2/5 Dillan PMPS 265 +2 148 +4 68 +4.75 67

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dillan420

Member Since 2010
Hello everyone,
Thanks for all of the feedback on yesterday's condo. The girlfriend (Jodi) was successful with the blood test but its a work in progress still so she can not always get them but she is trying :razz: The tests tonight still look pretty steady. I'm still thinking that we are waiting on the food change to kick in, I can't wait to see those numbers :-D I will try to get some more tests tonight to see how things are going.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=5231
 
Re: 2/5 Dillan PMPS 265

Hi Mike, Jodi and Dillan!

we know you're trying your best, sometimes it just takes a little time and patience...you're half way there so hopefully very soon we will get to see what Dillan is doing in the mornings!
cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 2/5 Dillan PMPS 265

Hi - I just wanted to pop on in and say HI! Kudos to your GF and her attempts to test Dillan. It is nice you have someone that is willing to try. I am on my own here, as far a that goes.

Excellent on the food thing - it did make a difference for us. We were on Hills MD dry, and have had much better success with wellness. Good product! I had no idea, back then, how "evil" dry food was. ohmygod_smile

Good luck - Dillan is a great cat - He looks much like one of mine. Picture is great - looks like one happy cat. dancing_cat
 
Re: 2/5 Dillan PMPS 265

Keep up the good work.

I don't know if you are using the lancet pen or free handing with testing. There are advocates for both styles. You may want to see if Jodi is more comfortable with one method or the other. I never found that the lancet pen felt comfortable in my hand so I just hold the lancet itself (free hand) and poke.

I'm glad you took Carolyn's advice and dropped the dose while transitioning over the food. It's really amazing what the effect of dry food is on BG levels.
 
Re: 2/5 Dillan PMPS 265 +2 148

We will see tomorrow exactly what is happening in the mornings, we will be doing as many tests as we can tomorrow. Should we do +2 increments or +3? For the blood tests we use a lancet pen since it is quick and usually gives a good blood sample. I figured after looking at Dillan's numbers from when we switched him to just a quarter diet of wet food that the insulin dose should be dropped and after talking with carolyn she agreed with the change. I think we are starting to see the change in diet tonight from his +2 test results, its one of his lowest numbers yet. I will be checking again in two hours to see what is happening. From Dillan's previous trends I would expect it to start to climb but we will see, maybe the wet diet has changed this.
I agree about not knowing that the dry food is so dangerous. I was spending top dollar on his Hill's CD for a couple of years thinking it was the best now I know thats not true. Thanks for all of the positive comments everyone. :-D
 
Re: 2/5 Dillan PMPS 265 +2 148 +4 68 *Advice Please*

What should I be doing right now? Should I feed him some food to get his number up?
 
Mike,

Looks like Dillan is did well early this morning - 68 is very good, and a good number to monitor, any chance a +5 or +6 was done and you just haven't updated Spreadsheet?

if u see this before you shoot this morning - please get a preshot BG.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top