9/29 Jetta PMPS 376 +2.25 265 Advice? and a pic

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jacspets

Member Since 2011
Yesterday Jetta 9/28
Happy Thursday! The week on on the downhill- Yahoo!!!

So, Jetta's AMPS is awful, BUT It's food related I'm sure. I found her eating 1/2 hour before the test. Whoops :shock: She's starving today! Which is good, she still needs to gain weight. The Miralax seems to be agreeing with her and I think she's all cleaned out from her weekend back-up. She's had two lovely BMs in the past 24 hours. It's hilarious how exciting poo can be :lol:

I'll be watching her numbers closely today. I'm still not convinced that my Lantus is packing it's full punch.
 
Re: 9/29 Jetta AMPS 404

Yay! Great to hear about the good poos. Yes, only on FDMB will you hear that. :lol:

Hope Jetta comes down for you today and that it is just a food spike. Have a great day!
 
Re: 9/29 Jetta AMPS 404 +3 255

Hi guys .. sorry to see the food related amps this morning, but you can see by +3 she's making her way down nicely .. and yay on the LB action! I won't be around tomorrow so have a great weekend!
 
Re: 9/29 Jetta PMPS 376 Advice?

OK- I'm really not comfortable with Jetta's numbers. Do I

1. Up her dose?
-or-
2. Try new insulin first? I'm 6 weeks in to a giant vial.

Thanks.
 
Re: 9/29 Jetta PMPS 376 Advice? and a pic

I don't think it's the insulin.

What I see on Jetta's spreadsheet is a cat who is doing some serious diving and bouncing, even on a fairly small dose. Last night she dropped from pink to blue by +2, when most cats haven't even seen onset yet. She probably kept dropping for a while last night, and today looks like a bounce. Bounces aren't necessarily caused just by low numbers, they can also be triggered by fast drops. She might have gone low too (some later spot checks at night would be nice), but for sure she plunged fast.

Has anyone talked to you yet about carb manipulation? Some cats that like to drop fast and early have benefitted from spreading their meals out over the first few hours of the cycle to help cushion those drops. Gabby and Gracie (this is her Lantus spreadsheet) come to mind right away. It looks like you are home a lot, would that be something you would be able to try? Basically you take the amount you are feeding at PS and just divide it into several mini meals. Feed 1/4 of the food at PS, 1/4 at +1, 1/4 at +2, and maybe 1/4 at +3. You can tweak the timing and amounts as you start to see what works best. The goal is to keep her from plunging so quickly early in the cycle, get her cycles to flatten out (and they will probably flatten out a little higher), then once she is more flat you can increase the dose a tiny bit to help bring the range down. This technique seems to work pretty well for cats that are on tiny doses and still like to dive. What do you think?
 
Re: 9/29 Jetta PMPS 376 Advice? and a pic

Jetta is very beautiful and she is so content and happy in the picture! That tummy is hard to resist. :lol: Thank you for posting the picture.
Liz
 
Re: 9/29 Jetta PMPS 376 Advice? and a pic

Hi Libby and THANK YOU for your input.

I get what you're saying about fast drops, and I do spot check later in the AM cycle anyhow. Yesterday I know she dropped a lot at +2, but she only came down a bit more by +4. Early on I discuseed with a few poeple that Jetta's nadir seems to be somewhere between +2.5 and +4. I know, odd, most cats are just getting onset there. I've seen 200 points drops before +2 before (most recently 9/25)

I feed Jetta A LOT early in the cycle. As it is now, she gets about an ounce with her shot, another ounce or so by +1, eats again by +2, and again between +3 and 4. Then she's usually not interested in food again until around +7. She eats between 6 and 8 ounces per day depending on her mood of FF classics (3 rotating flavors). 80% of her food consumption is spread out over 3 hours within both of her shots. I am home alot- I work from home 90% of the time, So I'm all for changing things up! and experimenting but it sounds to me like I'm already doing what you suggested.
 
Re: 9/29 Jetta PMPS 376 Advice? and a pic

Jetta's pattern is a lot like Gabby's. Her typical nadir is around +3 or +4 but has hit her low point as early as +2. She can dive fast and early. (See 8/12 in the AM cycle for an example.) If feeding equal amounts over the first 4 hours isn't giving you results, you might try giving Jetta half of her AM (or PM) food at shot time and then feeding the remaining 1/4 at +1 and +2. Using food to manipulate the curve isn't an exact science. It's more trial and error.
 
Re: 9/29 Jetta PMPS 376 Advice? and a pic

Blackie's nadir used to be about +4, but not anymore. She likes to get low about +3 now. :lol: Case in point, I tested about 9:00 p.m. CST (my time), and she was 48. Out came the HC, and 0.20 oz. was given, along with her 0.50 oz. Evo.

I, too, feed mini meals and it does help to cushion the drops (except in this evening's case... She dropped! :lol: ) May be something to consider. :smile:
 
Re: 9/29 Jetta PMPS 376 Advice? and a pic

Jetta is absolutely STUNNING. Compared to Champ, she's such a skinny minny!!!

Just a btw...my first vial of insulin lasted over 80 days. I switched to a pen to see if Champ's numbers got better and they remained the same so I know the vial was still good at the 80 day mark. As long as you treat it carefully, it'll last a good long while.
 
Hi Jaclyn,

No advice here - just wanted to say I love that adorable picture! :-D
Altho, you know I can't help but picture Jetta sitting on her own throne next to a pharaoh ;-)
 
Thanks Sienne and Angela. I will play with her feedings.

So do you all think I leave her dose? My concern us too much pink and yellow over the past week. Are you thinking that's related to her quick drops? I struggle with that since she has had quick drops all along but had a lot more blue and even
good greens 2 weeks ago.

Thanks Patty! She is stunning! And Michelle I know! Even as a 6 month old kitten the shelter had it right by naming her Egypt!!
 
LOVE the pic! ohmygosh she's adorable - the belly just invites scritches!

sounds like you have to be a detective to figure out what's going to help jetta slow down the zooming. good luck!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top