And.. then the purrrrfect curve~

Great job!
 
So far Sami is surfing nicely from her lows this afternoon. I am hoping the 46 she had earlier today doesn't effect her numbers too much. Even if she does bounce a little it looks like she might recover quickly, based on last night and today's numbers.

I decreased her dose this evening. Not that I am expecting it, but what would I do if she falls below 50 again tonight? I just didn't know if you would do two or more decreases in a row if the BG falls below 50. Just want to be prepared.
 
Hi Tina
I took me a minute to realiaze that it was you and Sami with your changed id.
I love it.
Sami is doing great. Both of you are holding your own.
You have good team together. It's still all a learning curve with so many changes and the
unpredictability of it all.
Great job!!
 
I peeked at your ss and see that Sami is still surfing blue, nice. :smile:

In answer to your question about what happens if she drops below 50 again, the first cycle after a dose reduction is still running on shed action from the previous dose (so even though you shot 1.25 tonight, it's really almost like you shot 1.5 again because the 1.5 shed is still there). So we usually don't reduce on two cycles in a row. That means that if Sami started dropping tonight, it would be perfectly fine to feed HC at a higher number than you usually would, so you could go to bed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top