Spock's numbers just continue to rise and I'm not sure what to do. He bounced from the greens on 9/30 and then he got into dry food on the 2nd. Shouldn't he have cleared all of that by now? Can stress cause BGs to rise? (He's not liking it in his room.)
Should I raise his dose?
Carolyn - can you get some spot checks during the day and get a curve at least once a week? There is not nearly enough data to make a responsible recommendation. Also, have you checked for Ketones with these high numbers?
I'm away at work for 10+ hours a day. And he's only been with me for 8 days so I haven't done a curve yet. And he didn't come to me with very much data - only what you see on the spreadsheet.
Mid-day tests are hard when you have to work!! How about more PM tests?
I'm reticent to blindly say to increase given the green on 9/30. If you get some spot checks tonight and Spock's numbers are high, you could increase in the morning.
Are you home before your PMPS? If so, even a +11 can be helpful. Also, how about routinely getting a before bed test?
Thanks for your reply Sienne. Since I moved my AM shot time so I can get a +1, I now get home at around +11.5.
Spock is hard to test so I have not wanted to add to his stress. I have trashed his ear flaps already - even with pressure after the poke, blood is pooling under the skin :sad:
I will try to get a before bed check, but he is so starving that he's still eating at +3!
I'm away at work for 10+ hours a day. And he's only been with me for 8 days so I haven't done a curve yet. And he didn't come to me with very much data - only what you see on the spreadsheet.
That pesky work! I'm wondering if he isn't going lower mid cycle....could you get some tests at night just to get an idea of what is going on....If he really is dropping, causing the bounces....it would be bad news to increase. On the other hand, if he's consistently high...an increase would be warranted.
Also, just a reminder to check Ketones when you're seeing the highs....if that is going on, it's important to get on top of!
Hi guys .. I'm sorry to hear spock is up so high and feeling stressed .. as we all know, stress can raise BG's too, plus the move? Maybe he's still trying to adjust? I don't know .. I hope he comes down for you though, it's hard seeing them so high .. have a great day!
Oh happy day! I was able to get a +11.5 (205) and his PMPS is 193. Whew!!!
I guess I'm going to have to buck it up and get a test during the night. Trouble is, when I wake up in the middle of the night I'm totally incoherent I-)
I wouldn't worry that Spock is eating at +3. I feed Gabby over the first 4 hours (pre-shot, +1, +2, and +3). If I see that her +2 is lower than her pre-shot, it's a reasonable guess it's going to be a busy cycle.
It looks like you may be shooting at 9am/9pm....if that sounds about right, at night, could you grab a +3 and a +6...that would give a bunch of info and let you know if something more is happening that you "need to be up for"! I hear you about the incoherentness.....but I promise..just like their little ears....we get used to it and can climb right back into our zzzzzz-land
PS...if you see a lower than you've seen number at +3 or +6....post that night for some advice, because chances are...he'll go lower!