8/26 Smokey AMPS 266!! +8 333 PMPS 341: need incr. advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

SmokeyD

Member Since 2011
Smokey's AMPS was a lovely 266 this morning. Hopefully plans with the parents today will allow for more testing. I'm hoping to get a +6 to +8 hr reading for sure- maybe we'll see some blue! Though I'm not setting my hopes too high. Smokey does seem perkier this morning. He is playing, talking, eating food more like his normal pattern (not that he wasn't eating before but....)- I think his coat is even looking slightly shinier this morning- though that may be pushing it!
 
Re: 8/26 Smokey AMPS 266!!

Good start for Smokey. I know you've had family visiting. It looks like it's time for a dose increase to 1.75u. You may want to do this once you have more flexibility with testing.

Also, we link our previous condo (thread) to the condo you're opening for the day. That way, if we have to go back to look for something, it's easier than searching the entire Board. You copy the URL from your browser and then click the "URL" button above the text box. Paste the location code in between the two sets of brackets.

Here's Smokey's condo from yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=50845
 
Re: 8/26 Smokey AMPS 266!!

Good morning! I don't think we have stopped by to welcome you before, so welcome!!

It is so nice when they start getting better. I didn't realize how sick my kitty was until he started getting better again.

Hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 8/26 Smokey AMPS 266!!

Hi guys .. nice yellow for smokey this morning .. love hearing that he is feeling better .. I wouldn't doubt that his coat is looking better either .. we can't believe how smooth mocha is .. have a great weekend guys!
 
Re: 8/26 Smokey AMPS 266!! +8 333

Just tested Smokey again at +8 hrs and we are UP at 333/357 (I tested twice because I didn't like the number :sad: ) I'm not sure what is happening here... I got a good shot this morning- def not a fur shot...

I will likely up his dose starting tonight. I'll have more time to keep an eye on the numbers Sat and Sun and then we'll be back to our regularly scheduled program on Monday!
 
Re: 8/26 Smokey AMPS 266!! +8 333 Question...

i can't see his spreadsheet - the link doesn't seem to work for me. it looks like only part of it is "hot" in your sig line.

a bounce happens when a cat gets lower than usual - his body releases hormones and stored glucose and then you see the numbers rise. so when you look at his spreadsheet over the past day or two, do you see a time when smokey hit a "lower than usual" number followed by rising numbers? if so, that might be a bounce.
 
Re: 8/26 Smokey AMPS 266!! +8 333 Question...

I re-posted the spreadsheet using the URL button so hopefully it is fixed.

Smokey's PS numbers are usually in the 300s but last night and this morning they were in the 200s. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to get a reading at nadir last night and when I took the reading at +8 (around nadir) it was up. Also, Smokey seems a bit lazy this afternoon and isn't eating a lot. He is eating, just not as much as usual.

I was going to raise the dose by .25 tonight but now I'm thinking of keeping it at 1.5 for a few more cycles...
 
Re: 8/26 Smokey AMPS 266!! +8 333 PMPS 341: need incr. advic

Smokey PMPS was 341, so not really an increase from his +8 numbers. I'm going to need to increase but, given his high +8hr today I'm wondering if I should increase tomorrow AM or wait a few days??
 
Re: 8/26 Smokey AMPS 266!! +8 333 Question...

Thanks for stopping by and saying hi in Willie's condo! There is much to learn, but it is important to not get discouraged. It is all just a process, and you'll get to good numbers soon. Take a peek at Willie's spreadsheet... we too started in less than great numbers!

Julie is right that Smokey may be experiencing a bounce. Right now, his body has readjusted what it considers to be a "normal" BG number to be much higher than what is actually normal. So when the insulin starts doing its job and dropping his numbers, his body sends out a "DANGER!!!" message to his liver, which in turn floods his system with stored glucose and counterregulatory hormones to bring the numbers up to what it perceives to be normal. It can take up to 72 hours for the sugar and hormones to clear his system. We call this period "liver training school," or LTS. While some of our cats are exemplary students who graduate quickly with honors, others have been in remedial classes for some time. :lol: :lol: :lol: Bouncing is just part of the process, and as Smokey's body becomes more accustomed to lower numbers, the bounces should become less intense and less frequent. The best thing you can do right now is get what spot checks you can at different points in the cycle, so you can start putting together a complete picture of how he reacts to Lantus in different situations.

As for the P's...
Peeing
Pooping
Playing
Preening
Purring

All the markers of a healthy, happy cat!! :-D :-D

The biggest thing to remember as you get started is that Smokey's health isn't just about the numbers. Obviously, they are the key to getting FD under control, BUT, the goal isn't just a range of numbers, but rather a happy, healthy cat. be sure to look at those successes as well, especially on days that the numbers aren't where you'd like them to be!

Oh, and you might want to invest in a few pairs of these. Most of us can't live without some version of them!! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 8/26 Smokey AMPS 266!! +8 333 PMPS 341: need incr. advic

I'm not sure I understand your logic.

Here's my thinking. Smokey has been at this dose for 5 days. From when you've been able to get spot checks, his nadir has been over 200. Based on the protocol, the dose is increased by 0.25u after three days when the nadir is in this range. I'd increase tomorrow.
 
Re: 8/26 Smokey AMPS 266!! +8 333 PMPS 341: need incr. advic

I think if you have the flexibility for testing that Sienne referred to and things are a little calmer, I would most definitely increase to 1.75u in the morning.

And welcome to LL....I haven't been on your condo yet. Glad you are here, posting, and asking good questions.
 
Re: 8/26 Smokey AMPS 266!! +8 333 PMPS 341: need incr. advic

OK- I'm going to increase to 1.75 starting tomorrow morning. Smokey just ate a bunch of a new can of FF- maybe he didn't like what I put out before... it is one of his favorite flavors though! Who knows, I've got family visiting and he's not keen on it. I've got everything in one room for him and the visitors aren't going in that room but he may still be unhappy about it...

I'm so glad I've found this forum. The encouragement and advice has been great. I'm trying to get a pic of Smokey up in my profile but haven't figured out how to do it yet (is that the avatar?)
 
Re: 8/26 Smokey AMPS 266!! +8 333 PMPS 341: need incr. advic

Yes....that is the avatar. To do the avatar, pick your photo that you like and then use a Picture Manager program to downsize it to 90x90 or whatever is closest but not over. Save it. Then go to User Control Panel, Profile, Edit Avatar and search your browser for the photo you saved. Click on it and voila!

Good luck with the increase tomorrow!! Let us know if you need help/have questions.
 
Re: 8/26 Smokey AMPS 266!! +8 333 PMPS 341: need incr. advic

:-D i can see smokey. he looks like a cool cat. a cat with dignity who is unconvinced about whatever it is he's looking at! :lol: there's an air of skepticism about him!

the ss link is working now - yuppers, he just looks flat and high. sometimes kitties just need more insulin. ya gotta go up before you come down.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top