Jennifer+Spunky(GA)+Peake
Member
I got an emergency call from the vet. They needed someone to foster a 12 year old diabetic that was brought in for euthanasia. He has been diagnosed as diabetic since March. He was being treated with Lantus. His owner suddenly died 2 months later. Her daughter has been caring for him since. She can not keep him because she has an elderly sick cat also. She tried unsuccessfully to get him adopted through local rescues.
She stopped giving him insulin 4 days before he was brought in for euthanasia. When she relinquished him his spot BG was in the 350's. A fructosamine the next day was in the lower 300s. His previous dose was 1 unit lantus twice a day. The vet expected his bg's to be higher...under stress...etc.
He also has a massive tooth abscess and apparent resorptive disease in other areas. The vet has reduced his dose to .5 units BID until they can get a curve. He will have an emergency dental tomorrow to address the fractured tooth and any other apparent problems. Unfortunately my vet does not have an oral xray machine. So complete treatment can not be done tomorrow. The local dental expert does not have an opening in his schedule right now.
The vet thinks he might be able to be diet controlled or is headed into remission.
Him becoming permanent with us depends on his ability to tolerate 2 boxers..and most importantly how Sophie my other rescue cat reacts. She has feline lower urinary tract disease. Whenever she gets stressed her bladder flairs and causes her pain...and she becomes unable to urinate. The vet placed her with me because she could be an only cat. I can not sacrifice her quality of life. Hopefully they will get along.
Peake lives up to his name. He is the mountain top of cats. His head is absolutely huge...as is the rest of him! He weighs only 15 lbs...could stand to lose 2...but he's just a big beefy guy!
My experience is with PZI...so Lantus is something I will need to learn. I know about the shed...that you don't TID shoot etc. I had a high dose acro cat that we had awesome tight regulation of. I won't dream of tight regulation for Peake for many moons.
We pick him up tomorrow night.
She stopped giving him insulin 4 days before he was brought in for euthanasia. When she relinquished him his spot BG was in the 350's. A fructosamine the next day was in the lower 300s. His previous dose was 1 unit lantus twice a day. The vet expected his bg's to be higher...under stress...etc.
He also has a massive tooth abscess and apparent resorptive disease in other areas. The vet has reduced his dose to .5 units BID until they can get a curve. He will have an emergency dental tomorrow to address the fractured tooth and any other apparent problems. Unfortunately my vet does not have an oral xray machine. So complete treatment can not be done tomorrow. The local dental expert does not have an opening in his schedule right now.
The vet thinks he might be able to be diet controlled or is headed into remission.
Him becoming permanent with us depends on his ability to tolerate 2 boxers..and most importantly how Sophie my other rescue cat reacts. She has feline lower urinary tract disease. Whenever she gets stressed her bladder flairs and causes her pain...and she becomes unable to urinate. The vet placed her with me because she could be an only cat. I can not sacrifice her quality of life. Hopefully they will get along.
Peake lives up to his name. He is the mountain top of cats. His head is absolutely huge...as is the rest of him! He weighs only 15 lbs...could stand to lose 2...but he's just a big beefy guy!
My experience is with PZI...so Lantus is something I will need to learn. I know about the shed...that you don't TID shoot etc. I had a high dose acro cat that we had awesome tight regulation of. I won't dream of tight regulation for Peake for many moons.
We pick him up tomorrow night.