06/29/11 Zener PMPS 216; +1 262; +2 253;+10 321 ATrak

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Anne & Zener GA, Jun 29, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    6/28/11 Zener's Condo

    Zener had his new dose of 1.5 u last night, all was well at +3 and we had a quiet night, except for a 5 am wake up call for attention! Gave his shot at 8 am, posted all on his SS. Here we go for today:

    06/28/11
    AMPS 377
     
  2. Melissa & Tarragon

    Melissa & Tarragon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 06/29/11 Zener AMPS 377 new dose

    Good morning! Hope the new dose brings Zener down for you. Have a wonderful day!
     
  3. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 06/29/11 Zener AMPS 377 new dose

    Thanks Melissa! When I found the FDMB, Zener had already been on Humulin N for 2 months without much effect. My vet then switched us to Lantus, and had us on 3 u in the AM and 0.5-1.0 in the PM. His levels were bouncing all over the place. When I posted with the Lantus group I got immediate help and we started him on 1.5 u BID. His levels dropped a little too low, so we went down to 1.25 for 5 days. Now, trying back up at 1.5. We're keeping our whiskers crossed! :mrgreen:
     
  4. PeterDevonMocha

    PeterDevonMocha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 06/29/11 Zener AMPS 377 new dose

    Hi guys, don't think I have posted in zener's condo yet, so welcome from us! I hope the new dose works wonders for you guys .. have a great day!
     
  5. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 06/29/11 Zener AMPS 377 new dose

    Thanks for all the wonderful welcomes! I am so grateful for having found this group. I can finally start to relax a little. Will keep posting on Zener's SS and throughout the day. I finally feel like we are making some progress!
     
  6. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 06/29/11 Zener AMPS 377 new dose

    sounds like you're on the right track fine-tuning zener! i hope this dose is just the trick.
     
  7. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 06/29/11 Zener AMPS 377 new dose

    Oh my goodness, could this be true - fine tuning? That sounds so wonderful!
     
  8. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 06/29/11 Zener AMPS 377; +3 318 ATrak at new dose

    Here we are at +3 this morning, in our 2nd cycle at the new dose 1.5 u.

    06/28/11
    AMPS 377
    +3 318

    Napping behavior this morning.
     
  9. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 06/29/11 Zener AMPS 377; +3 318; +6 339 ATrak food quest

    We are at +6 with slight increase in BG since +3. Did not have as good an appetite this morning, despite using Fortiflora.

    06/28/11
    AMPS 377
    +3 318
    +6 339

    Zener is eating mostly Blue Buffalo tuna entree and on occasion Fancy Feast chicken classic. I've tried to get him to eat others - Merrick, Wellness, Evo - and he isn't interested. I just got him transitioned to wet food right about the time we switched to Lantus. Any suggestions are welcome!
     
  10. Roni and Moonie

    Roni and Moonie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 06/29/11 Zener AMPS 377; +3 318; +6 339 ATrak food quest

    Hey There!!! Looks like Zener is doing just fine & I'm sure the new dose will work, but you must give it a few days to settle!--You are doing a good job & hope you see positive changes real real soon!!
    Have a great night! :mrgreen:
     
  11. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 06/29/11 Zener AMPS 377; +3 318; +6 339 ATrak food quest

    Thank you! Sometimes I need a little "talking down". I just start imagining all that could be going wrong. Thanks again!
     
  12. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 06/29/11 Zener AMPS 377; +3 318; +6 339 ATrak food quest

    Have to be away for errands and a class until PMPS, so will not post a +9 today. It makes me a little nervous, but I am sure Zener's ears will enjoy a little reprieve! Will post again at PMPS.
     
  13. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 06/29/11 Zener PMPS 189 ATrak DOSE HELP

    I was not able to get Zener's +9 BG and to my surprise when I just did his PMPS his BG had dropped to 189! This was his 2nd cycle at the new 1.5 dose.

    06/28/11
    AMPS 377
    +3 318
    +6 339
    PMPS 189

    I know that is a good value but I am using the Alpha Trak and have been advised to not shoot and post for advice if BG is between 180-210. So, now it is and I'm asking for advice! Any help is appreciated. I will not shoot until then.
     
  14. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 06/29/11 Zener PMPS 189 ATrak DOSE HELP

    Anne:

    Are you on a schedule in the AM -- in other words, if you stall (and don't feed yet), can you shoot 12 hours from when you do shoot tonight?
     
  15. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 06/29/11 Zener PMPS 189 ATrak DOSE HELP

    Yes, I can stall. I am not on a schedule in the AM. I did already feed him and checked it again, wasn't aware of not feeding. His BG now at +12.5 is 194.
     
  16. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 06/29/11 Zener PMPS 189 ATrak DOSE HELP

    I'm really not quite sure what stall means? Wait a bit before shooting?
     
  17. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 06/29/11 Zener PMPS 189 ATrak DOSE HELP

    Exactly. You don't feed or shoot and wait to see if the numbers will come up on their own. I'm concerned that this is a dropping number. If you shoot a dropping number, once the Lantus kicks in, it can be hard to manage the drop. Until we really know how Zener is responding to Lantus and to food, I would prefer to err on the side of caution.

    You'll want to re-test in 30 min.
     
  18. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 06/29/11 Zener PMPS 189 ATrak DOSE HELP

    Okay, he has dropped before after the +12 hour. I did feed him about an ounce of wet food, because I thought we would be giving a shot, but have taken that up for now. I'll check again in 30 minutes and post. What am I looking for to make the decision of when and what to shoot? We started at 1.5 and had dropping numbers, so went down to 1.25. Stayed there for 8 cycles with numbers staying a bit high. He's only had 2 cycles at 1.25 up until now.
     
  19. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 06/29/11 Zener PMPS 189 ATrak DOSE HELP

    Just checked again at +13 and it is up to 216. He did eat about 1 oz of food an hour ago as I thought I would be checking his PMPS and then giving his shot, silly me.
     
  20. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 06/29/11 Zener PMPS 189;+12.5 194;+13 216 ATrak DOSE HEL

    I think you're OK to shoot. Just feed as usual. It will be a little while before the insulin kicks in. So, ideally numbers will continue to rise due to the end of the cycle coupled with food. When the insulin onset starts, there should be a cushion.

    Please get a +1 and a +2 so you know how the cycle is going.
     
  21. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 06/29/11 Zener PMPS 189;+12.5 194;+13 216 ATrak DOSE HEL

    Okay, it makes me a little nervous but I'm okay to do it. I have semi soft treats and karo if needed. So, I'll shoot 1.5 u and try to get him to eat, then check at +1 and +2. If he won't eat, I can give him an appetite stimulant, cypro. I have used it before and it usually kicks in and he starts eating in about an hour. Do you think I need to do that?

    What should I be looking for to indicate I need to do other checks during the night, like +3 or +6?

    Thanks so much for all your help!

    06/28/11
    AMPS 377
    +3 318
    +6 339
    PMPS 189
    +12.5 194
    +13 216 Gave 1.5 u
     
  22. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 06/29/11 ZenerPMPS 189;+12.5 194;+13 216 ATrak DOSE HELP

    If the +2 is lower than your pre-shot, then I would be looking to get more tests.
     
  23. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 06/29/11 ZenerPMPS 189;+12.5 194;+13 216 ATrak DOSE HELP

    Okay, I'll do that. I'll post his +1 and his +2.

    Thanks so much, it must be almost midnight in Chicago. I lived in Champaign Urbana for 11 years in the mid 80s-mid 90s, went to Chicago often.
     
  24. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 06/29/11 ZenerPMPS 189;+12.5 194;+13 216 ATrak DOSE HELP

    I'll check around and see if any of the West Coast folks are around in case I doze off. (I'm on vacation this week and Gizmo is busy playing. He keeps bringing me his toys!!)
     
  25. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 06/29/11 ZenerPMPS 189;+12.5 194;+13 216 ATrak DOSE HELP

    Thanks for spending your vacation time with us. And for checking with the west coasties. Sounds like you kitty keeps you entertained.

    I have a question about the shot timing. I have to leave town next Wednesday to go back to the middle of the country and visit elderly and in poor health family. I have a vet tech staying with the kitties, she has stayed here before and Zener is familiar with her. She will need to leave for work from here about 7:30 so likes to give his injections at 7:20. Will it be possible if his shots are now shifted to 9 to be able for an earlier time to work, or for me to gradually shift his shots to an earlier time?
     
  26. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 06/29/11 ZenerPMPS 189;+12.5 194;+13 216 ATrak DOSE HELP

    hi anne - zener is looking super dee dooper!

    you can adjust shot times by 30 minutes in each 24 hour period. either move it 15 minutes for each shot, or do a 30 minutes once a day, then wait 24 hours and do another 30 minutes. if you start soon you can get zener rescheduled before your pet sitter comes.

    i'm confused about your shot time - did you shoot the 189 or the 216? because whichever one you shot becomes your preshot number.

    and i'm up tonight if you need help - for at least another hour, maybe an hour and a half.
     
  27. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 06/29/11 ZenerPMPS 189;+12.5 194;+13 216 ATrak DOSE HELP

    Hi Julie,

    I love your video, those two are too cute!

    Right now I had to stall for an hour before giving the PM shot. Zener has cerebellar hypoplasia and because it is so hard to tell if he has any hypo symptoms, we've been very conservative. Also, I am using an Alpha Trak meter so the values are a little different. I've been advised to not shoot if his preshot number is 180-210, so that was the delay tonight. I'm not quite sure how much to shift shot time when he seems to be varying still.

    Oh good, I get confused too! I did not shoot the 189 because of what I wrote above. Delayed for an hour and shot the 216 at 9:10 so that is my preshot number.

    I'm about to do his +1 now and will get a +2 and see how things are looking! Thanks for being up and for the help. I am on the same time as you.
     
  28. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 06/29/11 ZenerPMPS 189;+12.5 194;+13 216 ATrak DOSE HELP

    Like Julie indicated, shifting time gradually is best. If you move a shot earlier, it acts like a dose increase. If you move the shot later, it acts like a reduction. Moving the time by 30 min. or less has a negligible effect.

    Julie -- if you're going to be around, that would be great. I'm afraid I may doze off!!
     
  29. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 06/29/11 ZenerPMPS 189;+12.5 194;+13 216 ATrak DOSE HELP

    i'm going to be up - i only know a bit about the c. h. that zener has, and i recall from last night that the target range is higher - jill said 130-180.

    so anne, (with an e!) ;-) you want to change your subject line and make sure your ss notes that 216 was your preshot number.

    i feel for ya, sienne, i know how it is when you're falling asleep in your chair!
     
  30. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 06/29/11 ZenerPMPS 189;+12.5 194;+13 216 ATrak DOSE HELP

    Hello Sienne and Julie, thanks to you both for all your help! I think I've got my title changed to reflect the new preshot value.

    Just did the +1 BG 262.
    Zener ate another 1 oz of wet food right after his shot and when I tried to give him a little more at +1, he was disgusted!

    Will get the +2 and post.

    Thanks for the advice on adjusting the shot. I think I'll work on that after we've had a day to recover from today!
     
  31. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 06/29/11 Zener PMPS 216; +1 262 ATrak

    ok anne, so if you're checking about 11:25pm, i'll make sure and check back in with you then. does that sound ok to you?
     
  32. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 06/29/11 Zener PMPS 216; +1 262 ATrak

    Thanks for the reminder about falling asleep in the chair. I'd better set my alarm by mine, just in case!
     
  33. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 06/29/11 Zener PMPS 216; +1 262 ATrak

    Yes Julie, that sounds great!

    Cerebellar hypoplasia is a congenital condition (born with it) and causes decreased muscle tone, weakness, tremors and poor coordination. Some cats with CH have difficulty walking and head tremors (which make BG testing near impossible!). Fortunately Zener has a pretty mild form that affects mainly his rear legs so that he cannot jump or climb; and when he runs his back legs often don't keep up and he falls over. He does a version of launching himself up on things, and we have our house made very accessible with steps and boxes up to things he likes to get on. He is very upbeat and laid back about his different way of moving, compared to our other cat. And he is taking all this diabetes, ear sticks and shots in stride. However, because he is kind of a floppy feeling cat, walks awkwardly, and has small tremors, his normal state of being looks a bit like hypo symptoms. So, it would be pretty hard to tell if he was hypo, other than his BG readings, unless he got really bad. That's the reason I was advised by the group here to err on the conservative side.

    I'll be posting about 11:25, thanks for hanging in there with us!
     
  34. Michelle and Mannie (GA)

    Michelle and Mannie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 06/29/11 Zener PMPS 216; +1 262 ATrak

    Hi guys - just checking in to see how things are going. Looks good so far. Julie thanks for helping. I'm up with Mannie for a bit, but have that omg can i stay awake much longer thing going on... :roll:
     
  35. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 06/29/11 Zener PMPS 216; +1 262 ATrak

    i think staying on the conservative side is very wise.

    i've seen people say that because of the way lantus works, you might not see symptoms in any cat until they were very bad. punkin's gotten as low as 32 and i never would've known it by his behavior. talk about unnerving to see your cat behaving normally and then find with a test that they are too low - it just makes you realize how very important the testing is.

    spoken by a true test-a-holic! :lol: but i believe it - how else could you possibly know how they're doing?

    gonna go check around and i'll be back. :D
     
  36. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 06/29/11 Zener PMPS 216; +1 262 ATrak

    Wow, 32 & lived to meow about it! I probably need to chill out more. Maybe when this all is not so overwhelming! Thanks to all for the help & support! Testing in about 20 minutes. nailbite_smile
     
  37. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 06/29/11 Zener PMPS 216; +1 262 ATrak

    whoops, my bad - it was 34 at +3 - the first week i was testing and on fdmb. made me sit up and pay attention! and SO glad i was testing.

    ok, see ya in a bit.
     
  38. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 06/29/11 Zener PMPS 216; +1 262; +2 253 ATrak

    +2 BG 253
    So, not too much change since +1 and still higher than preshot of 216, when I stalled for one hour.

    Should I get some other values tonight, not much of that left... in the wee hours of the morning?

    Holy moly, 34 or 32 would scare the catnip outta me! I was sitting up and paying attention when I had an 81 the first week I was on the fdmb, so with a 34 or 32 I would need sedation!
     
  39. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 06/29/11 Zener PMPS 216; +1 262; +2 253 ATrak

    hmmm, well with punkin i would look at those numbers and go to bed. it's your call - but if the +2 (253) is a little up from the pmps (216) that usually means that you're not going to have any big plummets.

    if you feel nervous you could set an alarm and check him in another couple of hours.

    what do you feel best doing?

    i should add that i won't be up in 2 hours - mike (gracie) might be - i can't remember what she's doing tonight.
     
  40. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 06/29/11 Zener PMPS 216; +1 262; +2 253 ATrak

    I'm good with going to bed, it's been a stressful evening and I feel pretty good about these numbers. I usually get up for the bathroom during the night and check on Zener then, if he's not in the bed with me, but will set my alarm to make sure I do wake up. I probably won't test him then unless he is hard to arouse, so no need for anyone else to hold my hand tonight (for which I am extremely grateful!). And tomorrow, we do it all over again! Thanks so much, you're a star!
     
  41. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 06/29/11 Zener PMPS 216; +1 262; +2 253 ATrak

    my pleasure - just paying it back! others did it with me several times!

    i think zener is probably just fine. sleep well and don't worry! might be a good idea to leave a little food out (low carb) for zener also. just because food is good. :D

    good night!
     
  42. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 06/29/11 Zener PMPS 216; +1 262; +2 253 ATrak

    Hi Anne - Mike here from the Marjorie and Gracie show. It looks like Gracie is breaking a bounce tonight so I'll be up for at least a couple more hours. (We're in Tucson). I'll keep an eye out in case you do get up or need anything.
     
  43. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 06/29/11 Zener PMPS 216; +1 262; +2 253 ATrak

    Food is good, love that!

    Wet food out and I'm off to bed. I-)
     
  44. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 06/29/11 Zener PMPS 216; +1 262; +2 253 ATrak

    Thanks for keeping an eye on us from warm and toasty Tucson! I'm toddling off to bed now and very much appreciate your help!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page