Hi again Richie! So now knowing more info, I'm going to give you the "what I would do if I were you" scenario. Before that....I want to make extra sure you know where this advice is coming from, it's strengths and it's limitations. I am a nurse by trade and have been treating diabetics for years, critically ill diabetics. I have a diabetic cat that I have only been treating for 2 months. There are soooo many similarities, but equally as many differences. There are some gals on this board (Sienne, Jill, Libby, just to name a few) that could run circles around 99% of the vets out there when it comes to the right thing to do with feline diabetes and these girls have been treating diabetic cats for years and helping people treat their cats for years....so please, if something I say here doesn't make sense, or if there's a "why" to it - please ask, and if one of these ladies says something differently than I...
give it tons of weight. I'm an organized person by nature and so goes my mind....For me, getting a schedule down was key and if I can offer you a bit of assistance in telling you what I do....hopefully it will ease this transition for you. Ultimately, Clyde is your little guy and you will make decisions everyday that are different than someone else - which is A-OK - it's a learning process and everyone's lives are different.
FOR NOW:
1. Get your spreadsheet together and while you're waiting on Lantus, test Clyde when ever you can so that the two of you can get a routine down and you can get a hang of it.
2. Get used to posting each day and updating your spreadsheet each day with those tests.
3. Continue on Humulin while you're waiting and ALWAYS test before each shot. As long as you're seeing those high numbers, shoot away.
4. Read the Stickies over and over.
5. Get your self an autofeeder (this will make more sense when you read on). This is the one I use, it works fine, nothing great, nothing terrible...just fits the bill.
Pet Feeder
CONSISTENT SCHEDULING (based on the knowledge that you leave at 5AM and return at 4:30PM M-F)
Shooting M-F: ***Lantus is shot on a 12/12 schedule -
THIS IS KEY......soooo....
Your shooting times will be 4:45AM and 4:45PM (there is a 15 minute window. It is based off the previous shot. For example: If you shot at 4:45AM, you could shoot at 4:30PM or 5:00PM).
Remember....12 hours is key.
Testing M-F: You will ALWAYS test before your morning shot (AMPS) and your evening shot (PMPS).
For Lantus, especially when you're new, don't shoot under 200. To put a "time" to it, let's say 4:40AM and 4:40PM (you'll soon figure how long this will take you).
Testing at night M-F: This is a time for you to gather data, so the more you can get in, the better; especially early in the process. I always test my cat at +2 and +3 (2 hours after the PMPS) because this is when I can generally "see what's beginning to happen". Please note - this is my cat and Clyde may very well be different. The only way you're going to be able to figure it out is to test at different times throughout that night cycle (and weekends of course, which we'll address in a bit). I continue to test until bedtime, at different hours, sometimes 2 apart, sometimes 1 and I often set my alarm in the middle of the night at different times so I can see what's happening through a true 12 hour cycle - if you can do this great, if not - no sweat, we'll gather more on the weekend.
Feeding M-F Since your not home to test during the day, the safe bet is to make sure that Clyde has an access to food when the insulin begins to peak. Since we don't know just yet what Clyde s peak looks like, we'll guesstimate based on what's "usually" seen (this average number is +6...which is 6 hours after AMPS). If I left free food down when I went to work, my always starving cat would eat the whole enchilada in one sitting....so this is where auto-feeder comes in to play. If Clyde just grazes, you may not need this step. For this purpose, I'm going to assume he's a chow hound and that an auto-feeder will be used. Sounds like you have a handle on how much to feed Clyde during the day, we just need to take that number and divide it out through the course of the day. Since I don't have "your exact amount", let's just use 10 ounces per day for example's sake. What you would do is take that 10 ounces and divide it by 2, so 5 ounces will be fed during the morning, and 5 ounces would be fed during the evening. During the day, I would further take that 5 ounces and split it up into multiple meals, all based on when you shoot, when you leave home, when your wife leaves home and what Clyde's peak is (you'll also hear the term nadir). Food usually passes through their system in 1-2 hours. So....in a perfect world, you would feed him 1.25 ounces at 4:45AM when you gave the shot, 1.25 ounces at 6:45 AM when your wife was leaving, set the auto-feeder to feed another 1.25 ounces at 8:45AM and the second auto-feeder bowl to feed at 10:45AM. For me this is about safety and what I do with my cat during the days when I'm not home. For me, it assures that if his sugar were to drop into a dangerous level, he'd have some food there to gobble up to help raise it.
WEEKENDS The only thing that is really going to be different here is your ability to test more consistently. I would recommend that once per weekend you run what's called a "curve". It's a more formal way to data collect. Pick 1 of the 12 hour cycles that occurs and test every 2 hours through that cycle. So if you chose Saturday morning as your Curve Cycle: your AMPS would be 4:45AM, +2 @ 6:45AM, +4 @ 8:45, etc...all the way to +10 @ 2:24PM. Then...we'll really be able to see what he does through the day!
LANTUS ARRIVES: First...YIPPEE, YIPPEE!!
Now it's decision time...how much and when to begin. You said Clyde weighs 18 lbs. If you use the formula in the
Tight Protocol....2 Units is just about the perfect dose. But there are some considerations. The three biggies I see are as follows: He's been on another insulin, we don't know how he reacts to Lantus, and we don't know what day your going to start.
Here's where you have to take what everyone says, and make the best decision based on you, what's good for Clyde, your tolerance and your risk. The main goal for me is safety first, so know that my recommendation is based on that. I do not have years of experience of diabetic cats and Lantus, In such scenarios, I tread very lightly and always err on the side of caution. The guiding and deciding factors for me is this: Your are not home during the week to test - this creates a huge unknown (because #1, we do not yet have data, and #2, we don't know how Clyde will respond). So although 2 units may be the ideal dose, based on his weight, there are too many unknowns for me to call it ideal dose to start. I would say 100% go for it if you knew you could monitor him as he adjusted and as data was collected. But unfortunately we do not have that luxury....so.....if he were mine, I would start lower...and my preference would be to start on a Friday when you know you are going to be around the weekend - Remember, the protocol says to monitor closely for the first 3 days and know that the first dose can take up to 5-7 days to see the effect. Because of both of the pieces of info....
If the Lantus came in and Monday AM was your start, I would probably start as low as 1 Unit because it's a long week of unknowns. If you were closer to Friday, I may consider 1.5. If he's sick and really needs to get going....suddenly 2 units makes sense because lower blood sugars become more of a priority. Again....this is where you have to decide what works for you and for him based on the information given.
TO RECAP
M-F: Test at 4:40AM and 4:40PM and as often at night as possible
Shoot at 4:45AM and 4:45PM (as long as bg is over 200)
Feed at 4:45AM, 6:45AM, 8:45AM, 10:45AM and 4:45PM (split the night too if preferred)
Weekends: Test at 4:40AM and 4:40PM, a curve on either Saturday or Sunday
Shoot at 4:45AM and 4:45PM (as long as bg is over 200)
Feed at 4:45AM, 6:45AM, 8:45AM, 10:45AM and 4:45PM (split the night too if preferred)
If everything I've said up to this point resonates and you still don't feel like you know what dose to start with...ask the opinion of others. Make sure you give them the important points so that they can advise you responsibly.
I hope that this gives you some clarity as to how to begin and what will work for you guys.
I'd be remiss if I didn't reiterate again that there are people here with a lot more cat/insulin experience than I, so keep your eyes peeled for their advice - it's priceless.