7/1 Star AMPS 191, ... PMPS 163, +1 147

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 7/1 Star AMPS 191: First insulin shot ever

Hi Becca & Star

Congratulations on the first dose!

Nice blue AMPS!
 
Re: 7/1 Star AMPS 191: First insulin shot ever

Welcome aboard! We're looking forward to hearing how Star dose!

Have a great day!!

Amy
 
Re: 7/1 Star AMPS 191: First insulin shot ever

LOL! Congratulations on your first insulin shot and welcome to the dance where the people are warm and insulin is cold.
 
Re: 7/1 Star AMPS 191: First insulin shot ever

Becca:

You're going to want to collect data even this early in the process. It you take a look at the Tight Regulation sticky, we suggest getting tests at +3, +6, and +9. You're also going to hold this dose for the next 5 - 7 days (providing Star's test numbers don't drop below 50) in order to build an insulin depot (aka "shed").

I hope you will post regularly and ask any questions that you have. People here are very generous with their time and information.
 
Re: 7/1 Star AMPS 191: First insulin shot ever

Welcome Becca & Star!

Good for you for doing your first shot! Follow Sienne's advice about getting in your tests and you will be well on the road to collecting the data that will help you and Star as you proceed in the "sugar dance".

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 7/1 Star AMPS 191: First insulin shot ever

Welcome Becca and Star! You both have come to the right place. This place is a wealth of information, and knowledge, and there are always people around to help you. I've been a member on here for over a year, and the information that I've acquired is invaluable. I'm still learning, even after all this time.

Again, welcome! :) I'm looking forward to seeing how Star does. :)
 
Re: 7/1 Star AMPS 191, +2 166: First insulin shot ever

Thanks. I did a +2 because, well, I saw that number in a lot of people's subject lines. :) We'll do as much as we can considering family is coming into town today for a reunion. It is on our radar and our plans to do more testing.
 
Re: 7/1 Star AMPS 191, +2 166: First insulin shot ever

Welcome to Lantus Land!

You have come to the right place.

Congratulations on your first shot. I remember mine well...(I was terrified)!
 
Re: 7/1 Star AMPS 191, +2 166: First insulin shot ever

Becca:

The link to your earlier condo isn't active. You need to put the link between the URL brackets. (Click on the URL button above the text box and put the link in between the sets of brackets. Here's the link to Star's condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=46548

Also, when you have a chance, can you complete a Profile on Star? It will fill us in on all of the relevant history.
 
Re: 7/1 Star AMPS 191, +2 166: First insulin shot ever

Welcome to LL! Good for you for testing already.. Many of us get the +2 because usually it is about the same as the preshot. If it is lower it tells us that our cats may be have a very active cycle. Since it is so early in the dance for you Star's nadir (low point) is unknown. If I were you I'd try to get a +4 and a +6 today to make sure she isn't dropping too fast.
 
Re: 7/1 Star AMPS 191, +2 166, +6 66, +8 85: 1st insulin eve

Thanks. I'll work on a profile later on. We got a couple more readings in and it looks good so far, I think.
 
Re: 7/1 Star AMPS 191, +2 166, +6 66, +8 85: 1st insulin eve

WELCOME!!!

and congratulations on finding the FDMB...

the help we received here is the reason my boy is alive and healthy...
it was a miracle for us...
may it be the same for you!


:lol: :lol: :lol: " where the people are warm and the insulin is cold." CLASSIC!!


celi & binks
 
Re: 7/1 Star AMPS 191, ... PMPS 119: dosing??

So still Star's first day on insulin. With a PMPS of 119, do we wait for the next dose or give reduced dosage or what? Thanks!
 
Re: 7/1 Star AMPS 191, ... PMPS 119: dosing??

If you were to shoot late tonight, can you afford to be off schedule tomorrow?

You don't have enough data to shoot this low. I'm suggesting that you stall -- do NOT feed Star yet. You don't want your numbers to be influenced by food. Re-test in 30 min.
 
Re: 7/1 Star AMPS 191, ... PMPS 119: dosing??

I'll recheck in a few. She is a many mini meal kitty right now though; even when she got dry food once a day (pre-diagnosis) she took all day to eat it. So "not feeding her" doesn't mean much to us. Yet.
 
Re: 7/1 Star AMPS 191, ... PMPS 119, 163 now: dosing??

A month ago, though with a short "hiccup" wherein she didn't eat for a week and then wanted only her old dry food. Before that hiccup she was about 200 every time we tested her. The hiccup ended Monday when we took away her dry food again. She was back to about 200 every time by Tuesday morning, up until we gave her insulin this morning.

She's at 163 now. What should I do?
 
Re: 7/1 Star AMPS 191, ... PMPS 119: dosing??

I've been doing a bit of back channel chatting.

There are two choices. You can skip tonight's shot and then shoot a new, lower dose tomorrow at your regular shot time. The new dose would be 0.25u.

Or, you can shoot 0.25u now. You will need to test at +1 and +2 and then we'll figure out how much more testing will be needed. Your AM shot will be 12 hours from when you shoot tonight. We'll then start to move your shot time earlier in 15 min. increments.

It's your call.
 
Re: 7/1 Star AMPS 191, ... PMPS 119: dosing??

Makes sense. I went with a 0.25u and will check in with her in an hour. Thanks!
 
So, does the fact that it's down a bit already mean more testing tonight? Or is it too early to tell?
 
You may want to put some coffee on!

Usually, your +1 is higher than your pre-shot due to the influence of food. Your +2 should be about the same as your pre-shot. Since your +1 is already lower, it may mean it's going to be an active cycle.
 
She didn't really eat much at PMPS. A few nibbles and the snack for being tested. She ate more wet food about half an hour ago, so I retested and get 166 just now. Does this mean I can sleep some? :-)
 
Wwlcome to Lantus land! You are off to a good start & Star is gorgeous!!--And doing very well so far!
Ask questions,read the stickys, and test, and you will do just fine...We are a family and help each other here. And you will see Star get better & better.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top