6/19 Leo PMPS 108, +4 52, +5 67

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracy & Leo

Member Since 2011
Morning LL, Leo and I would like to wish all the LL dads and grandpas out there a Happy Fathers Day!

Well I woke up and Leo was sitting on the couch washing up, hmmmm I'm thinking someone was eating just before I got up. Apparently I left too much food out last night. Oh well 2nd sitting of breffis was consumed, shot given, all is well and Leo is back on his favorite couch ready for a snooze. I was just thinking that most people on here call their couch a sofa.......must be a Canadian thing :-D

Have a wonderful Fathers Day Sunday.
 
Re: 6/19 Leo AMPS 119

LOL! Leo got ahead start in celebrating Father's Day with a feast!

Hugs to Leo and have a great day!
 
Re: 6/19 Leo AMPS 119

Morning! What a nice stat to the day for Leo - looking good there buddy!

Funny - I use sofa, couch interchangeably... sofa wins most of the time though.

Have a great day today!
 
Re: 6/19 Leo AMPS 119, +4 49

Well i went BTB, i'm still exhausted after my week at work. I set an alarm for +3 and slept right through it, Leo jumped into bed about 10 minutes before his +4, headbutting, purring, washing up, i tried petting him a little bit and the lil fart bit and scratched me. He actually drew blood. So i got up and got his testing stuff ready, 49!!! I noticed that he had eaten the whole can of Friskies i had left out for him, all i was thinking was oh SH*T!! So Leo got a gravy treat and let's hope that stops his drop, i'm a little worried considering he had already eaten the whole 5.5 oz of Friskies and that didn't slow down his drop. Might have to bust out the karo, i'll retest in 30 and see where he's at.

Is this leftover shed action i'm seeing right now, i'm thinking it is, but thought i'd ask to make sure.
 
Re: 6/19 Leo AMPS 119, +4 49

Oh wow, look at Leo. Yes, when they start the purring and nipping and won't leave us alone, it seems to be a sign they are running low. I hope the gravy keeps him from dropping. He sure was hungry to eat the whole can, as it's a good size. Extra gently belly rubs to Leo.
 
Re: 6/19 Leo AMPS 119, +4 49, +4.5 67, +5 74, +6 67

Yay!!!! Leo earned his second reduction!! His SS is looking amazing!! Have a great day today!!! :-D
 
Re: 6/19 Leo AMPS 119, +4 49, +4.5 67, +5 74, +6 67

Looks like Leo has been keeping you busy Tracy!!! good for him on the reduction!

is it miserable out there for you guys? here i don't think we'll ever see SUMMER :sad:

have a good day you two!
 
Re: 6/19 Leo AMPS 119, +4 49, +4.5 67, +5 74, +6 67

Second reduction?!?!?! I thought i read that you should try to hold reductions for at least 7 days? I just reduced him last night.

Reducing the dose...

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

I think i'm going to try and hold this dose for another couple of days, unless one of the expert ladies tells me not to. I'm not planning on doing much the next few days so i'll be around to monitor him in case he drops too low.

Claudia, yes it has been miserable here since Friday. We've had monsoon rain here on Friday and Saturday, my sister also lives in Calgary and she says the weather hasn't been much better there. I hope summer shows up soon :sad:
 
Re: 6/19 Leo AMPS 119, +4 49, +4.5 67, +5 74, +6 67, +8 59

Tracy: yes, hold him because it could be shed action. I wouldn't reduce him again so fast. You don't have to wait 7 days to reduce again. Jill has told me that a dose (unless it is a really low dose) can influence up to the next three cycles. ECID. But I wouldn't reduce him tonight again IMHO. I think Patty might have not realized when you reduced him. He's looking great.

Hope you get some rest. Couch/sofa, potAto/poTato???? :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 6/19 Leo AMPS 119, +4 49, +4.5 67, +5 74, +6 67, +8 59

Awesome. Thanks Marje that was my thinking as well, just wanted to make sure ;-)

We had a discussion once at work; it was called "couch or sofa?". There was 3 of us doing a poll, asking everyone who walked in the door for lunch. "what are we sitting on?" of course people thought we were on crack! But for the most part all the older people ie, 50 and up called it a sofa, everyone else, a couch. :lol: :lol: oh the things we do at work to keep ourselves entertained!!
 
Re: 6/19 Leo AMPS 119, +4 49, +4.5 67, +5 74, +6 67, +8 59

Tracy, sorry to disagree with Marjorie, but I would take the reduction. You would only hold the dose if he earned the second reduction on the FIRST cycle of the reduced dose. Some cats earn reductions more quickly than others.

I think you are getting confused between the two ways a cat can earn reductions...one way is to go below 50 (newly diagnosed cat) and the other way is to stay in normal BG range for a week. If your cat earns a reduction by going below 50, it isn't necessary to wait a week to earn another reduction.

Unless your cat is having a problem holding reductions, please take them as he earns them. If he starts to have failed reductions, then you might want to try one of the alternative reduction strategies, but until then, you should reduce according to the protocol....if he falls below 50, you reduce by 0.25u.
 
Re: 6/19 Leo AMPS 119, +4 49, +4.5 67, +5 74, +6 67, +8 59

There is another option is your cat doesn't hold reductions -- you can keep a dose until there are 3 drops below 50. So far, Leo is doing just fine. There are times when cats do earn reductions in fairly rapid succession. I would agree with Laurie -- if Leo earned the reduction, why not give it?
 
Re: 6/19 Leo AMPS 119, +4 49, +4.5 67, +5 74, +6 67, +8 59

Hmmmmmm I guess he did earn it, I just thought it may have been leftover shed action. The shed drains that quickly?

I was just worried about it being too soon, or on the other hand what if the reductions don't work?

Decisions decisions.....shot time in an hour.
 
Re: 6/19 Leo AMPS 119, +4 49, +4.5 67, +5 74, +6 67, +8 59

If the reduction fails, you can go back up to the last good dose.....but it generally is accepted practice to follow the protocol until the reductions begin to fail. Follow the protocol until you find a need to modify it....if it ain't broke, don't fix it! We do have a protocol for a reason....
 
Re: 6/19 Leo AMPS 119, +4 49, +4.5 67, +5 74, +6 67, +8 59

Hi Tracy & Leo,
So congrats on the reduction! According to Webster's New World Dictionary, a sofa is an "upholstered couch with spring construction and usually with padded back and arms". In NYC we say "couch" (unless the couch is a "sleep sofa") (but now we have futons for that). (Interesting that futons are never called couches or sofas!)

Leo looks terrific.

Ella & Rusty
Thanks for your comment on anesthesia.
 
Re: 6/19 Leo PMPS 108

Ok shot the reduced dose tonight, the 108 isn't a surprise, i fed Leo some leftover 9% at around +10, plus i didn't really want to shoot a 60 or 70 which is where he would probably be if i hadn't fed him.

Hahaha Ella, so according to websters a sofa is a couch, what does it say under couch? That a couch is a sofa? :lol:
 
Re: 6/19 Leo PMPS 108

Congrats on the reduction, Leo! Woohoo!

I use sofa and couch interchangeably, but I do say "couch" more often. My grandmother, from Western PA, used to call that particular piece of furnture the "davenport". I've never looked that word up, nor have I evern heard anyone else use it. I think I'm going to head over to dictionary.com right now :lol: !
 
Re: 6/19 Leo PMPS 108

Champ earned three reductions in six days. I don't think I would do that again, though, because the last reduction failed. I took him back up to 3.25u and it looks like he's trying really hard to earn a reduction again. I think if I had shaved that last reduction down instead of a full 0.25u, it might have worked, but you never know. You learn how your cat operates as you plug along!! :-D
 
Re: 6/19 Leo PMPS 108

The davenport?! :lol: You know once in a blue moon my mom used to say 'the chesterfield' she stopped due to the endless taunting she received from yours truly :lol:

Yeah I was feeling the same way Patty, I wasn't too keen on decreasing Leo again tonight, but we shall see how it goes. Just no more 49 surprises from you know who and everything will be fine!
 
Re: 6/19 Leo PMPS 108

I think a second reduction right now is fine. If he earns a third in the next day or two, then you have a decision to make!!!
 
Re: 6/19 Leo PMPS 108

If worse comes to worse, and the reduction fails, you just take him back up. Ask Trix about it...she's an expert, and apparently it's no biggie :lol: !

Fingers crossed Leo's most recent reduction will stick. I understand your hesitation, but if his body wants a reduction, I think you gotta go with it and at least give it a try, even though it's so close on the heels of his last reduction.

Yeah, I never heard anoyone besides my one grandmother say "davenport"...and I had completely forgotten about that until today. It's kind of a cool memory...funny little family quirk and all!

Have a great evening!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top