9/8 Ahmin AMPS94, +6.5 124. PMPS 77

Status
Not open for further replies.

christine&ahmin

Member Since 2011
Hi guys, Good morning!!!

Ahmin's bg is not very good today & yesterday. I'm not sure if he ate any dry food coz i found my mom fed dry at her room to other kitties & I saw Ahmin sneaked into her room, then I took him out & he was brushing his teeth when I released him. I found once yesterday & once this afternoon.
I told my mom since Ahmin DX that he can't have dry food anymore, she promised me will not feed him dry food, but she's not willing to feed wet to other kitties as well. I explained to her many times, but she still insist. so now is some dry & some wet to other kitties.
I already giving all my time to Ahmin & my DH sacrifice his day off also (coz DH taking over my duties in the company), we wish he can recover very soon, there's only one more step to achieve, we really dont wanna fail.
I decided to give all the dry food in my house to the Cat's Caring Charity, i'll explain to my mom again....wish she would understand me.....

So now what am i gonna do?? :sad: Keeping the same dosage, wait & see or need to increase dosage?? Guys, pls kindly give me some advice :cry: :cry:
 
Re: 9/8 Ahmin AMPS94, +6.5 124. Increase dosage???

I need to run to work, but I know someone will be on the board to help you, shortly, or in a little while.
The +6.5 124 could be from some dry food, right?
 
Re: 9/8 Ahmin AMPS94, +6.5 124. Increase dosage???

I studied ahmin numbers, I found his numbers are increasing slightly in the past few cycles (really very slightly, appreciate if someone here can help me to figure out).
I'm not sure +6.5's number is because of the dry or not, coz I didn't see him eating the dry, I just saw him licking his mouth & brushing his teeth when he came out from my mom's room, and my mom left some dry food in her room to other kitties, so I guess ahmin probably ate some dry.
 
Re: 9/8 Ahmin AMPS94, +6.5 124. Increase dosage???

Those blues are still within the normal BG range. I would just keep doing what you're doing.

A couple of thoughts for your mom... How about showing your mom Ahmin's spreadsheet and what happens when he eats dried food. I'd also ask her if she knew you were a diabetic, would she give you cookies? (That's what dried food is like.) If she reads English, you could also let her look at Dr. Lisa Pierson's website on feline nutrition. She has an excellent discussion on the evils of dry food.

I would give the dry food until your AMPS to clear. If Ahmin is back in green numbers, how about taking the dose reduction to 0.1u. Sometimes too much insulin can cause a rise in numbers.
 
Re: 9/8 Ahmin AMPS94, +6.5 124. Increase dosage???

Hi guys .. sorry to hear about the possible kibble raid in your house .. I know it is hard, we have a civvie kitty who only eats kibble and mocha who can only eat wet .. our biggest fear is forgetting to take up one of the bowls .. I hope your mom understands you soon!
 
Re: 9/8 Ahmin AMPS94, +6.5 124. Increase dosage???

Bummer about the kibble raid! Ahmin's numbers are still looking good though. Have a wonderful day!!
 
Re: 9/8 Ahmin AMPS94, +6.5 124. Increase dosage???

Ahmin's SS sure is a pretty shade of green. Good luck going to the 0.10 dose......I think what Sienne means by too much insulin causing higher numbers, if the body feels like it has too much insulin, to keep from going too low, the liver will release stored glucagon raising the body's blood sugar levels, keeping the kitty in safe numbers. I am not explaining it well, Sienne or someone will have a better explanation.

Good luck on getting your mom to stop feeding the dry food....that is always a tough one! Have a good day or is it evening?
 
PMPS is 77, very glad he back to the green. i reduce the dose to 0.1u, wish Ahmin will be fine with it :mrgreen:
I believed he must have ate the dry food around +6 :-x , so that bumped him to 124. DRY FOOD IS EVIL :evil:
 
Congratulations on the decrease! Almost there (anti-jinx.) That really wasn't much of a rise from the kibble. When you know a probable cause, you can make allowances.
 
You are right Christine, dry food IS evil :twisted: --You can easily get the other cats off it by mixing the dry food with the wet, & decreaasing some dry everyday, till they are eating only wet food--
Dry food is one of the reasons why so many dogs & cats have FD--Too much carbs!!
You & Dh are doing a great job!! Ahmin is doing wonderful, but just be patient, and be consistant, and all will be well with your kitty!--He is gettng much better--good numbers--Just take it slow, and give it some more time.
 
you are doing just great! tell your mom that her cats will live longer and be healthier on canned food too! punkin used to get bladder infections every year on the dry food - he hasn't had any problems since we changed to canned food. so it's good for more than just diabetics - it's good for every cat.

looks like ahmin's numbers are back to being great - so whatever he nibbled on must be gone out of his system. yay!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top