need help please

Status
Not open for further replies.

terri1962

Very Active Member
Please excuse I am new,
Anyhow I took my cat Lilly back to the vet today. I previously took her off her insulin as she was on Lantus and her numbers went to low and I was scared I would hypo her. I know nothing about dosing Lantus and was getting no cooperation from the vet.
She has been off the insulin for two weeks now. I have been spot checking her as I have been really sick for several weeks with something, her numbers started in the low 100`s and have now climbed to last night 208 never really going higher than 234 on October 4 when I tested her. She has never been in the 300`s
Previously they had her on 1 1/2 units twice a day when I took her off of it I thought it was to much as one time I tested her preshot and got a 64.
Anyhow today they told me to start he back on 1 unit twice a day. I need to know from experienced Lantus users if they think this is to much for her When I test her she usually is in the low 200`s that seems to be the norm right now. Any help would be appreciated.Just tested her tonight and she was at 246 that is the highest yet I think the stress of the vet visit today has driven it up.

Terri
 
Hi Terri and Lily and Welcome!

What time would you like your shot time to be, at 8:00pm and 8:00am? Would that work for you?
The people here are very numbers driven, and want to see the past numbers, and when you got those numbers, like was it after eating, etc. Can you get a spreadsheet together?

I would think you could start off at 0.50 and see how it goes, and you can always go up if it isn't enough. That's just my opinion. Let's see what others have to say about Lily's starting dose.

Are you prepared, just in case..do you have HC, and plenty of test trips? Are you going to be home to monitor?

Those are just some of the questions people will ask.

I'm glad you found this forum. We will help you with your Lily.
 
Hi Terri and welcome!

Why don't you start at 0.5u every 12 hours, hold that initial dose for 5-7 days, get some mid cycle checks in and then re-evaluate?

Please set up a spreadsheet to track all your data. Instructions are here:
spreadsheet instructions

Also, please read the informational "stickies" located at the top of the topics section. Tons of very important information, including the Tight Regulation protocol most folks follow.

Ask any questions that come up -you'll get plenty of answers!

Any other health issues for Lilly?
 
I think it will help you to feel more in control and more knowledgeable about Lantus if you take a look at the starred sticky notes at the top of the Board. There's an overwhelming amount of information there and we are more than happy to help you to understand what you need to do to get comfortable with Lantus and answer your questions.

If you are worried about the dose, you can start at a lower dose, like Dyana suggested. You'll need to stick with that dose for 5 days in order to get this dose to stabilize. Since Lily has been off insulin for so long, you are essentially starting over. Once the initial dose and the insulin depot (aka "shed"), have been established, doses are evaluated after 3 days.

I also think you will have a clearer idea of what's going on if you set up a spreadsheet. It's the best way for you to track Lily's number and it will allow us to help you.
 
Welcome, Terri & Lilly!

you've got 3 of the most knowledgeable folks here helping you already...so we'll just say "hello"!

celi & binks
 
Welcome to Lantus Land Terri and Lilly!! We are here to help you get Tilly better so let us know when you have questions. There's a lot of information and the learning curve is steep at first but we're here to walk you through it.
 
Another welcome to you both!! You'll quickly find this place to be full of kindness and humor... two invaluable qualities for someone dealing with FD! Aside from that, I have found the most valuable thing about this forum is it gives you the tools to make informed decisions about the day to day management of your cat's diabetes, as well as the tools to be the best possible advocate for your cat's care when dealing with your vet.

Lilly is very lucky to have a human (or bean as we call ourselves here!) willing to search out information on how to best take care of her. You've come to the right place.... so welcome again, Terri!!
 
I tried to open the spreadsheet and it would not let me open it. It said it can not be copied at this time. So for now it will have to be written down. Lilly was at 217 this evening and I will be starting her on 1/2 unit of Lantus in the morning.

Terri
 
Welcome to the Feline Diabetes Message Board and the Lantus Forum.

You are very, very lucky indeed to have found this wonderful place. I agree with what everyone has already told you. And if starting at 0.5u is where you are comfortable ...go for it!

I can't answer the spreadsheet issue, but I am sure someone will be along to help you with it. It is an invaluable tool for both folks who offer guidance, for you to learn to make your own decisions on dose, and in some cases for your vet too!!! My vet loves seeing Atlas' sheet from time to time.

In the meantime though until you get that spread sheet figured out take a look at some of the subject lines on the board. We use date, name, and BG readings. AMPS is the AM pre-shot. This is the number just before the shot...+1, +2, +3 are the hours after the shot.

An awesome "condo" to visit is Michele & Mannie's. They give a nice recap from the day before. You could do that
 
terri1962 said:
I tried to open the spreadsheet and it would not let me open it. It said it can not be copied at this time. So for now it will have to be written down. Lilly was at 217 this evening and I will be starting her on 1/2 unit of Lantus in the morning.

Terri


No, don't use the spreadsheet template link that is in the original spreadsheet instruction sticky. You can't get a copy of the spreadsheet that way anymore.

Download a template from this thread: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=50130 and follow the instrucitons on how to upload the template to your Google Documents. There are instructions furhter down that thread of how to publish your spreadsheet and get the link to share.
 
I do not have Microsoft Office on this computer therefore do not have Excel. So it would not let me download the spreadsheet. The newer cheap computers do not come with Office you have to pay extra for it.

Terri
 
IT WORKS!!!

YAY! Your spreadsheet is up and running! :RAHCAT

I would start a new condo today, with a Subject 10/15 Lilly AMPS 187. Your spread sheet is attached to your signature, and that's great. When you have a chance, try to add some of the past numbers, too.

Copy and paste this link into your today's post http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=54215
Please try to add a link to the previous condo (like the link above) to your first post of the day. That will help us and you to easily go back in time day by day to previous posts, so we can see what happened and any advice that was given yesterday...without having to go searching for your name through pages and pages of Lantus posts.

You Go Girl!
 
What is a condo? It was all I could do to get the spreadsheet up and had it not been for Sue I would never had gotten it going. Had to give her a call this morning and she had to walk me through step by step. Oh a I see a condo is a new post?
Lilly`s past numbers would be before I started her on the insulin again. she has not been on insulin since 9/25.
Terri
 
A thread is a condo....so this is Lilly's Condo from 10/13. You would start a new "Condo" or thread everyday for Lilly. Oh and since I don't think I have said hello before....Hello and Welcome to Lantus Land!!
 
Hey Terri-

Just wanted to say that you're doing an awesome job. I no longer have a diabetic but I remember how hard it was getting up to speed here. One you do you're gonna be great. Your cat has good numbers. I'll bet she'll do great on Lantus this time....you've got the best help available here!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top