Stella 8/8 PMPS/148 +1/146+3/73 +4/100 +5/123

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mary and Stella

Member Since 2011
Stella's Condo

Good Morning all! :smile:

I am posting Stella's +11 because I am evaluating whether or not to up her dose to 3.5U per a suggestion or two. I am going to reread those stickys and evaluate. Please take a look at the few BG checks I took last night on Stella's SS to try to assist me in deciding. Thanks

Stella is doing great. She is walking up higher on her toes on her back legs. She has stayed in 'healing mode' long enough to make a huge difference in her Nueropathy. She still has the akward arch it causes in her back...but perhaps that will disappear as the ligaments and muscles readjust. I am thinking the arch is from tension, just like a human having a bad back. She is eating lots, sleeping lots, and she only played a little yesterday...she was more interested in lounging.
 
Re: ???Stella 8/8 +11/244???

Although I ... like others are anxious to see something 'happen' with Stella's numbers... according to this
Increasing the dose...
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
She should hold at her current dose per last nights numbers. Her nadir is below 200.

I think Stella is in a 'holding' pattern because of my .8U mistake, and then my 4.5 hour late shot because of work a couple of days ago.

Thoughts on holding or increasing??? Again, I am going to hold at 3.25 unless somebody points out something in a sticky I have overlooked. Thanks! :smile:
 
Re: ???Stella 8/8 +11/244???

Hi guys .. I don't have any dosing advice for you, sorry .. but I love hearing that stella is improving .. hoping that she feels better and better each day! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: ???Stella 8/8 +11/244???

Morning, Mary and Stella!

I, too, don't have any dosing advice for you. All I can do is wish you for great #s today! :) Have a great day guys!
 
Re: ???Stella 8/8 +11/244???

Thanks Angela & Blackie & 8 Others! Again, I am left to my own devices... :lol: I have to prep for her AMPS... so it looks like I am going to 'hold' at 3.25.

Off to shoot Stella and get myself a cup of ~O)

Have a great day everybody!
 
Re: Stella 8/8 +11/244

Good morning Mary & Stella!! From the look of your ss, the protocol would say to hold the dose. Stella has seen some greens and blues on it, with some blues last night. Hopefully some more expert eyes will come along and let you know for sure.

Have a wonderful day!!
 
Re: Stella 8/8 AMPS/270 +3/112

It looks like 'holding' may have been the right thing to do, and I may get a repeat of Stella's 8/3/11. If that happens I am not going to panic...I will shoot the whole dose and collect the data. I will be here...so no worries. :-D
 
Re: Stella 8/8 AMPS/270 +3/112

Melissa & Tarragon, you are more of an expert than you thought ;-) Yes, it looks like just as I had predicted, I am going to get a repeat of Stella's 8/3 and I will get the opportunity to pick another door. :lol:
 
Re: Stella 8/8 AMPS/270 +3/112

Mary...sorry; usually someone is around to give you some thoughts.

Good that you held the dose. This is a medium fast drop. Just stay on top of it. See where she goes today. IF she does not earn a reduction by going below 50, then I'd leave the dose alone.
 
Re: Stella 8/8 AMPS/270 +3/112 +5/67

Thanks Marjorie and Gracie. I have a feeling Stella is exactly where she wants to be.

I wasn't going to take a +5 since Stella's nadir usually comes later, but she just woke up and raced to the kibble. She looked at me, waited a second...and ate some! I said, "Stella hold it girl, let me get your BG and I'll get you the good wet stuff!" She stopped eating when she saw me pull out her BG kit. I knew her BG would be low because she wouldn't wait and dug into the kibble. Right as rain, she is at 67. I am learning to dance with Stella! :mrgreen: Boo is a bit jealous...but hey...she is the lucky one. I try to give her extra love...but you know how furry family can be... :lol:

I am still planning on shooting her 3.25 in the PM. For some reason I don't expect Stella to dip below 50...I will check...and thanks all for checking on us. :mrgreen:
 
Re: Stella 8/8 AMPS/270 +3/112 +5/67

Personally, I think your dose this morning could have gone either way. You could have taken Libby's suggestion to increase or held the dose. The likelihood is that if you increased, you'd see the effect this evening. Holding the dose is fine.

How did you make up the time for the 4.5 hour late shot on 8/6?
 
Re: Stella 8/8 AMPS/270 +3/112 +5/67

hi mary, just curious about what kind of numbers you got after the +7. did you test after that? the nadir can move around in a kitty - it is definitely not an exact science that we can count on, even if they usually do a particular thing. i always like to keep testing til i see the rise and am sure we're past the low point, especially if the lowest point is dancing under 100!

good job going with your decision today. sometimes that's exactly what you need to do. if the dose is too high and she drops, she's letting you know to pull it up with some food. if the dose is too low, she'll stay a little higher and you can increase the dose in the next cycle. no worries on choosing the "wrong" door!

hope you're having a good day.
 
Re: Stella 8/8 AMPS/270 +3/112 +5/67 +7/79

Sienne, I am bumped her back 30 minutes a day, I had been waking up to shoot at 4am. My job sched is odd, and it is never exact...so I don't want it to creep too late. 9am was getting too late to be consistent. If anything...I am a consistent human being. I am told that from people in all areas in my life.

Julie, I just took the +7/79 Keep in mind Stella stole some kibble pieces and I fed her so I knew the next hour was going to go up. I let her sleep, because she likes her sleep and I don't want to stress her by her not getting it. I am a bit stressed today from waking up to get her +6 last night. :lol: Both of us have to relax! :-D

Thanks! More tests to come, but I have to go buy them some more canned food.
 
Re: Stella 8/8 AMPS/270+3/112+5/67+7/79+9/109+11/130PMPS/148

Stella's PMPS was 148. This day is an almost exact repeat of 8/3. I gathered data from that day, and I have a clear picture of what Stella does when she is not given enough insulin (.8U) I do not see skipping a shot as an option since it would most likely make things worse than giving the .8U (25% of her normal dose). So, I opted for door #3 (regular dose). I am now going to see what Stella would do in the case that I was 'shooting blind' with no BG #'s from home testing.

On a good note, I do have Stella's data and I have a very rough idea of what might happen. I am hoping she doesn't go too low, in which case she will earn a reduction. I am hoping upon hope that Stella will somehow regulate herself. She seems to like her 3.25 dose. *crossing fingers* and hoping for the best. You bet I am nervous...Stella is my baby!!! nailbite_smile
 
Re: Stella 8/8 AMPS/270+5/67+7/79+11/130PMPS/148+1/146

Good News! Stella just started using her hind legs when 'fighting' her stuffed toy 'enemies'! :mrgreen: I am so happy she is recovering the muscle action from her Neuropathy stricken hind legs. I am so incredibly hopeful for my little Stella. Yippee!!!!
 
Re: Stella 8/8 PMPS/148 +1/146+3/73

I guess this is going to be a long night. Stella just hit 73 at +3, so I will have to stay up to do some checks to gather data. I have my phone alarm set in case I fall asleep on the couch. Wish us luck!
 
Re: Stella 8/8 PMPS/148 +1/146+3/73

good for you for keeping an eye on her. it's better to lose a little sleep and keep your girl safe. do you have the post printed out on how to handle low numbers? i think you might, but just in case i'm going to post the link here.

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147

If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)

Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of food with high carb (HC) gravy or HC food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using syrup plus LC food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

In the case of an accidental overdose or should there be symptoms of hypoglycemia, even if you have caught this in the early stages, you may need to monitor for literally 16 or more hours. Lantus and Levemir are long acting types of insulin. This means if your cat is over dose, you will need to stay alert for hours in order to closely monitor and to keep your cat safe.

Please post your numbers. Those people who are helping you will not abandon you. In fact, they are staying up with you. The experienced people will even work in shifts to make sure your cat is safe and you have the support you need. Remember to refresh your browser to see new posts and keep posting so we know all is well.

~ written by Sienne and Gabby
 
Re: Stella 8/8 PMPS/148 +1/146+3/73 +4/100

Thanks Julie! :-D

I think the +4/100 is a food spike. I gave her an extra large treat because I wasn't sure how much she would dip. It looks like if I had not done that, she would have held steady. Stella is amazing me.
 
Yes Julie, Stella is teaching me a lot! She is now on a steady rise, so I think it is safe for me to hit the hay...I am tired! Good Night! :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top