7/12/11 Scrappy AMPS 469, +6 326, PMPS 368 ...day 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy & Scrappy Doo

Member Since 2011
Hi All,
This is day three for Scrappy Doo...any thoughts or suggestions or keep doing what I am doing, which is:

1.0 at 8:00 AM & PM
Wet food (Friskies) for breakfast, lunch, snack & dinner (had some ground beef & partial can)

Haven't seen much of an improvement, but I guess the insulin is building or in the shed phase, if I am getting the terminology correct.

Amy

ps - Thank you to everyone who so warmly welcomed me a last week on the main board.
 
Re: 7/12/11 AMps 469, +6 326, PMPS 368 ...day 3

Welcome, Amy!

Here's the link to Scrappy's thread on Health. (We link our posts from one day to the next together so if we need to back track, you don't have to search the entire Board.)

You do have the terminology down. The first 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 cycles) of Lantus you are building the shed. As a result, not all of the insulin you're giving is fully available to bring numbers down -- a little is going to develop the insulin depot.

Please make sure you are not feeding within 2 hours of your shot time. Food late in the cycle can either influence your pre-shot number or, if you are feeding after nadir, there is less insulin available to help bring numbers down.

When you have a chance, please read the starred, sticky notes at the top of the Board. There is an overwhelming amount of information there all of which will help you understand how to care for Lantus, our dosing protocol, and lots of info on how to make the use of this forum a good experience. In addition, there is this post on making the most of the Lantus board.

Please let us know if you have questions. We love questions! The people here are very generous with their time and knowledge. I hope you will visit our condos (it's what we call our threads -- one condo per cat per day) and take a look at our spreadsheets. It's a great way to learn. I also hope you'll post frequently.
 
Thank you so much for the additional info. I had read most of the stickies...which was very helpful and thankfully Lori was a huge source of guidance.

And thank you for the info on posting threads. All of this is like learning a new language, so I will appreciate the tips, etc.

I will keep doing what I am doing with his shots and make sure I cut him off within 2 hours of the shot...luckily using 8am/pm, his feeding times have been at least 2 hours before his shot.

I am going to do a curve either tomorrow or Thursday...Scrappy was not happy with his pokey today, so hopefully tomorrow will be better.

Thanks again for your help!
Amy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top