Heathy and Mommy
Member Since 2011
I just retested. his numbers were +3 was 39....I gave him honey and fed. He seems ok I will retest in 15 minutes. HELP!
Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of food with high carb (HC) gravy or HC food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using syrup plus LC food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.
. If he looks reasonable, then it's time to sleep to fight another day.Increasing the dose:
•Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
•After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
•After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
Reducing the dose:
•If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
•If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
•Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.
if heathy were mine, i would go right back up to 1.75u tonight.Heathy and Mommy said:I gave Heathy 1U again amps. His amps was 266. I test again later. He ate small amount at +10.5 after the test which resultes in244. Now I gave him a small portion after the amps shot. I'll aim for smaller meals +1 +2 +3 +4.
Big question...do I maintain the 1unoit for 3days or can I go up to 1.75? I understand his numbers will be high for the next 72 hours- right?
no. you can go right back up to the appropriate dose.TrixieCat said:In theory, when you make a dose adjustment - even if it's larger than it should be - you should maintain that dose for at least 6 cycles to see how it works out. With that thought, you should stay at the 1.0U for 5 more cycles since you went with that last night, even though your decrease should have taken you to 1.75U. Lantus does like consistency and bouncing from dose to dose can cause even more wonkiness.
However, someone with more dosing experience may come along shortly, and if they tell you otherwise, definitely follow what they have to say!
Amy