10/12 Missy AMPS 317

Status
Not open for further replies.

Maresydotes

Member Since 2011
After mulling it over and discussing it with my vet, who also bounced it off other vets on a board, I decided to hold the course. I may go back to the 4.5 dose with close monitoring, but I will wait a few cycles before I do.
I plan to spend some time on the couch to get some pm tests in.
Anyone who wants to chime in on Missy, I am open to any and all thoughts.
Thanks
Mares and Miss
 
here's your post from missy's condo yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=54059&p=584771#p584771

has anyone figured out what brought missy out of remission? i saw on her ss that she was getting clavamox after restarting insulin - what was that for?

i'm thinking it would be helpful if you filled out a profile on her history so the info is all in one place. here's the directions for doing that. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=17766 i didn't find that and instead, just made a google doc that i attached in punkin's signature area. that way people can look there rather than asking you over and over about what you feed her, what illnesses she's had, etc.

btw, i tried to look at your consumer report on the meters - thanks for doing that. i'll have to go to another computer. this one doesn't have word - it's a netbook so i couldn't read it.

also, here's the part of the protocol you need for her dose right now. this is why you want to be catching those nadirs if at all possible. she's had 6 cycles on the 4.25, but since there's been all the conversation about her dose, maybe it'd be good to give her a few more cycles and see where she's going at the low points.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Julie,
Thanks for the link. I will try to get the profile set up tonight. And I posted the Consumer Reports doc on the general forum and someone said it was garbled, so I am going to put the link back in. It just cut off a bit of the info.
We cannot figure why Missy relapsed. She had her check up and shots in June, I think. No dental or health issues other than her weight......and chin acne. That is why she is on Clavamox. But, she had the acne when she was in remission, so I really don't know if that could be a reason. She DID have a flare up not (it has not gone away totally since March, but improves and then gets worse) too long before she relapsed. Nothing else changed that I can think of....same food, same routines. No stresses except maybe her brother, who can be mean to her.....she tries to avoid him, mostly, but when in remission, she actually took a few swings at him. :lol: Yay, Missy! I am really at a loss as to why it happened.
Back in a few with the link...
 
Julie,
Here is a link to the consumer reports rating....
http://www.consumerreports.org/health/h ... atings.htm
It is from the current mag I received so should be Oct 2011

Tell Binks Missy says thank you. She appreciates the compliment, never having met any kitties besides her bratty brother! :sad: Maybe he can tell her how to get OTJ again.
And Sandy.....I am going to try to get some pm readings. I have multiple sclerosis, so have a fatigue problem, but will try camping out on the couch one of these nights. Hopefully I will do it sometime this week. Been kind of dragging a bit :!:
Mares and Miss and bratty brother, Phoenix
 
Here are my two, back in 2007... :-D
 

Attachments

  • 025_26.JPG
    025_26.JPG
    486.7 KB · Views: 430
the link on what you posted on the lantus forum was fine - it was my netbook computer that was the problem. i don't have word on it, but it tried to open it and i could see it was there. i'll open the link from another computer.

missy looks a lot like my felix! he was a big boy too - i think 24lbs at his peak. my son just said today that he misses felix - he died in 2007.

MS is a bear - you're doing an awesome job taking care of missy. it's hard to take care of a diabetic cat under the best of circumstances. hang in there! you can only do what you can do - don't endanger your own health.
 
It'll be ok...I can manage some PM readings. It'll just take a little planning. Being retired, I have that luxury of changing my plans around. Only thing I have to factor in is DH's schedule. Well, and both of the cats.....they can be very demanding angry(2)_cat They want it their way and WHEN they want it (whatever IT is, at the time). I am their servant...and very well trained. :lol:
Worked on the profile, but didn't quite get it......maybe tomorrow when my head is clearer.
 
Hi Julie, I have a question about the dosing recommendations you posted off the sticky. I find it so confusing when people are using the alphatrak meter and I try and follow what is going on.

Don't you add 30 points to those BG target numbers before dosing?

This is from the sticky by Roombs and Rand where they say to add 30 points to the numbers on the first chart (which is the chart you are using):


Therefore, if using a meter calibrated for feline use (eg. AlphaTRAK, Abbott
Laboratories, CA, USA), or a serum chemistry analyzer, add approximately 30 mg/dL (1.7 mmol/L)
to the target glucose concentrations (see Table 3B). For example, a target > 50 mg/dL (2.8
mmol/L) becomes > 80 mg/dL (4.4 mmo/L) when using a meter calibrated for feline use. Instead of
aiming for 50-100mg/dL (2.8-5.6 mmol/L) , aim for 80-130 mg/dL (4.4-7.2 mmol/L [round numbers
4.5-7.0 mmol/L).
This is the actual sticky link: where they recommend to use table 3b for Alpha Trak meter.
http://felinediabetes.com/Roomp_Rand_20 ... otocol.pdf

What gets me is when you look at table 3b for the Alpha trak meter they did not consistently add the 30 points to all the chart's target BG numbers which makes no sense to me. I wuld think a <200 on the first chart should be <230 on the Alpha check chart.


Anyway, would Mares need to refigure those numbers to fit her meter as they said it was very important to do so. As mentioned above say your target is 50 and she achieves that reading on her meter --isn't it really a 20??? That is why they say to change the target figure to 80. Or am I missing something. confused_cat confused_cat confused_cat

I was going to post on aonther thread about these meters but thought I better recheck info here first.

Elaine
Pinky's SS
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top