9/30 KT AMPS-80/104/123/164/288 +8-339 +10-380 Shoot Early?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squeaky and KT (GA)

Member Since 2011
EDIT TO ADD 2 CONDOS:

9/29 - flat yellows
9/28 - the LAST dance

Squeaky and KT said:
Sienne and Gabby said:
I'm not entirely convinced that the bounce has cleared. I'd also suggest to keep an eye on things tomorrow. For many cats, a flat yellow cycle is a "warning" that an active cycle will follow. I'm not sure that today's cycles could get any flatter or any more yellow.

Hey BooBoo - you and KT been hangin' out together today! Oh crap....hope KT's not "many cats....."

Hugs tired Bean,

Good Morning LLand! I sure am glad I stopped by Bink's (correction - Boo Radley's condo) condo last night and found Sienne's statement above - it warned me! Sure enough, we're takin' this ride again today! We just DID this dance day before yesterday!!!

+11 - 64
+11.5 - 60
Not shootin' but not freaking out either!
 
Re: 9/30 KT +11-64 +11.5-60 Here we go again!

And I bet that KT was green over night!

Remember to not feed if you're stalling.

(And I think I posted that in Boo Radley/Jessica's condo.)
 
Re: 9/30 KT +11-64 +11.5-60 Here we go again!

+11.75 - 66

We're still stalling and he's screaming FUD FUD FUD!

Can I give him some boiled chicken? I don't think that has carbs does it?
 
Re: 9/30 KT +11-64 +11.5-60 +11.75-66 +12-70 Here we go ag

a little chicken treat won't hurt. I use that as testing treats sometimes.

I see the 70. Can you do another 15 minutes? When do you need to shoot?
 
Re: 9/30 KT +11-64 +11.5-60 +11.75-66 +12-70 Here we go ag

Glad to see that you're not panicking! Hope that KT starts to rise and you can shoot!
 
Re: 9/30 KT +11-64 +11.5-60 +11.75-66 +12-70 Here we go ag

+12.5 - 72

Gave some boiled chicken as he just SCREAMED 'FUD FUD FUD' - He's VERY loud!

I can shoot whenever - I'll just have to deal with it. I usually don't do past 10a/10p but I THINK we're getting closer and closer to GOOD...I don't want to screw it up this time. He only did 1 day of bounce into yellows this time. I'll just have to work it back.
 
Re: 9/30 KT +11-64 +11.5-60 +11.75-66 Here we go again!

Linda for Weezer said:
Trying out for DWTS? I'll vote for you!!

I think we'd win if we drew a Quick Step! We just practiced day before yesterday!

Day before yesterday I was hollering 'STOP STOP STOP'
Today I'm hollering 'GO BABY GO'!! :-D :-D
 
Re: 9/30 KT +11-64 +11.5-60 +11.75-66 +12-70 +12.25-72

yeah, he's not bouncing much, which is GREAT but makes it harder to know when to shoot. :lol: If his pattern from the other day holds, he might surf for a while. When you stalled on the 28th, did you feed or not?
 
Re: 9/30 KT +11-64 +11.5-60 +11.75-66 +12-70 +12.25-72

I fed that morning. Something not carby - I THINK it was fishy something.

+13 - 75

I added links to first post for yesterday's flat yellows as well as a link to day BEFORE yesterday when we did this dance the first time!

WHAT ABOUT SHOOTING A REDUCED 2.0U AGAIN?? This was really the point of my questions yesterday evening about his late nadirs.
 
Re: 9/30 KT +11-+12.5-64/60/66/70/72 +13-75

+13.25 - 75

I think he's just gonna surf here...will edit this post with the list of all today's numbers...

Last night's shot at 9:15pm
64 - 8am +10.75
60 - 8:30 +11.25
66 - 9am +11.75
70 - 9:30 +12.25
72 - 9:45 +12.5
75 - 10:15 +13
76 - 10:30 +13.25
 
Re: 9/30 KT +11-+12.5-64/60/66/70/72 +13-75

normally folks with late nadir cats have to learn to shoot full dose at lower numbers. They can do that because they know the numbers will keep rising for a number of hours before the Lantus starts to kick in. I'm not sure yet if KT's nadir is late, or if these are just bounces clearing at shot time. It could be some of both - the patterns will become more clear as time goes on.

Shooting reduced doses doesn't really do much to make the cycle run higher. No matter what dose you shoot, you'll still have shed action from last night's dose contributing to today's cycle. Usually reduced shots tend to affect the numbers more in the NEXT cycle than in the one you want them to work on. :roll: No matter what, if you shoot you'll want to monitor closely today. It's a great opportunity to get data, if you're able to do that and have a good supply of test strips, HC food, etc. (and actually that's what I'm doing today too. Jazzy decided to throw me some curve balls).
 
Re: 9/30 KT +11-+13.5-64/60/66/70/72/75/76 STILL STALLING

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Hey Lyresa:

How's it going? Are you still stalling??

Yes, I'm still stalling and it's completely blown my schedule outta the water BUT I ain't gonna mess this one up! It's almost +14 now...
 
Re: 9/30 KT +11-+13.5-64/60/66/70/72/75/76 STILL STALLING

+14 - 80

Shoot the 2.5? I can't monitor tonight late/tomorrow early am. I've had 2u's loaded in syringe for last hour..
 
Re: 9/30 KT +11-+13.5-64/60/66/70/72/75/76 +14-80 SHOT 2u

You have to be comfy with it.....sorry...I had to go take care of a kitty.

Just as a reminder....when you stall, it is already as if you are giving a dose reduction; unless you are not able to monitor during the cycle, typically you would shoot the full dose. And also remember what Libby said...you shoot a reduced dose now, you won't see the effects until the next cycle. I recommend you keep testing today and monitoring closely as he may come back down...but he might give you a break tonight. ;-)

You are doing AWESOME! And so is KT!! Hope DH is doing well today.
 
Re: 9/30 KT +11-+13.5-64/60/66/70/72/75/76 +14-80 SHOT 2u

Marjorie and Gracie said:
You have to be comfy with it.....sorry...I had to go take care of a kitty.

Just as a reminder....when you stall, it is already as if you are giving a dose reduction; unless you are not able to monitor during the cycle, typically you would shoot the full dose. And also remember what Libby said...you shoot a reduced dose now, you won't see the effects until the next cycle.

OK, I'm confused. From Libby's posting, the NEXT cycle will be what's affected by THIS shot - I'm reading this as this 2u's affecting tonight's cycle when I CAN'T monitor. That's why I shot reduced....am I misinterpreting this?

I recommend you keep testing today and monitoring closely as he may come back down...but he might give you a break tonight.

You are doing AWESOME! And so is KT!! Hope DH is doing well today.

I'll monitor all day. THANK YOU! DH is just weak so far today. I do expect an attack within next hour tho'.... :roll:
 
Re: 9/30 KT +11-+13.5-64/60/66/70/72/75/76 +14-80 SHOT 2u

When you cant be there to monitor & cat is throwing you lower numbers than you feel comfy with, it is best to use either a timed feeder with some LC & MC in it for +3 & +5 which is what I do when I am out all day--I
I also add some hc treats(temptations) sometimes as Moonie responds well to them while I am gone...-HC works well for a quick push for a low number , but with these great healing numbers, stick with what you know..mc seems best..
These are normal & Healing numbers for a cat!! This is Soooo Good!!
He will bounce probably on his own..Dont be surprised, but what a great day!
 
Re: 9/30 KT +11-+13.5-64/60/66/70/72/75/76 +14-80 SHOT 2u

+1 is 104 but he's now got food onboard - 1/2 can FFeast turkey pate. His food spikes seem to show at about +1...
 
Re: 9/30 KT +11+64/60/66/70/72/75/76/ AMPS-80 +1-104

well look at KT going to town...again! :mrgreen:

nice job Lyresa :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
 
Re: 9/30 KT +11-+13.5-64/60/66/70/72/75/76 +14-80 SHOT 2u

Squeaky and KT said:
Marjorie and Gracie said:
You have to be comfy with it.....sorry...I had to go take care of a kitty.

Just as a reminder....when you stall, it is already as if you are giving a dose reduction; unless you are not able to monitor during the cycle, typically you would shoot the full dose. And also remember what Libby said...you shoot a reduced dose now, you won't see the effects until the next cycle.

OK, I'm confused. From Libby's posting, the NEXT cycle will be what's affected by THIS shot - I'm reading this as this 2u's affecting tonight's cycle when I CAN'T monitor. That's why I shot reduced....am I misinterpreting this?

Copied this from above - can someone unconfuse me on this point?
 
Re: 9/30 KT +11+64/60/66/70/72/75/76/ AMPS-80 +1-104

Look like you had another busy morning...

Great #'s KT!! :mrgreen: And good job Lyresa!
 
Re: 9/30 KT +11-+13.5-64/60/66/70/72/75/76 +14-80 SHOT 2u

Squeaky and KT said:
Marjorie and Gracie said:
..........Just as a reminder....when you stall, it is already as if you are giving a dose reduction; unless you are not able to monitor during the cycle, typically you would shoot the full dose. And also remember what Libby said...you shoot a reduced dose now, you won't see the effects until the next cycle.

OK, I'm confused. From Libby's posting, the NEXT cycle will be what's affected by THIS shot - I'm reading this as this 2u's affecting tonight's cycle when I CAN'T monitor. That's why I shot reduced....am I misinterpreting this?

Still above confusion. :?

+2 - 123 He's given up and is sleeping in his test spot...
 
Re: 9/30 KT +11+64/60/66/70/72/75/76/ AMPS-80 +1-104

Squeaky and KT said:
E

Squeaky and KT said:
Sienne and Gabby said:
I'm not entirely convinced that the bounce has cleared. I'd also suggest to keep an eye on things tomorrow. For many cats, a flat yellow cycle is a "warning" that an active cycle will follow. I'm not sure that today's cycles could get any flatter or any more yellow.

Hey BooBoo - you and KT been hangin' out together today! Oh crap....hope KT's not "many cats....."
Hugs tired Bean,

Good Morning LLand! I sure am glad I stopped by Bink's (correction - Boo Radley's condo) condo last night and found Sienne's statement above - it warned me! Sure enough, we're takin' this ride again today! We just DID this dance day before yesterday!!!

Not shootin' but not freaking out either!

I go away for a few and look what happens!!!! KT...you left Boo in your dust! I think someone forgot to tell him the RACE WAS ON!!!!
funny-pictures-cat-drives-an-invisible-racecar.jpg
 
Re: 9/30 KT +11+64/60/66/70/72/75/76/ AMPS-80 +1-104

Reducing the dose may effect the current cycle. Most of the time, the reduction will effect the next cycle. In addition, when you stall, delaying the shot also acts like a dose reduction. Thus, if you stall AND shoot a reduced dose, it's a double whammy on the shed.
 
Re: 9/30 KT +11+64/60/66/70/72/75/76/ AMPS-80 +1-104

Personally, I think we all have this internal debate. You want, above everything else, to keep your cat safe. We all want that for ourselves and each other. Then there's this other side -- we want to get our cats tightly regulated or into remission so once you're past the first hurdle of handling your first low numbers, you want to do what's best for your cat. So the internal dialogue goes back and forth -- shoot vs. don't shoot, reduce the dose vs. shoot the full dose, etc. It gets easier the more you've handled low numbers. In part, it's a matter of your comfort level and confidence in dealing with numbers that could drop low and how available you are to monitor. I'm assuming your comfort level is different in the AM cycle vs. the PM cycle.

I'm pretty confident in my ability to manage Gabby's numbers and I will stay up half of the night to monitor. (If you look at the first page of her SS, you'll see what I mean.) I've shot full doses when she's been in the 50s and it's been fine and a couple of times when I got surprised! But, I knew enough about Gabby's patterns to monitor. I probably shot dropping numbers this week. Much of what you do is based not just on the protocol but on how well you know how your cat and how your cat responds to Lantus. I've got a lot of data. I will not tell someone to shoot a low number if they have no experience with shooting low or if their SS tells me they won't monitor, regardless of the time of day.

So, to answer your question, would I have shot the full dose with an AMPS in the 60s? Yup. I would have. Based on a month's worth of data and it being your 2nd green pre-shot, would I have told you to shoot the full dose, I would have probably laid out the options and let you choose. I think knowing that KT was surfing was a good plan. You now have more data that will inform your decision the next time you get a low pre-shot number.
 
Re: 9/30 KT +11+64/60/66/70/72/75/76/ AMPS-80 +1-104

That sure helped Sienne - Thanks!

I'm assuming your comfort level is different in the AM cycle vs. the PM cycle.

Yes I have no problem and feel comfortable handling any low numbers now during the AM cycles as that is the whole daytime hours for me. I definitely don't in the PM's.

I'm feeling more comfortable with the low numbers being there - the next thing is getting comfortable with shooting into them....
 
Re: 9/30 KT AMPS-80 +1-104 +2-123 +3-164 +6-288

He's 288 at +6 - I think part of it is a bounce BUT I THINK he got a few bites of Nuisance's hard food at about +4.5. I plain forgot that the bowl was out and I found KT sitting beside it with a guilty look on his face. Nuis wouldn't have left much....but this says there WAS a little.
 
Re: 9/30 KT AMPS-80/104/123/164/288 +8-339 +10-380 Shoot Ear

+8 - 339
+10 - 380

He definitely got into the dry food by these numbers. I've tried to be SO vigilant....but I dropped one of my juggling balls and broke his beautiful numbers...

Can I shoot his 2.5u at +11? He's just rising and rising....if I remember, the dry carbs won't clear until at least tomorrow?
 
Re: 9/30 KT AMPS-80/104/123/164/288 +8-339 +10-380 Shoot Ear

I don't think that KT got into dry food (unless you have the evidence). I think KT was in greens last night and you're seeing a bounce. I think you are find shooting early.
 
Re: 9/30 KT AMPS-80/104/123/164/288 +8-339 +10-380 Shoot Ear

Thank you Sienne. I thought I would be OK but wanted to be sure...

It wasn't much but there could have been a few pieces. He was sitting by Nuisance's empty bowl....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top