10/9 Milo PMPS 278 +3/267 Question about ReliOn Strips

Status
Not open for further replies.

milo

Member Since 2011
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=53866

I was wondering when using a new container of strips is there any thing I need to do to the meter? I know on need to reset my AlphaTrak with new strips but I dont know about these. Also I am starting Milo over on 1 unit because his levels are so all over, this morning I only started with .50 due to his numbers but I was able to shoot the whole 1 tonight and go from there, I am hoping to find his happy medium soon <<but as everyone told me I know it takes time.
 
Nothing - just check the F code on the back of the new container and be sure it matches the number that appears on the screen on startup....I've not had one not read it correctly yet.
 
You just need to stick with one dose. Dose hopping will yield wonky numbers so stick with the 1.0u for 3 days unless you get a test that's below 50.
 
i don't know about relion strips - with the freestyle lite i just open and use. there's no recalibrating or solution to do. someone who uses relion will no doubt be by before long.

just wanting to make sure you've caught the suggestions that have been made recently to you, because i hear your frustration and know it's challenging to get it all.

it was only friday that you gave him dry food. that takes a while to get out of their system - how long, i don't know. but it's a factor to consider in his high numbers since friday.

also, he's a grazer, but i suspect you would find his numbers might be more consistent if he ate more consistently. a lot of people feed their cats in the first 3-4 hours after the shot and then withhold food for the second half of the cycle when the lantus is waning. i had fed punkin with his shot, at +4 and +8 and his number dramatically improved when i switched him to with shot and at +3. he's a big boy too and he eats quite a bit in those meals.

as you've changed doses the last few days the deposit of lantus under his skin is going to be depleted. you want to let the dose settle now so you can see what it really does. Here are the guidelines from the protocol that would apply to where you are right now:

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

ask ask and ask if you have questions. it's hard to "read" spreadsheets until you have some practice with people pointing out things, at least i found it hard.
 
Yes, I plan on sticking with the 1 unit, thanks for the insert to read, that helps me. So I should feed him a can of ff after his am shot then when he's done with that just feed him again after his pm shot? and is it ok to leave a can ut over night, he has always been a night eater so he likes somthing there for him or is that too much?? I figured with his weight I could feed at least 4 cans thru out the day, according to what I read but I guess its important as to when I am feed him right?
 
i think different cats are different with it - likely depends on how carb sensitive a cat is. i would try keeping the food in the first half of the cycle and see how it goes. i feed punkin 3+ cans of fancy feast a day (he finishes anya's plate at every meal) with 1 can with the shot and 1/2 can 3 hours later. punkin weighs about 14 lbs.

perhaps you could decide to try feeding him within the first 4 or so hours and record how it goes. you don't want to tinker with too many factors at once because you won't know what makes a difference, but at least with punkin the food is immediately obvious. the dose seems to take longer to tell.

i'm not dancing around your question, i just don't know how milo 'works.' try the food thing and see. there are people with cats who graze, i just don't have experience with that and could see that punkin did better having his food in the first part of the cycle.

glad it helped to have the protocol quote. lots of people did that for me and it really helped me. it's hard to figure out on your own, even if it seems obvious! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top