10/3 Stella PMPS/96 +4.5/42 +4.75/47 +5/65 +6/52 +7/63

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mary and Stella

Member Since 2011
Stella's Condo

Wow. What a day Stella and I had yesterday! We are exhausted. Got a couple of hours asleep, and we all woke up without the alarm. We are now a bit off schedule because of our stall yesterday...so this household is a bit upside down. Work didn't call me in... thank goodness... let's hope they don't... we all need a few naps today.

Everything is in place. Stella seems fine. She is doing much better than I am! She ate her breakfast heartily and as you see...her BG's had risen significantly a few hours ago. This is to be expected with the reduced dose (but it was stalled...so you could almost say she received a full dose even with the reduction). I am curious to see how it affects things. Her AMPS came right back down. I am very hopeful that this is her pancreas kicking into full gear and mighty health. :mrgreen:

Have a great day... I am sure you shall see plenty of us here again today. ;-)
 
Re: 10/3 Stella AMPS/108

What a very nice AMPS this morning for Miss Stella!!! I hope that you guys can get your nap in. Naps are a good thing. :-D I bet she'll be surfing the :mrgreen: s for you today, too. Perhaps set the answering machine incase work does call in. :lol: :twisted: I know.. I'm BAD!!! :lol: :-D Have a great day! :-D
 
Re: 10/3 Stella AMPS/108

:lol: :lol: :lol: Thanks for making me laugh in such a state of exhaustion.... :lol: :lol: :lol:

Unfortunately, all that will do is get me written up... :shock: ... and I haven't let that happen yet. I am one of the 'good' ones... I am 'on call'... not exactly 'off', so I can't ignore them. Just please cross your fingers they don't need me. There are a few others in line in front of me, so unless it all breaks loose...I should be fine.
 
Re: 10/3 Stella AMPS/108

Mary, I have got fingers, toes and at least 7 pairs of paws crossed for you this morning....what a night ayyy? ;-) ;-)
2754006_FccJPz29_b.jpg


Both Stella and Blackie have shined through with perfect morning numbers - old Boo of course is bouncing somewhere in another state by now...I guess at least he's giving me some permission to nap the morning away! Somehow, I hope that you find time to do some of the same!
 
Re: 10/3 Stella AMPS/108 +1/91

You got a nap??? I am jealous! :-D

Stella is feeling great at +1. She just jumped up on the desk and is chasing her little invisible prey and taking a nice look out the open window....I think today will be much better than yesterday for the both of us!
 
Re: 10/3 Stella AMPS/108 +1/91

Beautiful green for Stella already today! Seems like last night didn't hurt her. Ohhhhh a nap would be wonderful. I've been at tbp for 2 hours already. Ughhh. I just need to win the lottery.

Hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 10/3 Stella AMPS/108 +1/91

No, last night didn't hurt Stella...just me... :o ;-) :lol:

Yes, winning the lotto would be nice...I guess I should play if I want to do that. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/3 Stella AMPS/108 +4/65

Stella is pleasantly surfing the green...let's hope there are no surprises to come...
 
Re: 10/3 Stella AMPS/108 +4/65

Really nice cycle setting up for Stella!!! Great job. Glad you didn't have to go in yet today.

Hope I didn't overconfuse you last night.

I am not sure I understand this:
This is to be expected with the reduced dose (but it was stalled...so you could almost say she received a full dose even with the reduction)

If you reduce the dose AND stall, then it's like a bigger reduction. I may be fuzzy-headed today in not understanding what you mean....not enough ~O) ~O) ~O) :lol:

Sure hope you get some rest today.....you had a long night.
 
Re: 10/3 Stella AMPS/108 +4/65

I don't think its a bigger reduction...I think it is a wash??? I am gave less insulin to cover a shorter time span.

If I didn't stall, and gave less at the 12 hour...that would be a true reduction...right? :?: :?: :?:
 
Re: 10/3 Stella AMPS/108 +4/65

By stalling some shed drainage takes place. When you finally shoot, the shed is looking to refill as a first order of business.
Your cycle count starts over as well.
 
Re: 10/3 Stella AMPS/108 +4/65

Agree with Sandy. And because the shed has to refill, then you "may" see the effects of a reduction.

I can see why you would say that less insulin to cover a shorter time span might be a wash. But it's not really because of the shed draining. Oh that shed....one must never forget what it does!! ;-) ;-) ;-)

Thanks Mary! Now get some zzzzzzzzz!
 
Re: 10/3 Stella AMPS/108 +4/65

I understand a reduction at the 12 hour mark, and I understand the cycle count starts over.

I must be dense because I still don't understand how the math works after you pass the 12 hour mark while stalling. Is there math to that? One of the stickys says to give 75 % of the regular dose. That is assuming you are doing it at the 12 hour mark. But what happens at the 13 13.5 or the 14 mark while stalling? I am still not comprehending.

Last night I just got lucky (well, that may change shortly) c'mon Stella...do your stuff! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/3 Stella AMPS/108 +4/65

Mary:

Not sure there is any math to it because ECID.

What happens after +12 depends on whether the shed is really full; if it is then you may see carryover. After +12 and you are stalling, numbers "may" continue to drop to a certain point...unpredictable when the turn will start back up. That is why when stalling, you want to check often and shoot as soon as the numbers start up so that you can take advantage of the carryover and get some overlap of shots.

However, if the shed is not overfull, then stalling should result in numbers coming back up shortly after +12.

Did I answer your question?

Insofar as the 75%....I'm not big on stalling or shooting a reduced dose. When Gracie was on lantus, if she was above 50, I shot on time, full dose. It takes time to get comfy doing that and no one should do that if they (1) do not have tons of data (2) do not know their cat and (3) is not going to be there to monitor. When you shoot that low, you absolutely must monitor closely.
 
Re: 10/3 Stella AMPS/108 +4/65 +6/62

Thanks for that. I think it makes sense. I just don't think Stella would look as good today if we skipped entirely. That I know from facts based on her SS. What I didn't know is how much to give and how exactly we lucked out this time... I am still trying to figure it out for next time.

I am hoping Stella likes her 2.5 I think we can both use a break for a while :o :lol: I am sooo tired and have so many things that I have to do and am letting go...I have to be a responsible adult in other areas of my life too! ;-)
 
Re: 10/3 Stella AMPS/108 +4/65 +6/62

I agree that Stella may not have looked as good if you had skipped. Like I said, I'm not a big proponent of skipping....only done it twice in a year and that was after stalling two hours with no "up".

hope you get some rest.
 
Re: 10/3 Stella AMPS/108 +4/65 +6/62

Mary and Stella said:
What I didn't know is how much to give and how exactly we lucked out this time... I am still trying to figure it out for next time.

IMHO it's somethiing you just have to feel your way through. I had to do a whole lot of that as BK came down the dosinig ladder very quickly, from a very high dose. We had many stalls, skips and BCSs (BCS = Big Chicken Sh!t dose). It's a "know thy cat" sort of thing. what I can share from our experience during those times of rapid change is that I would really only look at the previous 2 weeks data for guidance. It seemed like anything further back was somewhat obsolete. BK is an extreme example, however it's something to keep in mind. Two weeks from now if you are presented with a similar situation, a different choice may be the best choice.

In the mean time - looks like your choice last night worked out well!
 
Re: 10/3 Stella AMPS/108 +4/65 +6/62 +8/60

How funny...I just posted on your condo..., "I think we have some calm"...ha! Great minds...

*crossing fingers for a smooth PM...
 
Re: 10/3 Stella PMPS/96 +4.5/42 +4.75/47

Oh dear. I was exhausted from yesterday and fell asleep very early this evening. I awoke from a telemarketer @ an hour and 15 minutes ago and fell immediately to sleep again. I awoke again to the sound of crunching kibble. (Don't forget the dreaded DM Kibble I free feed). I got up immediately to check on Stella. She plummeted to 42 at +4.5. I fed and gave a drop of Karo (I don't like how this is the new custom). I retested again at +4.75 and got 47. I am now waiting to get the next read.
 
Re: 10/3 Stella PMPS/96 +4.5/42 +4.75/47 +5/65

The Karo drop worked. +5/65 That was fast. It took forever to rise yesterday!
 
Re: 10/3 DOSE ??? Stella PMPS/96 +4.5/42 +4.75/47 +5/65

I don't want to reduce too soon because of the lower dose yesterday. I was going to wait 6 cycles. Now I am trying to figure out how to proceed without jumping the gun and keeping Stella safe.

If they call me in at 4am I can shoot another 1.5 since it worked great last time. Then the cycles would begin and I would have a few days off. But how do I know when she really earns another reduction? I don't want to botch this up.... or do you think this may be a good dose and it is just a bounce? This is the 2nd time I had to use Karo and I don't want to make a habit of it.

Thanks in advance.
 
Re: 10/3 DOSE ??? Stella PMPS/96 +4.5/42 +4.75/47 +5/65

I think you can reduce. It might be a little close to the last reduction but I think Stella hit a break through dose. If this reduction doesn't hold, bring the dose back up asap.
 
Thanks Sienne. I will shoot 2.25 in the am

Please keep an eye on Stella after this new dose.... I seemed to have had a hard time figuring out this past month the difference between a bounce and a real reduction. I think I am starting to get it... but I ended up going way down the dose ladder and all of the way back up again. I really don't want to make that process a habit. How will I know if the 2.25 stuck? If her BGs go way up...how fast should the bounce clear before I decide to take it back up again?

OK I am too tired...I am going to try to get some sleep.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top