2/7 Sami PMPS 77; +1 60; +2 47

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Sammy

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

Sami went up into the low 100's last night and into this morning, but I have a feeling it has a lot to do with all the HC food she was given last night as well as the HC and LC food that was left out at +4 when I went to bed.

Last night I made a decision to go ahead and give .5 unit dose even after I thought I should skip, and after 5+ HC snacks and gravy I know now that I should have stuck with my instinct to skip. Next time I won't make that mistake.

Yes, I understand how important it is to keep Sami in the green, but I guess for me I think it is probably better to skip instead of shooting and the reacting to a low. Plus, you can see that all the HC food took her out of her green streak.

Today, we are back on the mini meals (MM) and already at +1 she has already dropped to 86.
 
Re: 2/7 Sami AMPS 123; +1 86

Hi Tina,
You sure dont get much sleep..do ya?

HC food (in wet form), shouldnt last too long, from what I understand...few hrs at the most depending on how much you give. My guess is the higher number this morning is a combo between reduced dose and bounce. Unless of course you fed HC right before amps.

You definately have to go with your gut and you did what you felt was best.
 
Re: 2/7 Sami AMPS 123; +1 86; +2 64

Sami had another nice drop at +2, I just hope she doesn't keep dropping like this. She needs to slow down a bit.I will test again at +3 and give another mm at that time.
 
Re: 2/7 Sami AMPS 123; +1 86; +2 64

carolynandlatte said:
HC food (in wet form), shouldnt last too long, from what I understand...few hrs at the most depending on how much you give. My guess is the higher number this morning is a combo between reduced dose and bounce. Unless of course you fed HC right before amps.

Hi Carolyn, yes, I realize that HC wet food doesn't have a long last, but I did give a little bit of dry HC food last night too. When I was going to bed at +4 and she was only 47 I was a little freaked out that she was going to drop again so I was trying to get her to eat just about anything she would eat at that point. So although the number might be a bit of a bounce, I still think it might be more related to the HC dry from last night.

Yesterday morning I also gave some HC dry and she went up to 102 at +7, but I had given the HC dry a little earlier in the cycle, and there was less HC wet yesterday morning, than I gave last night.

Does that make sense, or am I totally off base here?
 
Re: 2/7 Sami AMPS 123; +1 86; +2 64

ok, I understand why the numbers are higher now.

So, no judgement...but questions...

Latte and I have completely different goals from most in this group, so I may be wrong here. Im assuming you want sami to go OTJ? Under that assumption, would you not WANT your cat to go below 50 to earn a decrease? A few times I have dealt with low numbers and Latte, as well as watched others it seems its safest to wait until you see a rising number, before you stop monitoring and/or feeding some sort of food. Kibble wont hit the system for a number of hours, so giving it at +4 would most likely not help sami between then and maybe +8 or so. In the meantime Sami could be going lower. does that make sense?

What you saw this a.m. for amps is likely a kibble spike. When sami loses it, she is going to D R O P! You shot a food influenced number this a.m., not a true number. So, just a warning...Sami may go low and do it fast.
 
Re: 2/7 Sami AMPS 123; +1 86; +2 64

carolynandlatte said:
Im assuming you want sami to go OTJ? Under that assumption, would you not WANT your cat to go below 50 to earn a decrease?

Hi Carolyn, you are correct in your assumption that I would love Sami to go OTJ. And yes, I do understand that Sami must go below 50 in order to earn a decrease. I would just rather see her go below 50 once, maybe twice in the same cycle to earn the decrease. What I don't want to have happen is to be fighting a low for 5+ hours, and have her continue to go up and then drop below time and time again.

carolynandlatte said:
A few times I have dealt with low numbers and Latte, as well as watched others it seems its safest to wait until you see a rising number, before you stop monitoring and/or feeding some sort of food.

Typically I would have continued to monitor Sami and test every 30 minutes or so until she was over 50 and showing a rising number. But over the past few days I have gotten comfortable with how Sami reacts to the HC food and the insulin drops, so I felt comfortable going to bed for a hour even when she was at 47. I watched what she ate just before I went to bed and I felt that she would at least have a rise for the first hour, and I was totally exhausted and I just couldn't keep my eyes open much longer. So i set the alarm and tried to get some sleep before having to check her again at +5.

carolynandlatte said:
Kibble wont hit the system for a number of hours, so giving it at +4 would most likely not help sami between then and maybe +8 or so. In the meantime Sami could be going lower. does that make sense?

Yes, that makes perfect sense. That is why I gave her both HC wet and HC dry. I had hoped that HC wet would get into her system quickly and the HC dry would help her pull out of the up and down rollercoaster we were on last night. I see now that the HC Dry really does elevate the glucose for a much longer period and I really don't want to have to use that again.

carolynandlatte said:
What you saw this a.m. for amps is likely a kibble spike. When sami loses it, she is going to D R O P! You shot a food influenced number this a.m., not a true number. So, just a warning...Sami may go low and do it fast.

Thanks for pointing out that the AMPS was still a food induced number from the HC dry from the night before. I had not thought about that. I was reluctant to shot a food induced number last night, but I didn't even think about the number this morning being food induced. And as you can see from this morning, she did drop quickly within 2 hours of her shot, and as you stated that was probably the HC wearing off more than the insulin taking action. Right!
 
Re: 2/7 Sami AMPS 123; +1 86; +2 64

I'm wondering if Sami could use a little adjustment to her MM schedule. She seems to drop early, so what if you made the preshot MM a little bigger than the others? Or instead of giving 2 meals 1/2 hour apart, just combine those into one. Or you could try a little higher carb food for the first couple of MM's (for Luna it made a difference switching from something that was ultra low carb to something that was around 4%). Just some ideas to think about.
 
Re: 2/7 Sami AMPS 123; +4 83

Libby and Lucy said:
I'm wondering if Sami could use a little adjustment to her MM schedule. She seems to drop early, so what if you made the preshot MM a little bigger than the others? Or instead of giving 2 meals 1/2 hour apart, just combine those into one. Or you could try a little higher carb food for the first couple of MM's (for Luna it made a difference switching from something that was ultra low carb to something that was around 4%). Just some ideas to think about.

That sounds like a great idea, and I have been running some ideas through my mind on how to structure her MM, but haven't quite decided how to do it. Today, I only fed at AMPS, +1, and +2. The main reason for this is because I went back to bed after she shot. Since +2 Sami and the rest of the cats have been sleeping and even when I put out the +2 meal only two cats came when I called them for the meal. Typically the all come running when I call no matter where they are or what they are doing. I called a few times at +3 before I even opened the can and no one moved so I didn't give a +3 meal. I am just wondering if they are all over stuffed from the extra I left out last night, so I am not pushing the morning meals. I am sure by dinner they will be hungry and will come and eat.

Also, I think one of the main reasons Sami had a big drop at +1 this morning is because the HC dry food I fed last night was finally wearing off. I guess I will see how the mini meal schedule works tonight and if we see another good drop at +1 I will adjust the first meal to be a little larger. Usually she gets a little bit more during the first meal because that is when the cats are the hungriest, and Sami is the first to finish so she gets part of the extra from the can.
 
Re: 2/7 Sami AMPS 123; +4 83; +11 97 what to do about husbands

Sami has been on insulin now for over 3 months, and my husband has wanted nothing to do with helping to test her, give her shots or feed her. When we first switched to wet food, I was constantly catching my husband feeding the dry food to Sami and the rest of the cats. Even after I told he a few times not to give them the dry he continued to do it. So eventually I asked him just not to feed them at all. That worked for awhile, but today, I left him in charge for a few hours and what does he do he screws it up. AGAIN!

This afternoon while I was gone all the cats were hungry. I have told him time and time again that they are on a new meal plan and they don't get any snacks. But instead of ignoring the cats he decided to feed them. There were two cans of food on the counter one was an unopened LC food and the other was the HC food that I had been using during Sami's lows last night. And wouldn't you know he gave the LC food to the rest of the cats but gave Sami the HC food.

So far Sami has only gone up to 97, but that was only an hour after the food was given. I guess I will have to see where she is for her PMPS. I just hope it isn't higher.
 
Re: 2/7 Sami PMPS 77

It looks like my husband didn't give Sami as much HC food as I originally thought or it didn't affect her as much as it could have. Not sure which, but she dropped from 97 to 77 in just an hour, and this was from +11 to PMPS.

I went ahead and gave Sami the .75 unit dose this evening. It looks like this dose is good for her right now. I would like to see her earn another decrease, but I am very happy to go slow, and it was nice not to have to chase a low this cycle. We will see how it goes tonight.
 
So much for husbands and HC., lol.
You are having an amazing time with Sami and its incredible.
Looking to see Max at these levels one day.
 
Randi & Max said:
So much for husbands and HC., lol.
You are having an amazing time with Sami and its incredible.
Looking to see Max at these levels one day.

Yeah, I had to apologize for yelling at him when I got home. Either way, now he knows! And I told him that he really needs to learn how to test, because for all I know Sami could have been down in the 40's or 50's before he gave the HC. Not all that likely based on the numbers earlier in the day, but possible.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top