10/2PaisleyPS165,+2.5~124+5 72+7 95,+9 88,+10 107, +11 115

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lylene & Barry

Member Since 2009
Paisley's PS was 165, way lower than usual. She's been on 3.5u for 4 days (including today. Sienne said increase to 3.75u tonight. What do I shoot?
 
Re: 10/2 Paisley PMPS 165 What dose to shoot?

Some info. She has been out of her room. She was in with Scottie and Barry for a couple hours. Been wandering the house. Seems in a much better mood. probably happier. Testing was easy like it used to be.
 
Re: 10/2 Paisley PMPS 165 What dose to shoot?

Given the drop, I would not increase. Can your schedule manage another test at +12.5? I want to see if numbers are dropping.
 
Re: 10/2 Paisley PMPS 165 What dose to shoot?

Gave 3.5u at 9:40p (by my watch). So test again at 10:10pm? I can do that.
 
Re: 10/2 Paisley PMPS 165 What dose to shoot?

I just posted in your other today's condo :roll:
 
Re: 10/2 Paisley PMPS 165 What dose to shoot?

Only gave 1/2 can of Fancy Feast since she ate 1/2 can at bit after 7pm. She inhaled that and wants more. I usually give a full can, sometimes a bit more. Should I stick with the 1/2 can or give her the whole can?
 
Re: 10/2 Paisley PMPS 165 What dose to shoot?

What I was trying to communicate was to stall and get another test. Since you shot, please get a +1 and +2. You may need to stay up a bit tonight to monitor.

In the future, please open only one condo per day.You have 3 condos today. People are posting to you all over the place and there's no way to consolidate the information. LL is big. We open one condo per cat per day. If you need help, edit your subject line. That way, all of the information for a particular day is in one place. Tomorrow, please link both of the condos from today to your Monday condo.
 
10/2 Paisley AMPS~427, +7~230,PMPS 165, +1.5~134

Apologies for the multiple condos. The one I should have posted in health. This covers today's numbers.
 
Re: 10/2 Paisley AMPS~427, +7~230,PMPS 165, +1.5~134, +2.5~1

Sandy, missed your message. Trying to do this & spend some time with DH who is home AND awake. +2.5 was 124. Will try for a +3
 
Re: 10/2 Paisley PMPS 165, +1.5~134, +2.5~124,+3~112

+3~ 112 How often should I keep testing and when can she eat again? What am I looking for?

What is an active curve? Can't find a def. anywhere.
 
Re: 10/2 Paisley PMPS 165, +1.5~134, +2.5~124,+3~112

Stop by Boo Radleys condo tonight for and example of and active cycle :razz:

When do you normally feed her? Was her last meal at shot time?
 
Re: 10/2 Paisley PMPS 165, +1.5~134, +2.5~124,+3~112

What Sandy means is that the +2 should be about the same as the PS. If it isn't, you might expect that she will have lower numbers. That is an "active cycle". When Gracie was on lantus, I ALWAYS got a +2...never missed it because it gives you so much info as to what the cycle is going to do.

Many of us feed on a specific schedule....PS, +1, +2, +3; that helps to offset the effects of the insulin and in some cases counteract any big drops....ECID. Gracie used to be a big, early dropper. When we switched to the above schedule, after a few months, she stopped those big 100/hour drops from PS.

You usually want to feed AFTER her test so you don't get a food-influenced test number. So if you test at +2, then feed her right after the test.

She's actually coming down at a nice rate but I dont know when she onsets. It's nice if you can do a +3.5 tonight to see if you can catch her onset which will give you a good idea for future cycles (altho onset and nadir can change quiclkly).
 
Re: 10/2 Paisley PMPS 165, +1.5~134, +2.5~124,+3~112

Example of a typical Lantus curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

and from the shooting low numbers sticky -
Perhaps the most important guideline in shooting low is that any time you shoot your lowest ever number, you should get a +1 and +2 to give you an idea of how the cycle will go. If the +1 is not higher than PS, or if +2 is much lower than PS, that means “pay attention” over the next few hours. Those tests will also help you become even more data ready for the next time you are presented with a low preshot reading.
 
Re: 10/2 Paisley PMPS 165, +1.5~134, +2.5~124,+3~112, +3.5~8

Starting to panic here. And she's getting annoyed. +3.5 was 81. It's being cut off sometimes to 8.

She ate 1/2 can FF after PS and during shot. Usually she gets a full can. Cut back because she eats a couple hours before PS and is gaining weight. She's hungry. I have one can of FF left because we were going to go back to raw tonight. Store opens at 9am EST and it's 1:20am now. I do have high carb food for emergencies. It's Innova Cat & Kitten.

Thank you for the info. Barry was much more cooperative. He's been OTJ since 10/23/09 so I've forgotten a lot.
 
Re: 10/2 Paisley PMPS 165, +1.5~134, +2.5~124,+3~112, +3.5~8

You can take a few numbers out of the subject line to make room.

She's still at a safe number--81 is good...I'm assuming you are using a human meter and not an alpha trak.

So looks like she onsets at about +3.5...at least tonight. If my girl is in green and speeds up, I test every 30 so she doesn't catch me off guard. Paisley came down 31 in 30 mins....that is a pretty fast drop.

One thing some of us have learned to do is try and control the drop on the way down instead of fight to get the numbers up after they've dropped. If you want to give her some more LC and see if it will slow her down, it would be a good idea.
 
Re: 10/2 Paisley PMPS 165,+1.5~134,+2.5~124,+3~112,+3.5~81 +

Nice little surf going there....I know you don't want to hear this but typically we test until we get two, solid rising numbers. We consider 81 and 85 to be the same....sorry to be the bearer of bad news.

Nice surf.....really nice.
 
Re: 10/2 Paisley PMPS 165,+1.5~134,+2.5~124,+3~112,+3.5~81 +

If she is hungry go ahead and feed her 1/4 can. Keep in mind this will cause a food spike so you may want to set your alarm for a "sleep test" in a few hours.

FWIW BK eats 1/2 can ff at +12, 1/4 can at +4 and 1/4 can at +8. Same routine AM and PM. So if a cycle needed steering I worked around the scheduled meals.

ETA - BK and Barry have the same OTJ date!
 
Re: 10/2 Paisley PMPS 165,+1.5~134,+2.5~124,+3~112,+3.5~81 +

+4.25ish 67. Rechecked, had little problem getting enough blood. That was 97. Going to wait until +5. Bungee jumping Paisley style.

Think I'm going to put the heater in here to warm her room (and ears). Too early to turn on the furnace. Plus Monty peed down the bathroom register. Think the whole thing will have to be replaced. Oh, the furnace guy has to get out here first. My luck,even though it was replaced last winter, it'll blow up or something. I have the furnace curse, I think.
 
Re: 10/2PaisleyPS165,+3~112+5 72+7 95,+9 88, +10 107

+9~88 Fed 1/4 can FF soupy. She was licking a spot on the curtain - either bug (she loves bugs) or a splash of food. She had 1/2 can FF ~ 10/2 AMPS +10 (7pm), 1/4 can at PM shot +5 and another 1/4 can after +9 test

+10 (and 7 min) 107

Question:
I know I need to get a + 10 and +11. Then I get a PS (+12) and, by the looks of things now, wait and test every 15-20 minutes. How do I know when and how much to shoot? When do I feed her again?
 
Re: 10/2PaisleyPS165,+2.5~124+5 72+7 95,+9 88,+10 107, +11 1

nice breakthrough for Paisley. :smile:

Will you be home to test today, or do you have to go to work?
 
Re: 10/2PaisleyPS165,+2.5~124+5 72+7 95,+9 88,+10 107, +11 1

+11~ 115
She's getting very upset that I won't feed her. Usually a test comes with food.Not always but frequently. She's been tested at lot and fed only twice and only small amounts with added water. It's less food than she would have eaten by now. She's getting difficult to test.

I'm getting the grasp of the testing but NOT the feeding - when and how much. I'm going to stick with Fancy Feast until this gets sorted out or until someone with more experience says it's ok to go back to raw. Other cats will be getting raw again today.
 
Re: 10/2PaisleyPS165,+2.5~124+5 72+7 95,+9 88,+10 107, +11 1

Raw food is fine. If you want to manage Paisley's food so she doesn't gain weight, you need to count calories. Dr. Lisa's site has info on feline obesity, including a formula for how to figure out a daily calorie requirement. She also recommends gradually reducing the calories. Unless you're making your own raw, there should be a calorie count for the product you're buying.

Did you see Libby's question re. whether you'll be home to test today?
 
Re: 10/2PaisleyPS165,+2.5~124+5 72+7 95,+9 88,+10 107, +11 1

I didn't see Libby's post. Not sure how I missed it. I had told a friend I'd help her pick up stuff for an art exhibit. I'd have to leave around 4p. She's looking for someone else and will understand if I couldn't. What is the ideal here for how long to monitor her today?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top