Tarragon +9/52 +10/43 +11/78 +12/76 +13/111 +13.5/127

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melissa & Tarragon

Member Since 2011
I just talked to the vet. Tarragon is bright eyed, bushy tailed, and ready to come home. :-D They started him back on his Lantus this morning. He still hasn't eaten, but they don't think he will until he is home. Ketones are gone, blood work is perfect and BG is 123. She probably would keep him, but since we home test and have 3 days off with him she is comfortable releasing him. They are sending him home with bupe, pepcid, anti-nausea meds, and sub q fluids. She isn't sure he will need those, but wants us to have it on hand and will discuss it with me when I get there.

dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat :RAHCAT dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat

DH and I are having lunch and then he is going home to get the welcoming committee (aka Charlie & Turnup) ready while I go get Tarragon.

Once again, THANK YOU ALL! I know I have been a mess this week. The power of LL worked its magic and Tarragon and I are forever grateful.
 
Re: Tarragon - Coming Home!!

WOOT!! Happy dances being done by all here! Wonderful news!!! Give Tarragon a hug and scritches from me and Jetta!
 
Re: Tarragon - Coming Home!!

What a wonderful update. Feel good post of the day!!!!!!!

Please get some syringes from the vet too in order to start assist feeding if his appetite hasn't picked up. You don't want FHL on top of this. He may just need a mouthful or two to get him in the mood to eat on his own - like priming the engine.

What antinausea medication did they prescribe?

He is one heck of a kitty. Unconscious to coming home in three days. You rock Tarragon!!!!!!!!
 
Re: Tarragon - Coming Home!!

Melissa & Turnup, Champ & DH, so happy for all of you that you will have your precious Tarragon back home with you today. Sounds like a wonderful, compassionate Vet. What a nice welcome for Tarragon when you bring him home. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: Tarragon - Coming Home!!

I'd also suggest getting some baby food. It's easy to digest and most kitties love the stuff. It may work, like Karrie suggested to prime the pump.The Gerber Stage 2 and Beechnut both are plain broth and meat. Gabby likes the Gerber's better but it's higher in carbs (about 7%) due to cornstarch. If Tarragon likes FortiFlora, that may also help with appetite.

This is wonderful news. I think the family will be happy to have Tarragon at home.
 
Re: Tarragon - Coming Home!!

Karrie - I think it was ondansetron. I'm not sure if I spelled that right. Good idea on the syringes! I do need to address the food issue. I suspect that with his IBD the canned food is giving him problems, which is what caused this whole pancreatitis thing. I need to try and figure out what to do about that. I have posted on health to see if someone has some experience with that. The vet talked about the prescription canned (which Tarragon won't eat and I won't feed him), doing higher carb canned, or going back to dry. It is all a tight rope walk from here. He needs some carbs to keep the IBD and pancreatitis away, but not too much to affect his diabetes.
 
Re: Tarragon - Coming Home!!

WELCOME HOME TARRAGON!!!

Wonderful news Melissa - what a fighter this one is. It is so good to read that he feels as good as he does: bright eyed, bushy tailed, and ready to come home. YAY!!
 
Re: Tarragon - Coming Home!!

You know your vet is on top of things. Ondansetron without begging or pleading is impressive! I wish your vet was closer to me. Is he/she younger by chance?
 
Re: Tarragon - Coming Home!!

This is still the ER vet. Yes she is younger, probably 30 or so. Our 24 hour facility really only has vets in that age range.
 
Re: Tarragon - Coming Home!!

Just sneaked in here from work to see if there was an update from you and saw this. What a huge smile this has put on my face. The best news!
Tarragon, you're coming home!!!! :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: Tarragon - Coming Home!!

Dancing!!!!! So glad that Tarragon is coming home today!!!! Smokey and I wish you the best luck with feeding- Smokers wonders how a kitty would not want to eat some FF as he loves his! He suggests freeze-dried meat treats as they are his favorites! Perhaps not the most nutritionally complete diet but ... :lol:
 
Re: Tarragon - Coming Home!!

Is the vet only an ER vet or is there a clinic attached to it where he is also works with non emergency patients? It would be cool if that was the case.
 
Re: Tarragon - Coming Home!!

It is a specialty hospital. 24 hour care, surgery, internal medicine. She is actual an internal medicine vet. You have to be referred by your regular vet. However, I wonder if we can have a standing referral with this diagnosis. I am going to ask that when I am there.
 
Re: Tarragon - Coming Home!!

Melissa & Tarragon said:
Karrie - I think it was ondansetron. I'm not sure if I spelled that right. Good idea on the syringes! I do need to address the food issue. I suspect that with his IBD the canned food is giving him problems, which is what caused this whole pancreatitis thing. I need to try and figure out what to do about that. I have posted on health to see if someone has some experience with that. The vet talked about the prescription canned (which Tarragon won't eat and I won't feed him), doing higher carb canned, or going back to dry. It is all a tight rope walk from here. He needs some carbs to keep the IBD and pancreatitis away, but not too much to affect his diabetes.


Atlas had IBD and he gets raw and canned from Nature's Variety. Now I spoke to them a while back and sent updated info for Binky's page too. The canned is 11-13% carbs. I find though with Atlas those carbs don't seem to spike him up like some of the other tricks or the trade do. It is why I contacted them regarding the canned. I thought it odd, but it works with Attie. Our local Pet Supplies Plus store has started to carry both the dog and cat foods. But the inside tip on that is...the canned dog food is the same as the canned cat food! I asked them about that too and they confirmed it. You are looking for a unique protein like lamb, venison, bison, rabbit.
 
Re: Tarragon - Coming Home!!

dancing_cat dancing_cat

Tarragon's coming home!

Best possible news to start my day.

You probably explained it, but i have missed it in the long postings (although i did look through all the posts!) - i don't understand how he got the pancreatitis & DKA when his numbers were under control. Can you recap it for me? if it's too much, don't bother, i just have been wondering - cuz you think if their BG is under control they're ok, but obviously not.
 
Re: Tarragon - Coming Home!!

Julie - We don't know. He had no ketones on Sunday. I check once a week. His BG's were in line, even while he is in the hospital. He had no ketones on Tuesday at ER, but did on Wednesday. His potassium & phosaphate levels have also been in tolerance the whole time. They don't know why any of that. Maybe it has something to do with the pancreatitis???
 
Re: Tarragon - Coming Home!!

So HAPPY to see this! Tarragon will be thrilled to be home and under your care again. HAve a good day, Melissa....I'll be watching for updates over the weekend. Such good news. :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: Tarragon - Coming Home!!

THE BOY IS COMING HOME!!!!! WHOOOOOOO HOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WE ARE SOOOO HAPPY FOR YOU!
bcatrun_gif dancing_cat flip_cat bcatrun_gif dancing_cat flip_cat bcatrun_gif haha_smiley :thumbup --LUBS YOU GUYS!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: Tarragon - Coming Home!!

I had a few seconds at work to check Tarragon's status and am so excited to read the great news!!! I'm so happy for you and DH and Charlie and Turnup! I sure hope he starts eating once he gets home but I'm sure he will once he finishes greeting the welcoming party.
 
Re: Tarragon - Coming Home!!

flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat Can we say what a PURRRRRFECT start to a nice long weekend!!! WHOOOTWHOOT!!!!!!
 
Re: Tarragon - Coming Home!!

:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT Yay, Tarragon is going home!! dancing_cat flip_cat dancing_cat Melissa I am so happy for you! I'll bet that this afternoon won't come soon enough... bcatrun_gif , but once he finally get home the party will begin :thumbup I can almost feel Yours, your DH, Charlie, and Turnup's excitement. :-D
 
Re: Tarragon - Coming Home!!

Tarragon's home!!!
596392.gif


This condo has been so informative on a number of issues. Just sorry it had to be at L'il Ts expense.

I hope he hasn't figured out just how easy tr is to get beans to bend over backwards to suit is finicky palate! :lol: :lol:
cat_not_good_enough.jpg
 
Re: Tarragon - Coming Home!!

i reread sienne's explanation about the link between DKA-pancreatitis-FD - and what you said above. so it sounds like the pancreatitis was first, or at least "caused" the DKA? maybe?

just glad you're getting to bring the little guy home. i like brent's suggestion of having a camcorder on charlie when tarragon arrives home. i'll bet they'll both be happy. cats are required to be cool through the process, but dogs didn't get that memo. ;-)
 
Re: Tarragon - Coming Home!!

I am SO EXCITED!!!!!! And he's not even my cat so I can image what you're feeling!!! The relief I feel is immeasurable. I'm so glad that he came through this so well and he's GOING HOME. Yay!!!
 
Re: Tarragon - Coming Home!!

Don't cats do the opposite thing when others come home from the vet? Instead of being happy they are hissy? I've seen posts about rubbing the towel with the vet smell on the civvie so they smell the same. Henry has to go to the vet next Tuesday. I wonder if the same applies for just a short visit?
 
Re: Tarragon - Coming Home!!

Welcome Home Tarragon!

Melissa, is it Blue Pearl. They are a 24 hour ER and see cats by referral. They now see Harley on regular basis but the University vet had to recommend it. Of course it helped the the Blue Pearl vet also works at the U and knows Harley.

They give the best care. I would find out if you can continue to go there. I like the fact that they know FD...at least here they do.

Pattie
 
Re: Tarragon - Coming Home!!

YAY! Tarragon is coming home!! I am so glad this all got worked out so quickly. I love this community. Everyone here is just so supportive and kind.

HAVE A WONDERFUL HOMECOMING TARRAGON!
 
Re: Tarragon - Coming Home!!

Tarragon is home! I couldn't get to the video camera fast enough. He left his carrier and went immediately to his "room" and inhaled all of the food DH had gotten ready for him. Little bugger. So he has eaten and used the lb, cleaned himself up to be presentable, and then had it all messed up again by Charlie, who felt he needed a thorough bath. I will post pictures soon. Everyone is thrilled and now both boys are sacked out from all the excitement.

T's BG was 123 when I picked him up at 1. He is now at 77. So...gonna hit the ground running.
 
Re: Tarragon - Home At Last

YAY for Tarragon!!!! :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT And SO happy for you Melissa! Enjoy your baby!!
 
Re: Tarragon - Home At Last

What absolutely fantastic news and to have him eating!!!! He just wanted to eat at home.
We missed you Lil T!!!
WelcomeHome.gif
 
Re: Tarragon - Home At Last

Very Nice!
I'd do my little happy dance, but since I quick drinking I just don't have any rythm anymore!
LOL

Glad everything is going well
 
Re: Tarragon - Home At Last

You were planning a welcome home party for Tagarron, it's sounds like he gave you the gifts: Eating, nice BG #'s, and seeing the best buds together again....priceless!!
 
Re: Tarragon - Home At Last

Your little kitty has a lot of people in LL who love him. My heart is happy for you. Enjoy :smile:
 
Re: Tarragon - Home At Last - Dosing ?

I haven't had a chance to update my ss. Here are today's #s:

AMPS 150
+5 123
+7 77
+8 63
+9 52
+9.5 47
+10. 43

He ate HC at+7. Hasn't had anything since but I did just syringe some gravy & karo.

As you know, he hasnt had Lantus since 8/30 amps. They have been giving him R in his iv for two days and gave him 2 U of Lantus this morning. That was the dose he was on when he got sick so they went with that. They told me to continue the 2 U until my vet instructed otherwise.

Tarragon's BG usually runs higher when he is at the vet. So...I am wondering if 2 is looking like too much or just to go with it if he stops dropping by then (2 hours). We have never had anything but a missed dose but this seems like we are actually starting from scratch. Any thoughts would be appreciated!
 
Re: Tarragon - Home At Last - DOSING ?

2u might be too much right now. I guess we'll have to see where he is in 2 hours. I assume you have lots of strips and HC? It's not generally a good idea to skip a shot so soon after a DKA, so I think we'll want to try to get some insulin into him. How much insulin and when remain to be seen. :?

Test again to be sure the karo stopped the drop...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top