9/2 Rusty PMPS 238, +4.5 217 lab results attached

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=51303

Good Morning, Everyone,

Thanks for visiting us yesterday.
Rusty is continuing to climb, and to top it off, I think I may have given a fur shot (or partial fur shot) this morning. It's a bit depressing. I will get the lab results later this morning. I'm hoping this morning's bg number is a continuation of the "after-blue" spike we saw yesterday evening, but if a fur shot is involved, who knows where Rusty will go today. His appetite is fine, but I think he may be peeing a bit more often than usual. If it's a UTI, I want to get him started on antibiotics and not have to wait out a holiday weekend.

After we get everything straightened out and have dealt with any infections or dental problems, I will ask Libby, Jill, and Sienne to check the upward trend shown on Rusty's SS since the spring to see if he might be getting too much insulin (thanks for this suggestion Ann, Carolyn, Marje). But for now I don't want to add a new variable to the mix.

We are thrilled to read that Tarragon is coming home today. Positive thoughts for him and for all our kitties who can use some.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 9/2 Rusty AMPS 256

I had to go back and read Rusty's condo from yesterday since work kept me from visiting any condos at all!! I would love Champ to have Rusty's numbers, but after looking over Rusty's SS, I completely understand your concern. He is definitely a blue/green kitty so when there's yellow, something's going on. I sure hope it' an easy fix!!

btw...what kind of scale do you use? I've always weighed Champ by holding him and weighing myself on my digital scale, then weighing just me, and then subtracting my weight from our combined weights. I know that's not a very accurate way of doing it and I want to get the right kind of scale so I can keep track of any increases/decreases in his weight.
 
Re: 9/2 Rusty AMPS 256

Patty,

A baby scale - a digital one with a "hold" weight works well for weighing cats. Watch Freecycle or Craig's list for one. Babies outgrow them very fast!

Claudia
 
Re: 9/2 Rusty AMPS 256

Hi Ella, I hope you can get some answers as to why so high for Rusty. So sorry about a possible fur shot! If you want company, I think I shot just air into Maggie! :roll: Catch up later on Rusty's reports.
 
Re: 9/2 Rusty AMPS 256

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: I understand. It is best toget the "usual suspects " eliminated first. I hope it may be something simple. We are all hoveing over Rusty's condo, looking for good news. Sending "speed it up" vines to the test analyzers!
 
Re: 9/2 Rusty PMPS 238, test results

Hi again,
Finally made it back to the board. Rusty surfed pretty flat yellow all day (+5.5 223, +7 215, +9.5 240, PMPS 238), so I guess the fur shot was only a partial one (this evening, however, there were 2 small drops left in the syringe!!). We got Rusty's labs back and the vet was pleased. She thinks he is doing great for a senior cat (she thinks he's between 10 and 12 or 13 years old). The main issue at the moment is that there are a lot of crystals in his urine (the urinalysis was done by cystocentesis). She thinks he might have a stone and when we take him in to do the dental on Sept. 12th, she will do an x-ray to see if a stone is present. In any event, there was no bacteria in his urine and no white blood cells, so she has ruled out a UTI. He has excellent renal values and excellent thyroid values. I am going to try to scan the lab report and attach it to this condo (or do a Google document, if I can figure out how).

So now that a UTI has been rejected as a cause for his higher bgs (of course, the vet doesn't think they are high!), I presume that the cause is his teeth/gums/tartar. So we scheduled a dental for Sept. 12th. Stay tuned!

Thanks for keeping us in your thoughts today. Rusty is on the way to Attie's weekend party.

Ella & Rusty

Back later if I can get the lab results scanned and uploaded.
 
Re: 9/2 Rusty PMPS 238, test results

just seeing this now, I'm happy Rusty's tests came back normal and all is well. Hope the dental does the job and brings his BG's down.
 
Re: 9/2 Rusty PMPS 238, test results

(((Ella))): I know this is distressing because Rusty has always been so consistent. I'm glad he has great bloodwork results and no UTI. I know Sep 12 cannot come soon enough for you so you can get the dental done and get back to Rusty numbers at lower Rusty doses.

Thinking of you.

Rusty...let's goooooo....lots to do...Tobes has to help with the fish (with his big muscles) and I got drinks to make. Attie has the grill ready for you!!
 
Re: 9/2 Rusty PMPS 238, test results attached

Hi again,
I'm going to try to upload the test results to this condo now as an attachment, and tomorrow will try to get them into a Google Doc.
Here goes: Please let me know if this works!!

Ella
 

Attachments

Re: 9/2 Rusty PMPS 238, test results attached

Ella, I'm so happy about Rusty's good lab reports. I'm hoping that the dental will prove to be the problem with his rising numbers.
Have a wonderful weekend. :smile:
 
Fingers crossed that this downward trend continues and maybe we'll get into blue tonight. Everyone have a good evening and a great holiday weekend.

Ella & Rusty
 
Hi Ella - scans work! I wish I could give some insight.... I am glad that the vet thinks the results are good. Good luck wit the dental! Mannie needs one too.

I am glad to see his +4 is down some. come on Rusty - you can do it! Find those blues!

Hang in there Ella - it will get better. It is so frustrating when their Numbers aren't what they should be. Mannie sure has thrown me a few curves in that area. :-D I hope the dental helps, it should.
 
Glad to see the lab results were good!! Now at least you can have the dental, check for a stone, & then he will be free & clear!! Looks like he is coming down already!--Hugs & Love & rest easy my dears--
Have a great weekend too! :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top