8/7 Mama PMPS 256, +6 58...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ellen & Mama

Member Since 2011
Last night Mama's #s went down at +6 to 58 so I fed lots of gravy and gravy food, #s were all over the place for a while but then went back up to over 100 and I fell asleep after +8. Overslept so missed her 9am dose and gave at 10:30 AMPS 345.
I did not have to give her karo but wonder how the gravy food compares to Karo and what to do now, she's still at over 300 at +1.5 so guess I will just wait. How does the late dose and all the gravy affect things? I am doing .25 and not sure how accurately.
She seems to feel OK and is eating.
she's also a little constipated (originally she had an enema when she went into the vet last week) so was going to give her lactulose, but that's a sugar right, so will that mess up the #s??

Ellen & Mama
 
Lots of questions.... But first, today is 8/8 (not 8/7). You want to have today's AMPS and other numbers in your subject line, not yesterday's PMPS, etc.

Lactulose is sugar. Most of us use Miralax for constipation issues. You mix 1/8 teaspoon into food x2/day. Also add water to Mama's food when using Miralax.

Shooting late: Your PM shot will need to be 12 hours from your last shot. You can move shot times by 15 min. at each shot time or 30 min. once a day in order to get back on schedule.

Gravy vs. Karo: Gravy is more of a complex carb vs. Karo which is pure sugar. Each has it's place. If your cat responds well to gravy, it's fine to use. Marjorie's Gracie, for example, needs a lot of gravy over a fairly long period in order to bring her numbers up. Karo or honey works better for them for an immediate response. My cat, Gabby, will get an upset stomach (i.e., ends up with diarrhea) if she eats too much gravy. I tend to use a drop or two of Karo to steer her numbers which is what anyone who has a cat with irritable/inflammatory bowel disease does. (I think Gabby is sensitive to gluten which is in gravy-based food.) Karo is also very helpful if your cat is in very low numbers.

I noticed on your SS you said you fed "lots of gravy." You only need to give about a teaspoon and then retest in 15 - 30 min. to see if it's working. See the sticky on low numbers. Toward the end is a section on how to handle low numbers.

What you're seeing today is a bounce. Mama's liver decided it didn't like the green numbers. Her liver panicked. As a result, it dumped a stored form of glucose and counterregulatory hormones into her system.
 
Sorry - I did the 8/7 because it was last night's #s so if I wrote 8/8 AMPS it would have just been the 345, and my question was more about the #s from 8/7 PM dose and after - does that make sense?

So does this mean she maybe doesn't need insulin and that's why she keeps going so low even on a small dose?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top