9/1 Stella PMPS/126

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mary and Stella

Member Since 2011
Stella's Condo

I have been trying to get Stella back on schedule since my sister made it later and later while she was giving Stella her injections. *sigh* Since Stella got her meds, I didn't make a big deal out of it... so instead of doing the slow and steady backing up of 15 min at a time I did a drastic cut back 3 hours this morning and shot before I left for work because her BG was high (335) and she was in good spirits. Luckily, it paid off with no harm. I am sure 2.5 is the proper dose for the moment, I just don't have enough data to prove it. I do want to be consistent, but Stella is doing great despite me (as usual). She is one STRONG kitty!

You should see the weight on my Stella. She had gone from skin and bones, and now she is back to her healthy, hearty teen age figure. Her neuropathy is almost completely wiped out. If you didn't know she had it...I am sure you wouldn't even notice. It has left a strange bit of an arch in her back, and I am curious to see if that too disappears over time. I hope so.

Boo has at last accepted that her furry companion is back in tip top shape and she and Stella have resumed a regular schedule of their AM/PM 'play' fight/exercise routine. Boo has also decided she will once again eat wet food...she is no longer on strike.

I hope everyone has a great night!
 
Mary:

Shooting 3 hours early is dangerous. It's particularly dangerous if you're not going to be there to monitor. While from the numbers you have, it may look like a non-event, the reality is though, you don't know. Take a look at Gabby's SS on 8/18. Her PMPS was 358 and I shot an hour early. By +5 she was at 49.

For the future, if you are that far off schedule and need to get back on track, it's much safer to skip a shot and shoot at your regular time the next cycle.
 
Hello Sienne- I value your opinion but I disagree. I would never do anything I deem as 'dangerous', that is why I chose to administer her injection.
 
One hour, tops 2 hours is the most we would suggest that someone shoot early. You are entitled to your opinion. I've seen a lot of spreadsheets and sat up enough nights with cats in low numbers to have a different opinion. It's your choice to do what you want. I'm simply offering information that's based on my observations of how shooting early works and understanding of how the overlap between doses of Lantus effects numbers. Do with the information what you will.
 
to be honest, the thought of shooting at +9 and leaving for the day terrifies me. I've been doing this for four years with two different cats, and studied hundreds of spreadsheets and I would not do that. I won't even shoot at +10 if I have to leave the house - maaaaaaaaybe +10 if the cat is in a bounce and I'll be able to monitor all day. You can look at both of my spreadsheets and see notes of where I have skipped shots if I was too off schedule to fix it. There's just way too much potential for numbers to drop out if the bounce clears and there is too much overlap built up. I would much rather come home to a high number than a hypo, and with an early shot you can't predict what your cat will decide to do that day.

I know you would never intentionally do anything dangerous. The kind of people who hang out in LL are the kind of people who are willing to do anything to help make their kitty better, so of course you wouldn't hurt her. You just haven't been here long enough to have seen what can happen - please just trust us when we ask you to not do that again. We're just looking out for you and for Stella.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top