07/01/11 Zener PMPS 197; +2 270 ATrak

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Anne & Zener GA, Jul 1, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Zener's Condo 6/30/11

    All good last night, let me sleep until 6:45 AM! Then out for a complete rounds of the his backyard domain to sniff for nighttime visitors. No bird feather gifts so far and better appetite this morning! :mrgreen:

    Completed 5 cycles at 1.5 u

    07/01/11 A Trak
    AMPS 349 Shot at 8:30 AM, ate 2 oz blue buffalo tuna right after
     
  2. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 07/01/11 Zener AMPS 349;+2 313 ATrak

    Had to do a +2 rather than +3 because I am off for a much needed massage. Will be home for +6, then off to my summer volunteer job this afternoon.

    07/01/11 A Trak
    AMPS 349 Shot at 8:30 AM, ate 2 oz blue buffalo tuna right after
    +2 313, ate 1 oz wet food

    Will be posting later tonight as well.
     
  3. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 07/01/11 Zener AMPS 349;+2 313; +5.5 280 ATrak

    Here's the latest:

    07/01/11 A Trak
    AMPS 349 Shot at 8:30 AM, ate 2 oz blue buffalo tuna right after
    +2 313, ate 1 oz wet food
    +5.5 280 ate a little more wet food

    Off to volunteer work this afternoon, will post +9 or +10 later. It is a hot afternoon and kitties are doing lots of napping.

    I-)
     
  4. mybuddybinks

    mybuddybinks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Re: 07/01/11 Zener AMPS 349;+2 313; +5.5 280 ATrak

    :lol: :lol: :lol: Zener...you could be administering the massages!!!

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 07/01/11 Zener AMPS 349;+2 313; +5.5 280 ATrak

    :lol:

    I needed that laugh alot! After I successfully get Zener loving his wet food, I will begin on massage training. I am sure he will have many skills! Thanks so much for sending, that made my day!
     
  6. mybuddybinks

    mybuddybinks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Re: 07/01/11 Zener AMPS 349;+2 313; +5.5 280 ATrak

    he'll be demanding his own massage therapist soon!

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 07/01/11 Zener AMPS 349;+2 313; +5.5 280 ATrak

    Now that is hysterical, and I don't doubt he will want his own unless I can keep him from seeing this picture. Zener would be all for it, minus the towel on his head! Thanks so much, humor is great medicine!
     
  8. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 07/01/11 Zener AMPS 349;+2 313; +5.5 280;+9 225 ATrak

    07/01/11 A Trak
    AMPS 349 Shot at 8:30 AM, ate 2 oz blue buffalo tuna right after
    +2 313, ate 1 oz wet food
    +5.5 280 ate a little more wet food
    +9 225 Halo freeze dried chicken liv a littles

    I'll get another BG at +10 or +11 to see where he is. I was advised not to shoot if in the 180-210 range and to post for advice. We are using the Alpha Trak meter. This is Zener's 5th cycle at 1.5 u.
     
  9. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 07/01/11HELP ZenerAMPS 349;+2 313;+5.5 280;+9 225;+11 2

    Zener's +11 is in the low range. We were advised, since he has cerebellar hypoplasia to not shoot if his BG was 180-210 and to post for advice. His BG is still going down at +11. We are using the Alpha Trak meter. His values are on his SS.

    07/01/11 A Trak
    AMPS 349 Shot at 8:30 AM, ate 2 oz blue buffalo tuna right after
    +2 313, ate 1 oz wet food
    +5.5 280 ate a little more wet food
    +9 225 Halo freeze dried chicken liv a littles
    +11 203

    I will check again in an hour for his PSPM value, but wanted some help with what to do about his dose if he is still going down. This happened two days ago and I could stall, but I hate to keep pushing his shot time later, since I will be away next week and have a pet sitter/vet tech who will be staying with Zener and taking care of him and she will need to give his shots at 7:20 to get to work on time. Right now shot time is 8:30. I will post his PSPM in an hour. Any advice is appreciated for what to do about his dose.
    nailbite_smile
     
  10. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 07/01/11 HELP DOSE Zener PMPS 197 ATrak

    Just did his PMPS and still going down a little, though not significant from +11

    07/01/11 A Trak
    AMPS 349 Shot at 8:30 AM, ate 2 oz blue buffalo tuna right after
    +2 313, ate 1 oz wet food
    +5.5 280 ate a little more wet food
    +9 225 Halo freeze dried chicken liv a littles
    +11 203
    PMPS 197, eating about 1 oz wet food now

    Because I am unable to stall as we are trying to get his shots on a schedule for our pet sitter next week. I'm going to go ahead and shoot a reduced dose of 1.25 u and then check at +2 and see how we are. Hope this is okay.
     
  11. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 07/01/11 HELP DOSE Zener PMPS 197 ATrak

    I was going to suggest a reduced dose. Is Zener eating OK?
     
  12. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 07/01/11 HELP DOSE Zener PMPS 197 ATrak

    Thanks Sienna, that is what I did. I gave him a 1.25 u which he was on three days ago, before we went up. No, he has not eaten well today and this is a fairly regular problem. I was getting worried when I couldn't get him to eat tonight around his shot, so I gave him 1/2 cypro pill. I've been trying to stay away from that, but his weight had dropped two ounces today (13 lbs 6 oz) and I didn't want to skip a shot if he wasn't eating. The fortiflora works sometimes, but not consistently. We started using cypro when his weight was down to 13 lbs 1 oz over a month ago and it really did the trick. I'll get a +2 and see how things look. I hope this makes sense.

    Jill had advised me that we may want to reduce his dose next week since we will be away and have a pet sitter who will not be quite as diligent as I am!
     
  13. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 07/01/11 HELP DOSE Zener PMPS 197 ATrak

    Hi Anne: we typically get concerned if a kitty has had their insulin and isn't eating. Once they get insulin, it's important to make sure you get food in them to balance out the insulin kicking in.
     
  14. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 07/01/11 HELP DOSE Zener PMPS 197 ATrak

    Hi Marjorie, the appetite stimulant has kicked in and Zener has eaten about 1.5 oz of wet food since his shot 30 minutes ago. He should be eating more when it really takes effect in another 30 minutes to an hour. I don't really like to use the cypro, but it does work and I'd rather use that than skip a shot. Maybe that's not the best choice?
     
  15. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 07/01/11 HELP DOSE Zener PMPS 197 ATrak

    I think that question is more for Sienne, Jill, or Libby although I would think that it probably is best to get his FD stable by shooting as much on time with as consistent as a dose as you can provided you absolutely can keep him eating. If the cypro always works, that's fine but they must eat if they have insulin on board.

    I think Sienne is getting ready to hit the sack...she's tired but I told her I'd be up with you. Gracie is coming down so we'll be on the board awhile. We just want to keep Zener up above 150 as I recall due to his CH. So you doing ok?
     
  16. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 07/01/11 HELP DOSE Zener PMPS 197 ATrak

    I thought so too and also that getting his FD stable may help stabilize his appetite. He has always been a good eater but between the FD and transitioning to wet food, it's been a challenge! He has eaten about 2.5 oz of wet food since his shot at 8:30, so that's almost a small can. When his appetite is normal (at least his post FD appetite), he usually eats a 3 oz can in the am and another in the pm. I just grateful that the cypro works consistently!

    Yes, we want to keep Zener around that level. Jill advised that we aim for a nadir of 130-180 for him. I am doing OK. Zener's other mother is back from being in and out of town the past two weeks and that really helps! It is a long haul and I alternate between feeling like we are getting a handle on this and feeling like we'll never be doing anything else but BG tests and trying to get the poor guy to eat!

    Thanks for staying up with me. I'll do a +2 BG at 10:30 and post then.
     
  17. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 07/01/11 HELP DOSE Zener PMPS 197 ATrak

    It definitely helps when there are two people doing it. I dont' know what I'd do without Mike but we also have two elder renal kitties. Even still, having someone to discuss it with and how to respond to numbers helps.

    I'll check back in at 10:30 for his +2. Glad he's eating.
     
  18. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 07/01/11 HELP DOSE Zener PMPS 197 ATrak

    Oh my, that must be tough even with two of you! We struggle with just one kitty with FD, and he is doing much better than when he was diagnosed three months ago. I'll post around 10:30. Thanks again!
     
  19. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 07/01/11 HELP DOSE Zener PMPS 197 ATrak

    Just did his +2 BG and values are on the rise.

    07/01/11 A Trak
    AMPS 349 Shot at 8:30 AM, ate 2 oz blue buffalo tuna right after
    +2 313, ate 1 oz wet food
    +5.5 280 ate a little more wet food
    +9 225 Halo freeze dried chicken liv a littles
    +11 203
    PMPS 197 reduced dose from 1.5 to 1.25, eating about 1 oz wet food now, gave 1/2 cypro pill appetite stimulant
    +2 270, ate 3 oz wet food since PM shot

    Since things are on the up, I think it's safe to get some sleep now. Will post values in the morning. Any advice on staying with 1.25 u? I hope you get to sleep soon, and thanks again!
     
  20. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 07/01/11 AM DOSE Question Zener PMPS 197; +2 270 ATrak

    I guess it depends on several factors tomorrow:

    1. If he has an AMPS like tonight's PMPS, you might want to give the 1.25u again; you can post a +11 and ask just to be sure
    2. if he is not interested in eating, I'd be cautious about shooting and would give the 1.25u provided you give him cypro and know it will make him eat.

    How do you feel about those ideas? If he's high, unless there is some reason I am not aware of, you could go back to his regular dose.
     
  21. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 07/01/11 AM DOSE Question Zener PMPS 197; +2 270 ATrak

    This all makes perfect sense to me! I will get a +11 at 7:30 am and post about the 1.25 u if his AMPS is like his PMPS. If he is back up high again, I'll go with the 1.5 u. I will closely monitor his eating. Usually a 1/2 cypro will last for 36 hours or more, so eating in the morning should be pretty good. Thanks again, and I hope you have a pleasant sleep tonight! :mrgreen:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page