7/3 Junior AMPS 119 +6 76 PMPS 132 +5 70

Status
Not open for further replies.

MauiGuppy

Member Since 2011
Good morning LL!

Thanks again for sharing thoughts on the fructosamine test yesterday. I can't tell you how mad I got yesterday from not following my own instincts. And at my vet for not being the experts that we're expecting and paying them to be. And for the vet schools that failed them. And the pet food industry for putting our kitties into this position. Grrrr....I need to stop thinking about this.

On the good news front, Junior was easier to test today. Burritos work but taquitos work even better! Wrapped him into a tight and tiny roll and I came out victorious! Unbitten but not unscathed because I then picked up the lancet by its sharp end. Cue sad trombone: wah wah.

Have a great day everyone!
Bonnie
 
Re: 7/3 Junior AMPS 119

That's a very lovely AMPS!! Good job, Junior!

I, too, have been on the business end of a lancet a few times. LOL I'm sure that we'll both have many more of those episodes in the future... Hopefully NOT too many, though. :) Congratulations on getting a test from him. :) You're both doing really well. :)
 
Re: 7/3 Junior AMPS 119

Well, don't necessarily think that the lead receptionist at the vet's office will "roll out the red carpet." I've been in her face a few times! I hope you like the new vet. (Are you seeing Holly Pohl?)

I agree with everything everyone said about the fructosamine test. In addition, hyperthyroidism can interfere with fructosamine results. (FYI: I gave in and my vet ran a fructosamine test on Gabby. I also told her exactly what the results would tell her -- something I will remind her of the next time she wants a fructosamine. This was a situation where I opted to pick my battles.)

As far as Somogyi, I can wax poetic about the lack of and/or controversial research on the topic. Marje may have the post I sent her a while ago.
 
Re: 7/3 Junior AMPS 119

Morning guys! Nice amps for junior! Looking for good things today, and I think he will do just that.

Nice on the burrito! and yes - i cannot count the number of time I have picked up that lancet by the wrong end., omg.... :lol: :lol:

Good luck with the upcoming vetty visit - I hope it goes well. and I know on vets, and tests, and knowledge and and and... been there so many times with mine. she's a great vet, understand FD well, but just isn't all that a-tune with lantus, or the tight regulation that we follow here. I too choose my battles.

have a great holiday weekend!
 
Re: 7/3 Junior AMPS 119 +6 76 PMPS 132

haha, ohmygosh you made me laugh with the burrito/taquito/lancet part. i had to read that to my family. fortunately they understand my cat fixation so didn't throw any furniture at me and also laughed appreciatively.

we've had punkin taquitoed too! that's a vivid image! :lol:
 
Re: 7/3 Junior AMPS 119 +6 76 PMPS 132

I use the lancet pen that came with my meter so I've never stuck myself with it before, BUT...I was putting the plastic cap back on the syringe after injecting Champ one day and wasn't looking at what I was doing and pushed the side of the cap into the needle which bent the needle, but also went through the plastic cap and then all the way into my finger. Yes. It hurt. A lot. I now watch what I'm doing verrrrry carefully!!! :lol: :lol:

Junior is looking really great today!! Keep it up!!
 
Re: 7/3 Junior AMPS 119 +6 76 PMPS 132

Hi guys, Very nice day for Junior. I'm wishing you good luck and good vibes for the appt. with the new vet. In the meantime, Happy 4th!

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top