8/29 - kt IS 106 - DO I SHOOT? QUESTION ANSWERED

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/29 - kt IS 106 - DO I SHOOT? HELP PLZ

This is a nice #, actually. I'm not one for giving dosing advice, and I'm sure that someone with much more experience than I have will come to your condo and help you with this.

I hope that you have a great day! :)
 
Re: 8/29 - kt IS 106 - DO I SHOOT? HELP PLZ

Right now, you don't have the data to shoot this low. Are you able to stall or will it throw your schedule completely off? (If you shoot late now, you'll need to shoot 12 hrs from whatever time you shoot for your PMPS.)
 
Re: 8/29 - kt IS 106 - DO I SHOOT? HELP PLZ

good morning!
you don't have enough data yet to support shooting on a 106. your best bet is to stall until numbers rise.
there's specific instructions here: STICKY: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - SHOOTING & HANDLING LOW NUMBERS.
scroll down to this section: DEALING WITH LOW PRESHOT NUMBERS.

can you afford to stall? retest every 15 - 20 minutes until you're seeing a good rise. remember, it usually takes a couple of hours before the onset of the insulin. once you're seeing a good rise you know you're safe to shoot because the numbers will only go higher before onset occurs.
 
Re: 8/29 - kt IS 106 - DO I SHOOT? HELP PLZ

last strip and I'm the only one that can drive....store is 30 minutes away. I'm NOT going to shoot and can't retest for about 3 hours. THIS is what I've been dreading happening....
 
Re: 8/29 - kt IS 106 - DO I SHOOT? HELP PLZ

Murphy's Law is a reality. You're going to need to keep a back-up supply of strips. I always re-order on-line when I'm down to my last 100.

Under these circumstances, you can't shoot.
 
Re: 8/29 - kt IS 106 - DO I SHOOT? HELP PLZ

given the circumstances, that's probably the best decision.
lesson learned. don't let your supply of strips dwindle.
 
Re: 8/29 - kt IS 106 - DO I SHOOT? TY! GOT HELP

THANK YOU! You all don't realize just how much of a blessing you all are!!!

Yes Sienne and Jill, lesson learned....wish I could afford to keep a whole box in spare, I WILL figure out how....beans and rice for 3 days...))

How will I ever get him back onto an 8:30/8:30 schedule when something like this happens?
 
Re: 8/29 - kt IS 106 - DO I SHOOT? TY! GOT HELP

Since this is new insulin for you two and since you're not sure what 106 means in regards to dropping further or just being a nice green and most importantly, since you won't be testing for hours...please re-read thisHYPO DOC so you know what to look for and you know what to have on hand....just in case - better to be prepared than panicking!
 
Re: 8/29 - kt IS 106 - DO I SHOOT? TY! GOT HELP

Already have a hypo kit together with everything printed in it. I'm leaving it here with hubby in case he sees anything until I get back. LUCKILY he's strong this morning....
 
Re: 8/29 - kt IS 106 - DO I SHOOT? TY! GOT HELP

If you didn't shoot, there's no risk of hypo.

For the future, if you stall, you can move the shot time one of two usual ways: move it 15 min. per shot or 30 min. once a day. There are instances when you can make up bigger amounts of time but these are the 2 ways that are most typically used. You can shoot up to an hour early if your cat's numbers are very high but it will also require a lot of monitoring. Moving the shot up to 30 min. will not have a huge effect on the numbers in most instances. However, remember that our cats tend to like to hand us a surprise!
 
Re: 8/29 - kt IS 106 - DO I SHOOT? TY! GOT HELP

THAT was one fast shopping trip! Checked him as quick as I got back - was 331. I'm wondering if I got a bad strip this morning. What do I do now? I can't do midnight and 2am. Wouldn't it just be right that I screw this up when we start...
 
Re: 8/29 - kt IS 106 - DO I SHOOT? ANOTHER QUESTION

No, I would just wait and shoot at his normal time for the PM shot. Don't beat yourself up! Just treat the missed shot this morning it like a fur shot, and hop right back on track. :-D
 
Hi guys .. I don't think I have ever stopped into your condo before, so welcome to lantus land from us! I think it was a smart choice not to shoot this morning .. I know it's hard always keeping extra strips around .. what meter are you using? We used the relion micro from wal mart .. I think you can get a box of 20 strips for 9.00 .. those might be nice to have, just in case without breaking the bank ..
 
Thanks Peter and Mocha!

That's now on my 'revolving' list - things sometimes are on there 2-3 trips before they make it to the finish line but they WILL make it. :-D
 
PMPS 420
2.0u at 8:30pm

I truly believe that was a faulty strip this morning - probably to panic me because I'd let myself get down to one strip....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top