10/4 Apollo PMPS 230, +2 279, +5 181

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/4 Apollo AMPS 180

Apollo is very handsome :smile:
Nice recovery after that skipped shot, Apollo!
 
Re: 10/4 Apollo AMPS 180, +2 130

Apollo's AMPS +2 is 130.

Yep, I got a little rest yesterday. I think changing his shot times to a little earlier with help too.

He is really looking good. I am very happy with all the blues. :smile:
 
Re: 10/4 Apollo AMPS 180, +2 130

Apollos is looking VERY good! Glad you got caught up on rest. We all know how the exhaustion feels. Skipping yesterday did give you a great opportunity to shift his shot times...I hope that makes a good difference for both of you!

Have a great day!

Amy
 
Re: 10/4 Apollo AMPS 180, +2 130

Apollo is looking great! It really didn't take you long to get him down John. You should give yourself a pat on the back. We all are! Have a wonderful day!!
 

Attachments

  • pat on the back.jpg
    pat on the back.jpg
    88.1 KB · Views: 1,594
Re: 10/4 Apollo AMPS 180, +2 130

Nice start to the day! :-D :-D I'm glad you got caught up on rest 'cause Apollo has things planned for you today ! :lol:
 
Re: 10/4 Apollo AMPS 180, +2 130, + 3 55, help

Apollo's AMPS +3 is 55. Oh boy here we go again. Ok just gave him about a teaspoon of HC.
 
Re: 10/4 Apollo AMPS 180, +2 130, + 3 55, help

Apollo, you are in the greens! That is quite a dive. Can you test him today John? Did you have a specific question or just general freaking out? :smile: I totally understand. You're doing great.
Liz
 
Re: 10/4 Apollo AMPS 180, +2 130, + 3 55, +3.5 45, help

Apollo's AMPS +3.5 is 45. Ok just gave him a teaspoon of HC with a drop of karo.
 
Re: 10/4 Apollo AMPS 180, +2 130, + 3 55, help

Anne & Zener said:
Apollo, you are in the greens! That is quite a dive. Can you test him today John? Did you have a specific question or just general freaking out? :smile: I totally understand. You're doing great.
Liz

Yes I can test him today. No specific question, just freaking out a little. :smile: Am I doing everything necessary now?

Looks like the 45 just earned him a dose reduction.
 
Re: 10/4 Apollo AMPS 180, +2 130, + 3 55, +3.5 45, help

The bounce from the missed shot can last quite a few cycles. Don't freak out...just keep on it. Breathe...and don't let your kitty get away from you. ;-) I too am sleep deprived. Fun this healing... :lol: :lol: :lol:

Sorry...just trying to keep things light. :cool:
 
Re: 10/4 Apollo AMPS 180, +2 130, + 3 55, +3.5 45, help

You're doing everything necessary to keep him from going any further. As for the dose reduction, I hope that someone with more experience can answer that question for you. Nice job! :-D
 
Re: 10/4 Apollo AMPS 180, +2 130, + 3 55, +3.5 45, help

You're doing just fine. You knew to test at +3.5 which is key! The 45 does allow you to reduce Apollo's dose tonight.

The plan for this cycle is to lather, rinse, and repeat. Retest at +4 and keep providing a small amount of HC to bump Apollo into the 50s or 60s (or above) so he can surf away. At this point, you're experienced with the drill.

I'm leaving shortly for work (if Gabby will let me). There are others who are around if you need a hand. I'll try to check back in later.
 
Re: 10/4 Apollo AMPS 180, +2 130, + 3 55, +3.5 45, help

Oh John and Apollo - our DWSG Leaders - another fun day!

John, you KNOW you can steer those numbers now - and I learned it from YOU - I didn't freak out over yesterday's low numbers 'cos I watched you and Apollo dance! THANK YOU!

Go Baby Go!
 
Re: 10/4 Apollo AMPS 180, +2 130, + 3 55, +3.5 45, +4 72

Squeaky and KT said:
John, you KNOW you can steer those numbers now - and I learned it from YOU - I didn't freak out over yesterday's low numbers 'cos I watched you and Apollo dance! THANK YOU!

Go Baby Go!

Thanks for the confidence boost! :smile:
 
Re: 10/4 Apollo AMPS 180, +2 130, + 3 55, +3.5 45, help

Sienne and Gabby said:
The 45 does allow you to reduce Apollo's dose tonight.
Since this morning's dose was 2.25u, does the dose get reduced by 0.25 or 0.5? The 2.25 was only given for a few cycles. Is that a consideration? Ok, Apollo, come up a little bit. You've made your point.
Liz
 
Re: 10/4 Apollo AMPS 180, +2 130, + 3 55, +3.5 45, +4 72

Hi guys .. wow, looks like apollo is loving this dose and couldn't wait to move onto the next one, nicely done! Now if he would just surf around these 70's the rest of the day, that would be puuurfect! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 10/4 Apollo AMPS 180, +2 130, + 3 55, +3.5 45, +4 72

Lisa and Do Lou said:
Lets hop on that surfboard Apollo and surf those greens +4 72 very nice :cool:

I hope so too! It really is amazing the change in his demeanor, since I started him on Lantus. I think getting him off the high carb dry food really helped too.
 
Re: 10/4 Apollo AMPS 180, +2 130, + 3 55, +3.5 45, +4 72, +5

Looking good! Are you feeding anything? If you can get him to surf at these numbers, that would be great.
Liz
 
Re: 10/4 Apollo AMPS 180, +2 130, + 3 55, +3.5 45, +4 72, +5

Nope haven't fed him since +3.5 45. He has been sleeping. I keep waking him up to check his numbers. I think I am disturbing "sleepy time". :lol:
 
Re: 10/4 Apollo AMPS 180, +2 130, + 3 55, +3.5 45, +4 72, +5

:mrgreen: :lol: :mrgreen: :lol: :mrgreen:

Glad you rested up, at least this activity is takingn place durin waking hours today!

Anne & Zener said:
Since this morning's dose was 2.25u, does the dose get reduced by 0.25 or 0.5? The 2.25 was only given for a few cycles. Is that a consideration?
In this case I would not decrease more than .25u.

There were times when I decreased BK by more, however BKs situation was not the norm; he was flying down the dosing ladder from a very high place. It was like trying to rein in wild horses at times.
 
Re: 10/4 Apollo AMPS 180, +2 130, + 3 55, +3.5 45, +4 72, +5

You got that right Sandy!

So I would be looking at a dose of 2.00 units tonight, right? Assuming his PMPS number rises back up to typical.
 
Re: 10/4 Apollo AMPS 180, +2 130, + 3 55, +3.5 45, +4 72, +5

Poor Apollo - getting his sleep disturbed! I'm sure he will recover. :lol: Have a great day!

For the dose decrease, I was asking because my understanding of the protocol is to reduce by 0.5u if the dose is 2u or higher.
Liz
 
Re: 10/4 Apollo AMPS 180, +2 130, + 3 55, +3.5 45, +4 72, +5

Anne & Zener said:
For the dose decrease, I was asking because my understanding of the protocol is to reduce by 0.5u if the dose is 2u or higher.
Liz

I'm not 100% sure, but I think it's 0.25?

- I read here it says reduce by 0.25 units.

"If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit."

- I read here it says reduce by 0.25 units.

"Reduce dose by 0.25-0.5 IU depending on if cat on low or high dose of insulin". Up above that it says, "Reduce dose by 0.25-0.5 IU depending on if cat on low (<3 IU/cat) or high dose (≥ 3 IU/cat) of insulin."
 
Re: 10/4 Apollo AMPS 180, +3.5 45, +4 72, +5 93, +6 82

It looks like Apollo is setting up for a surf. I wouldn't feed again now, just test again in an hour. If you are nervous only give a little LC food at this point, we want him to surf, not bounce up. The 92 was a spike from the HC food, this is only a 10% drop so it is within meter variance.

Yes, I think the decrease would be .25u. The .5u decreases are for high dose cats and I don't think Apollo is in that range now. It is always better to take things slowly if you can.
 
Re: 10/4 Apollo AMPS 180, +3.5 45, +4 72, +5 93, +6 82

Thank you for the clarification. The cutoff is 3.0u for high dose cats (I had thought it was 2.0u).
Liz
 
Re: 10/4 Apollo AMPS 180, +3.5 45, +4 72, +5 93, +6 82

Question for the group:

Apollo seemed to be more energetic (normal behavior) when he was in the blue and yellow ranges, then when he is in the "bg normal" green range (40-99)? Is it just strange coincidence? He seems to sleep more when he is in the green range just like he does when he is in the pinks and higher. Again it could just be a variance as I don't have a large sample size and I'm just going off his behavior, but it was a little weird to me.
 
Re: 10/4 Apollo AMPS 180, +3.5 45, +4 72, +5 93, +6 82

It could also be that his body just isn't used to normal yet or that cats tend to sleep about 18 hours a day! :lol:
 
Re: 10/4 Apollo AMPS 180, +4 72, +5 93, +6 82, +8 103

When Tarragon first started going into the greens, he was very listless and tired. He just had no energy. However, as his body has gotten used to the lower numbers, he has become very active in the greens. ECID but I have heard that is very normal.
 
Re: 10/4 Apollo AMPS 180, +4 72, +5 93, +6 82, +8 103

Like Ann and Melissa said, it just may be that the "normal" range feels weird to Apollo right now..
 
Re: 10/4 Apollo AMPS 180, +4 72, +5 93, +6 82, +8 103

Samwise is in green today and is listless too. Seems when he is normal he sleeps more. He does get up and play occasionally. (and eat)
 
Re: 10/4 Apollo AMPS 180, +4 72, +5 93, +6 82, +8 103

Add KT to that list too - 100s/200s, he plays, is awake and alert and chases anything that moves when the mood strikes. Under about 100, he too is very sleepy, doesn't play, doesn't get excited about anything. The first drop that low, I thought he was really HIGH because of it.. Was a shock to see the LOW number.
 
Re: 10/4 Apollo AMPS 180, +4 72, +5 93, +6 82, +8 103

Hi John, Our kitties definitely have to get used to being in green numbers. Their bodies are not used to them. He'll be fine. Don't worry. And take the .25 reduction. If you reduce by too much, the reduction might not hold.

Great work you guys are doing!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 10/4 Apollo AMPS 180, +4 72, +5 93, +6 82, +8 103

Hi John,

I've been watching your condos over the past couple of weeks and I sure am learning a lot! I'm sure I'll be freaking too when Weezer starts down, but watching your masterful dance gives me confidence. Bet you didn't thin this has been a learning experience for your audience, too!
 
Re: 10/4 Apollo PMPS 230

Apollo's PMPS was 230.

Thanks everyone for the feedback. It really helps when you have others to gather input from.
 
Re: 10/4 Apollo AMPS 180, +4 72, +5 93, +6 82, +8 103

Linda for Weezer said:
Hi John,

I've been watching your condos over the past couple of weeks and I sure am learning a lot! I'm sure I'll be freaking too when Weezer starts down, but watching your masterful dance gives me confidence. Bet you didn't thin this has been a learning experience for your audience, too!

Hi Linda,

Thanks for the kind words. I'm glad I'm able to help others through this experience with Apollo. Each day it gets a little bit easier, but I still have a lot to learn. You'll do fine with Weezer, just take it 1 day at a time. The people here are AMAZING support! Thanks again everyone!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top