9/7 Tigger AMPS 328 PMPS 425 +1=357

Status
Not open for further replies.

hnkstr

Member Since 2011
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=51645&p=556726#p556726

Well Julie, I think it would have been fine if I just said Vacuuming and or a bath, but both together was too much! :lol:
Obviously i'm for equal opportunity here, and being i'm single I better be able to do everything! Read that post to your husband and see what he says! :-D
Single guy on a cat website talking about vacuuming and baths, yeah I needed to throw in some testosterone!
:lol: :lol:

I don't get it though, the vacuuming and mopping just kill my lower back where I have the torn disk, its not that hard considering I used to load windows into semis at 30,000 lbs a shift, and vacuuming screws me up? :lol: :lol:

Ok back to Tigger. He came in at 328 this morning. Not sure if it was a bounce or what, and to be honest I still don't completely get the bounce. He did finally stabilize last night and came down.
 
Re: 9/7 Tigger AMPS 328

Oh, here is my little technique for testing Tigger. Now when its time to test I get on my knees with the meter and he rubs up on me and lays down for his test.
Prescription bottle in the ear for a nice solid back ground and prick the outter edge of the ear.
 

Attachments

  • Tigger Ear Test.jpg
    Tigger Ear Test.jpg
    123.2 KB · Views: 401
Re: 9/7 Tigger AMPS 328

Oh, and for the CSU treatment, well I have no idea how in the world I would get Tigger to Colorado. He barely handles the 5 mile drive to the Vet.
I'm actually going to talk to Mayo and see what they have down there for animals. I'm told they have a huge area for that, but haven't seen it.
That's still a haul for him, but closer than CSU.

Since he is only 5 years old, I should investigate that treatment.
 
Re: 9/7 Tigger AMPS 328

Good morning! Hope your bath helped last night and your back is feeling better. Guys can take baths too! Why should women have all the fun. It does wonders on a aching back though. You should get some biofreeze. That stuff is wonderful.

Tigger still isn't that bad this morning. Light pink is better than that ugly red any day.

Hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 9/7 Tigger AMPS 328

Well, the bath didn't help. My back is pretty ticked this morning.
My sister is a chiropractor so I do have some biofreeze, but this is a tear down in the disc and it doesn't seem to penetrate that far, but you are right its good stuff.

Hopefully Tigger fares better today!
 
Re: 9/7 Tigger AMPS 328

my husband vacuums and takes baths too, brent, so he would be unphased by it! back problems are tough - hard to think of anything else when your back hurts.

i'll be curious what mayo has for cats! it's a 20ish hour drive for us to colorado, but we drive like, well fast. punkin hates going to the vet but i think once we get more than 15 minutes into the drive he realizes we're not going to the vet and he calms down. 20 hours is a long time to yowl! :lol: i'll turn up the radio!
 
Re: 9/7 Tigger AMPS 328

Hi guys ... sorry to see tigger bouncing this morning .. I never got bounces either .. heck, I never understood half of mocha's numbers .. I just had to go with them .. hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 9/7 Tigger AMPS 328

Its all good, but does your husband post it on message boards or does he just keep that between you guys? :lol: :lol:

Just thought it sounded funny, so I had to add some man vibes in there. :-D

As for the back, yeah this stinks. I have a herniated disc in my neck that i've been dealing with for a few years and now this disc tear in my lower back from April/May.
And per Mayo, no Prednisone or Insjections until we can get the Adrenal thing figured out.

Probably going to be pain meds and muscle relaxers until Mayo is done probing. :lol:

I'm hoping for a little more cooperation from Mr Tigger today when I get home! :-D Cannot take another day like yesterday, wow. If it is, then I'm just putting down a whole 13 oz can of Friskies right out of the gate!
 
Re: 9/7 Tigger AMPS 328

Hey Julie,
Just read them but didn't see the bounce called out specifically. I have been told they jump after increase, is that the bounce then?

Tigger just came in at a PMPS of 425 and absolutely starved when I got home. I dosed him with 1u of R and gave him some chicken.
He was 430 at +11 when I got home and upped the R from .5u to 1u today.

Damn this Acro and IAA..
 
glad the R is moving him some. i know how discouraging it is, brent. you hate to see him in big numbers.

there are 2 factors - one is the new dose wonkiness. that happens when you increase the dosage. uh, i just explained to someone else - i'm gonna just copy it. it's written for someone brand new, but maybe it has some/any new information for you. i think it's helpful to really get a good grasp of how the Lantus works so you can 'read' tigger's spreadsheet and see when to increase and when to hold. i think no matter how big the dose gets, the action's going to be the same and there are going to be times you want to hold the dose 4-6 cycles to see what it does - whether it's a bounce or not. does this help at all?

you've asked a few times about why an increase in dose might make missy's numbers time. i looked through all the posts but am not seeing that answered. It's really important for you to understand how Lantus works - a lot of what we do on the Lantus forum is teach that. when you understand how it works you'll be able to apply what you learn to helping missy.

Lantus is injected as a liquid, but it forms a crystalline micro-precipitate (think tiny crystals) under the skin after injection. then those crystals dissolve slowly. when you start out on lantus at first it's nearly all crystallizing, so not much is available to work on the glucose in the cat's body. as shots continue the lantus precipitate increases in the cat's body and more of the earlier injections is dissolving and becoming available to work on that glucose. you're injecting it in, it's forming crystals and the crystals are dissolving, all at the same time - so a constant supply and release system is being created.

getting an image of how it works?

at some point you reach the "sweet spot" in dosing and now you've got enough being released from the precipitate, and enough being injected in, so that the kitty's blood sugar is evening out and becoming regulated.

lantus is a slow-acting, gentle insulin. because of its slow action, we have to be patient in waiting for it to work in a cat's body. when i increase punkin's dose by .25 (that's 1/4 of 1 unit - a teeny tiny amount) i then wait about 3 days before i even consider making a change in his dose. that's a very safe way to change doses. if a kitty has sustained blood sugars of over 300 all the time we have the option of increasing by .5 units. we never change by a whole unit unless a cat has a diagnosed condition that changes the game plan. for the majority of cats we change doses by .25 units.

there is also something we call New Dose Wonkiness It's counter-intuitive, but when a dose is increased, sometimes the cat's blood sugar raises and it might take 3 days for that to pass. we wait for it to pass before we change doses again.

also because of how Lantus works, the lowest point of the 12 hour cycle determines dose changes. that's why Sam is suggesting a test 3 hrs after her evening shot. a lot of cats have lower blood glucose at night, for some reason. so we don't know when that lowest point is going to be, but we chase after that elusive number so that we can adjust doses properly.

one last little teaching point - most of us feed our cats in the first 3-4 hours after their shot. there is a waning action in the second half of the 12 hour cycle, so if you're giving food at that time there isn't as much insulin available to deal with the carbs. unless a cat is in a crisis (ie, not eating, diabetic ketoacidosis, etc.) we usually don't feed anything within 2 hours of the next shot. that lets us see clearly what the "real" blood sugar is that isn't affected by food when we're checking to see if it's safe to shoot. there are times when a cat is in a crisis that eating trumps everything else, so this doesn't apply all the time, but as long as missy is overall doing ok, not feeding her in the second half of the insulin 12 hour cycle would be helpful. shooting consistently (ie, trying to shoot as close to 12 hr intervals as possible, having an appropriate dose so you don't have to skip shots, etc.) will also help missy get stabilized as quickly as possible.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top